We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This bed and breakfast was very nice and the staff was very friendly. They offered a complementary happy hour which was also very nice, though slightly lacking. The breakfast was superb, very delicious. The room was nice too, although was much smaller than it had seemed in the picture. The tub was very nice though. The B&B had some bikes they would let us use to ride around the town with, this was a thoughtful service. The parking was a little iffy, pretty far from the actual room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 1,369 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

This well maintained property greeted us warmly. Our room was Burgess Cottage with it's own private entrance. It was cozy and well appointed. It is clear that the owners are detail oriented and take pride in their inn.There was complimentary wine, beer and sangria with hors d'oeuvres every day from 5-7. Breakfasts were very nice with lots of choice (including a hot entrée every day). Our room would be a good choice for early risers with morning sun and the aroma of coffee and cooking starting around 6:00 AM. Off-site parking (free) is a 5 minute walk. All of the major sights in the Historic District are in walking distance.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank phillyvoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, your room, and the free amenities that we offer (we are pretty particular about the details--our entire staff works hard to make sure that everything is wonderful for our guests, from our homemade sangria to the hot breakfast to all the details that make the rooms a great home away from home). We hope that you'll come back and see us again soon--we'll save you a spot at happy hour! --Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was our 2nd time staying here and both times have been excellent experiences. We stayed in the Forrester Suite which has a beautiful bathroom and large enough to set up a pack and play for our toddler to sleep in. The owners and staff are very friendly and truly want to make sure everyone has a great experience when they stay here. We love that this is one of the few kid-friendly B&B's in St Aug also. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you so much for the nice review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you're entirely right--we really do want everyone to have a wonderful stay. We look forward to your next stay--we enjoy watching your little one grow up! --Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Having stayed at about 20 different inns & B&Bs in St Augustine over the years honestly this one had among the top if not the BEST customer service.

The breakfast was way more than you could ever eat and very good- definitely homemade. The social hour had lots of options for food and drinks including cheeses, meats, dips, hot & cold apps and wine, beer and sangrias and of course coffee, tea, etc. The innkeepers were so helpful ahead of time with potential plans we had set as well.

The run some great specials during off season and weeknights so be sure to check out their website and facebook pages. I highly recommend them. Our stay in the Lindsay Michelle room was extremely comfortable and beautiful! Definitely will come back here again!

Room Tip: the Lindsay Michelle room had a full size bed which was a nice extra touch, it was a little cramped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penguinkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

It's great to get a glowing review from someone who has stayed at so many places! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here, and happy that you mentioned the service. We have 13 permanent staff members--we really want to make sure that people are taken care of during their entire stay. And thanks for mentioning breakfast--Mary loves it when people love her cooking! We hope that we'll see you both again soon--we'll save you a spot at happy hour!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our forth stay at the Bayfront Marin. The inn and grounds are beautifully decorated during Christmas. It's a great place to sit outside at one of the courtyard tables and enjoy a glass of wine.
Everyone is so friendly here.
The happy hour is the best, the rooms are spacious and beds are comfortable. Beds are high so be aware that you may have to climb up on a stool if you are vertically challenged.
The location is great because it's far enough away from the noise but an easy walk to everything and you don't need to use your car. They are very dog friendly.
We will be back next year!
Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequenttravel099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

We love it when people come back to visit us again and again! Thank you so much for writing such a nice review--we really appreciate it! And just a note for folks reading this who are planning a stay--we have got some mighty high beds! But we also have low beds...if mobility (or heights) are an issue, just ask us what room is best for you. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Sandy is one of the best B&B owners I have ever worked with. When I first contacted Sandy about staying at the Inn she had the family room ready for us, but after some talk and her finding out more of my family's tastes we decided on a gorgeous cottage, also owned by them, on the beach.

But the huge benefit of staying with Sandy and Mike was that we had full use of the Inn which is located in Downtown St. Augustine, with parking. This is huge advantage since parking in St. Augustine is extremely difficult. But the best part of all was the BREAKFAST.

First of all the property is sooo lovely. It's on the Bay, with a Gazebo, hammocks and plenty of space for my kids to run around. Very few B&B's are family friendly and this was a real big thing for us. My kids didn't bother the other patrons with it's outdoor tables.

The breakfast itself was insane. The homemade food never stopped coming from delicious quiches to croissants to pound cakes and fresh fruit. Plus the service was just right. The staff was always around but not in your face which a lot of small establishments tend to be.

While my kids were running around burning their food, I wanted to take the full tour of the inn. The rooms are luxurious, with patios and plenty of space.

So recommend staying here while right in St. Augustine downtown, but not where any of the foot traffic and noise is.

For better review and photos, check out my blog Travelexperta.com for a more in depth.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Experta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, and for the longer write up on your blog. First, we should tell you that Mary *loved* that you described her breakfasts as insane--she is a true southern cook, and really loves it when people enjoy her food. Your comments just made her day!! We're also glad that we had the chance to talk to you and find out more about your family's needs...we are one of the few family-friendly bnb's in town, and it's great to be able to match a family to the exact room that will work for them and make their stay perfect. It was wonderful to meet your family, and we were happy to show you more of our rooms--we always like showing off our newest projects!! We hope that you'll have a chance to visit again in the future--Mary would love to feed you again! --Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This large bay front bed and breakfast really catches your eye from the road. The exterior is beautifully decorated with lights and trees. Flowers abound and it offers comfortable outside seats for watching the water and land activities. You can walk downtown from here. Your vehicle parking is a couple blocks away from the building.
Breakfasts and evening happy hours are of good quality and generous.
This is NOT a place for people who dislike, or are not comfortable, with animals as it tends to be a dog haven.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #17 - apparently oldest room there. We were unable to get any internet, even with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DayBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for your all your nice comments, especially about our location and our landscaping--Sandy does all of our gardening, and she's always happy to hear that our guests enjoy her effort. Thank you also for talking to us after you left so that we could get more details on your stay--we were confused by your three-star rating, since it sounded as if you enjoyed our property, with the exception of your internet connection (and as we explained--we have a personal hotspot mifi that we loan out any time there is an issue with the connection. Your room is actually made of 14" thick coquina--and it does have wifi issues, so that takes care of them). It sounds like your biggest concern was the cost of the room--as we explained when we spoke, the most expensive week of the year in St. Augustine is the week between Christmas and New Year's, which is when you stayed with us. Hopefully next time you come to town, you'll be able to plan a stay during a slower season--it's much more affordable in January and February, and you still get to enjoy the lights and beautiful decorations--Mike and Sandy and the Whole BMH Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 79 in St. Augustine
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn

Address: 142 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $250 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find romance on the waterfront in our tailored, elegant, laid-back inn located right in the historic district of St. Augustine. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning, a daily happy hour, and lots of other great amenities including free parking, free Wi-Fi, free bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the best water views in town. Bayfront Marin House has the style of the past with the conveniences of today including double Jacuzzi tubs, body jet showers, flat screen televisions, fireplaces, private decks with water views and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Marin House Hotel Saint Augustine
Bayfront Marin House b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing