We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's that smell?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Ranked #13 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“What's that smell?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

The first sign of trouble was on their marquee. “Hot Tub and In Room Movies” We weren’t looking for that sort of hotel, but we had a reservation and decided to give it a try. When we entered the lobby, there was an odd musty smell. The smell was worse in the room. My wife and son have bad allergies and both were having trouble breathing. We went back downstairs and checked out without staying the night. We got a room at the Hampton Inn next door. While the décor and finishes were not a nice as the Wingate, at least we could breathe.

  • Liked — Very high end decor.
  • Disliked — The air.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank pretzel660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    249
    81
    24
    17
See reviews for
282
320
24
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

Taking the cue from other reviews we spent a night here.
Our GPS unit went a little wacky because it is tucked behind
another business (Dennys) and the road configuration is a bit
strange on that corner---especially at night.
Place is new and therefore super clean. Breakfast was really good---even has the waffle maker. Staff were helpful at every turn.
Our only "complaint" was that the beds were a bit subpar. No big deal but even our teenagers brought it up over breakfast.

The only other place that we would probably book upon a return is the Hampton Inn & Suites Oceanside Resorts---which I think is ranked at the top on this site.
We drove out to Vilano Beach (just across from old town) and the hotel is just adjacent to the beach in a perfect setting. Especially if its off-season---because then you get great rates and the whole wild Atlantic Ocean at your bedside. Nothing like a 2 mile walk in the warm surf while the kids are still despartly clutching their pillows for more zzzz-time.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2008

This is a brand new hotel on I-95 outside St. Augustine, Florida. We have a daughter attending Flagler College in the city and are in town a couple of times a year. This last stay was for Family Weekend at the college.

On our previous visits to St. Augustine we have stayed at two different hotels, one on the interstate (twice) and once on the Beach. All three of those stays were unsatisfactory due to dampness/mustiness in the rooms due to the ancient through-the-wall ac units never receiving any preventive maintenance and subsequently draining condensate water INSIDE the rooms onto the carpet. The hotel we tried twice on the interstate is highly rated on many reviewing sites which is unbelievable. In addition to the mustiness problem the rooms there had carpets so dirty the bottoms of your bare feet would get black.

By contrast the Wingate was absolutely spotless. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. Front desk staff was excellent. My only comment on checking out was that the towels weren't as soft and fluffy as they could be.

Comlimentary breakfast was a FULL breakfast, not just cereal and waffles, in a spacious dining area. For those wanting even more, there is a Denny's right next door.

Although this hotel rate is about 50% higher than the bargain places, it is well worth the money.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and breakfast
  • Disliked — Towels
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thetowguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordville, Fl
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

I have been traveling off and on for the last few months, staying at various hotels along the way. This one was one of the nicest. The room was very clean and welcoming. Although I had two double beds, there was plenty of space leftover. The bathroom was especially large and the walls lining the bathtub were granite; a nice touch. The shower head was the adjustable massage type.

The room included a microwave, fridge, a newer type of alarm with an MP3 docking station, and a coffee maker that made coffee by the mug instead of the conventional 4 cup type.

The mattress was comfy and the room was immaculately clean. The cable tv line-up was extensive.
Breakfast was complimentary and included the usual cereals, juices, pastries, bacon, sausage and a waffle maker.

Staff were pleasant and provided complimentary toothpaste when I discovered I had forgotten mine. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherylm1cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2008

This is a clean, newish, well appointed hotel and definitely accomodation worth recommending - HOWEVER our stay was ruined by an unpleasant experience with a front desk clerk.

Being used to the free long distance calling provided by Microtel for one, I decided not to use my own free calling card when the hotel book said "complimentary access to long distance in the continental US" I misinterpreted this as meaning "free long distance" and made my call to Virginia. Many companies, including my own provider offer this service.

When a charge appeared on the bill the next morning, I was puzzled and thought there must be an error. I would have been happy with an explanation but was not happy when the clerk essentially accused me of lying with regard to Microtel providing this service. He sneared at the likes of Microtel being able to allow free long distance!!!!! He even started to suggest that if this were the case, he would provide us with a free night's stay but quickly backed off when it looked like we might take him up on his offer!! To his credit he eventually did reverse the charge, but it was his attitude and rudeness that left a bad taste behind.

I will not stay in this hotel again despite the fact that the facilities were good. Take your chances and hope that you understand the fine print!!!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coastallife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

I can't say enough about this hotel. We have stayed in 6 different hotels in the past 2 years (in St. Augustine)... none compare to this great place. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about restaurants, etc.. in the area. Lovely, clean pool. 70 cable stations. Really good, free, continental breakfast. Only 5 minutes or less from Historic District. Free, safe parking. Frige and microwave. Very "roomy" rooms. New hotel. 4 floors. Did I mention how clean it was? Very! And I can get really crazy about the tiniest things in a room! I will never stay anywhere else in this town!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing, no complaints
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ronjo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

Apart from the fact that this hotel is about 15 minutes drive from St Augustine town, I couldn't fault it. If you want to be close to the outlet village shops then this is perfect.

The breakfast was great and continually restocked.

Rooms have a great little coffee-maker, fridge and even a microwave.

The rooms are a good size with space for sitting as well as the bed. (We had a king room.) They are also very clean.

Pool and hot tub looked good though we didn't try them.

Also have free wifi access.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Large rooms, breakfast
  • Disliked — distance from St Augustine town
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jpbs833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
10.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#6 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
5.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#11 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
5.4 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. A...
#26 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine

Property: Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Address: 2465 State Road 16, Saint Augustine, FL 32092-0701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Augustine
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine
#12 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
#17 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham St Augustine Hotel Saint Augustine
Wingate St Augustine
Wingate Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing