We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definatly worth a look.”

Memorial Presbyterian Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.86*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in historic St. Augustine, Florida, Memorial Presbyterian Church is a congregation of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). We are not just any church. We are Florida's first Presbyterian congregation, established in 1824. CNN has named us one of the eight religious wonders in the United States. The present sanctuary was given by Henry Morrison Flagler and dedicated in 1890 as a memorial to his daughter Jenny Louise Benedict who died from complications from childbirth. Mr. Flagler, his first wife, Mary, daughter Jenny Louise and granddaughter, Marjorie, are entombed in the Flagler family mausoleum at Memorial. The church is open for visitors Monday-Saturday from 11:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. Enjoy a tour of the church by one of our trained docents during the week and then return on Sunday to join us in worship. Our visitors come from across the state, the nation, and the world.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Definatly worth a look.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The carriage ride my husband and I took included a stop at this historic church built by Henry Flagler. The stained glass windows and the mausoleum for the Flagger family were amazing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    137
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Part of rich (no pun intended) Florida history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Impressive historical story of how and why church was built. Our story was told by our carriage tour guide and a volunteer from inside the church. Next visit would enjoy staying for their contemporary service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tribute”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Not surprising to see the ornate detailed internals of the church. Ask your tour guide why this church has a bell and the Baptist church in the rear is not allowed to have one. (Hint: Not a religious reason) The organ is truly spectacular for the size of the church. Flagler and his daughter and grandchild are entombed here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TTBandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
237 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Go inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

All the tour trolleys mention this church and its unbelievable origins: built in one year! But the most beautiful and impressive part is the interior. Photos are permitted. A docent is on hand. Donations are accepted, but it is free.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TripMember10192015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very uncomfortable tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I've been in that church many times. This time there was someone with a "collection dish" asking for a "donation". If you want to see the "best" part of the tour, walk in the front door, take an immediate "left", go in the church door and look into the crypt of Flagler and his family. This is the best part of the "church tour"...and you can avoid the person asking for donations. I thought that was very tacky.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memorial Presbyterian Church also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Memorial Presbyterian Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing