We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, excellent, excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cocina Mexican Restaurant

La Cocina Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #106 of 571 Restaurants in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, excellent, excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The food was exquisite! Delicious refried beans, enchiladas so tasty, the service was great. I went there two days in a row while staying in saint Augustine with the family. The whole family loved the food! I will definitely come back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diacata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    50
    25
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Mexican food I ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the sauce and chips to the dessert the food was delicious !
I ordered grill steak ( carne asada) the meat melted in your mouth the seasoning very unique and the service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Avon201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food in St. Augustine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

La Cocina is a small, colorful gem of a restaurant. It serves traditional Mexican dishes with style, flavor and outstanding personal touch service. The guacamole is delicious, fresh and much better than any we've had here in St. Augustine. The carnitas are moist and flavorful and a menu stand out. This is a restaurant that focuses on quality, freshness and service with a thoughtfully designed menu. The tortillas are fresh and tasty. Fresh fish dishes were equally tasty with a portion substantial enough for dinner and a take home. Definitely has become our favorite Mexican restaurant in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 54Cheyenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“I don't get the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate lunch here and the atmosphere is cute. They did a good job decorating, but we were crammed in a little room with 3 tables, and the people around us were loud and obnoxious. The service wasn't friendly. The food is expensive for small lunch portions, around $10/plate. Not your typical Mexican food either. Not like any Mexican food I've ever had. It was like they were aiming for fine dining. Maybe that's just what people like around here, the illusion of luxury. But I think if people looked past everyone else's fine opinions and the little sauce they circle the plate with to make it pretty, the food is bland and lacking in flavor. I'm not saying it is terrible, average at best, just not deserving of the "best Mexican food in St Augustine" title.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Writetaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I walked into La Cocina Mexican restaurant during tropical storm Andrea upon the recommendation of a local woman, originally from Chile. We were not disappointed in any way! The food was delicious. The service was fantastic. And the atmosphere was delightful. We will definitely be coming back to this restaurant upon our next visit to St Augustine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleA427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Saint Augustine, FL
Saint Augustine, FL
 
Saint Augustine Beach, Saint Augustine
 

Been to La Cocina Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing