We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband surprised me for our 25th wedding anniversary with a two night stay at this fabulous property! I felt like I had left family after only a two night stay! We have never stayed at a b&b before so I was skeptical. But let me tell you, this is an amazing experience! From breakfast in the courtyard to the staff, everything was perfect. And that's not an easy statement from me. I've been in the travel industry for over 20 years and this property is a MUST experience. Thank you to everyone at Bayfront Marin for making my anniversary an experience not a stay. Look forward to seeing "y'all" again soon!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thanks so much, Angie...and we look forward to seeing you again soon!! We're glad that your husband chose our property for your celebration--it was great to be a part of it! Thank you so much for your glowing review--coming from someone in "the industry", it really makes our day to hear that we're hitting it out of the park. Take care, and come back soon!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

If you were to list everything you wanted from a perfect stay at a bed and breakfast, Bayfront Marin will meet and far surpass what you're looking for.
A gorgeous, historic, well maintained building houses wonderfully decorated and inviting rooms. A very gracious and professional staff ensures your quality stay. Add to this, location, view, amazing food (seriously the French Toast was the best I've ever had) and Bayfront Marin will leave you wanting to either move in permanently or visit again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Awww...thanks so much!! We wish there was a rating higher than excellent too--that would definitely help our ranking here on TripAdvisor! :) Seriously, though...we're so happy that we made your stay memorable and perfect--that's what we always aim for, and we're glad that we achieved it for you. We wish you could move in permanently too--but if you can't, we'll just look forward to seeing you on your next trip! Take care, Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at Bayfront Marin House for the second time this past weekend. It was like going back and visiting family, only better because they don't get upset when you make plans and do your own thing. We stayed in Burgess Cottage and the rooms were beautiful. We had a large bathroom with a Jacuzzi and shower, along with a small sitting room with a fireplace that was visible from the lovely bedroom. The hardwood floors were great for the dog. We enjoyed visiting with the staff who once again went out of their way to make us comfortable. The fact that this wonderful B&B is pet friendly only adds to the ambiance of the location. Breakfast was served each morning on the patio and was delicious. The first morning we had Eggs Benedict and fruit, and the second morning we had a wonderful French toast with sausage and fruit. Everything was served hot and we even received the recipe so we could make the French toast at home. At five o'clock they host a Happy Hour with snacks, beers, wine, soft drinks. lemonade and water. It is wonderful sitting on the patio and looking at the view of the bay, watching the boats go by, and enjoying the company of the other guests. We truly enjoyed our second visit with the Bayfront Marin House and are hoping to make it a yearly destination.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerchild48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Well thank you so much!!! Your five-star review just made it a five-star day for us! We're so happy that we could help to make your getaway relaxing and fun. Thank you so much too for taking the time to detail so many of the things that you enjoyed--it just makes our day (and our team's day) when we see that someone has appreciated our efforts. We hope you can make it a yearly trip, too!! 'Til next time--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We just returned from a trip to St. Augustine and our stay at this Bed and Breakfast was a highlight. The staff and owners were particularly accommodating, the food was excellent and the rooms were great. The location on the bay was an extra bonus.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the 2nd floor where you could more easily view the bay from the porch swing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you so much for the nice review--we love to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay! We're glad that you found the porch swing upstairs...it's such a pretty spot! (And for some reason a porch swing just always feels like vacation to us!) We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay...we hope to see you again soon!!--Mike and Sandy and the whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Bayfront Marin is a beautiful B&B. We selected this place for our October 2013 destination wedding. The first two nights we stayed in the Dunes Suite Beach Cottage. The cottage was decorated in a beachy spa like feel and had an unobstructed view of the beach from the master bed room. We had a covered private patio with a sofa and hammock where we could enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. The third day we moved to the main house and on this day we were married in the gazebo. The wedding ceremony was perfect. Mike, Sandy and Brian made sure everything was just right for our special day. Sandy took our wedding pictures and they turned out beautifully. We stayed in the tastefully decorated Governor White room for the rest of our 3 day stay. All of the staff were friendly and went above and beyond to make not only our wedding wonderful but our entire stay. Sweet Elizabeth took the extra time to make me her special coffee at breakfast. Every recommendation the staff made for restaurants, attractions and shopping were fabulous. The B&B is beautifully maintained inside and out and is in a great location. We will certainly be back for our anniversary!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

We are so glad that you chose us for your special day...and we're thrilled that we could create a memorable stay for you both! Thank you for mentioning so many of the details--we know that future guests will appreciate your taking the time to do that! And a special thank you for mentioning Elizabeth. She's one of our housekeepers, and she's a great example of the fact that our *entire* staff is dedicated to creating a wonderful experience for each of our guests...she'll be tickled to see her name listed online! THANK YOU for writing such a wonderful review--and we look forward to celebrating future anniversaries with you!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We rented the entire Bed and Breakfast for the weekend of our wedding for our friends and family. Everyone loved this location because of the family feel. We were able to hang out together in the courtyard and play cornhole and croquet and have snacks and cocktails with a beautiful view of the Bay. Guests could visit the sites downtown just a few blocks away. We enjoyed having breakfast together in the courtyard every morning. The ladies kept us all satified with the variety of delicious home cooking. The owners and employees were so accomodating! We highly recommend the Bayfront Marin House.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

We are so happy that your entire group had a wonderful time! We thought it was so cool of you to take your wedding weekend and make it a true family event...it was fun to watch you all playing cornhole and croquet on the lawn (for any future guests--we don't leave the games set up so that no one trips on them, but if you'd like to play, please just ask! But we should warn you--Mike is a ringer at croquet!!) We want to THANK YOU both for writing such a nice review...we really appreciate your taking the time to do that. We look forward to seeing you for future anniversaries!! -- Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a beautiful Bed and Breakfast in a wonderful location. The staff was very friendly and helpful....happy hour offered in the evening with a wonderful sangria! Breakfast was good - although I appreciated the omelet on the second day more so than the banana pancake on the first day.....it would be nice if there was a standard 'egg' option for those trying to watch our calories. I loved the 'reserve your own time and location options' although the $20 additional fee for breakfast in bed seemed a little steep. Of course, they have such amazing landscaping breakfast outside was better!

We will definitely be back. The owner was super nice and very accommodating.....they were preparing for two weddings that weekend and it looked like it was going to be a lovely affair. There was also a small wedding, just the bride and groom, while we were there and again the staff was very helpful and accommodating.

There was some construction going on along the bay front which would have been nice to know ahead of time.

Room Tip: We splurged for the room with a "private" balcony on the second floor. Private means it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

THANK YOU so much for the nice review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we're glad to hear that you're planning a return trip...that is the best compliment we can get!! For your next visit--please know that you can always order scrambled eggs at any time if you'd like a different protein for your breakfast (and of course we always have fruit, cereal, and oatmeal if you'd prefer a lighter option). Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience--and we look forward to seeing you again!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.9 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.2 mi away
The Collector - Luxury Inn & Gardens
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn

Address: 142 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $251 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find romance on the waterfront in our tailored, elegant, laid-back inn located right in the historic district of St. Augustine. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning, a daily happy hour, and lots of other great amenities including free parking, free Wi-Fi, free bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the best water views in town. Bayfront Marin House has the style of the past with the conveniences of today including double Jacuzzi tubs, body jet showers, flat screen televisions, fireplaces, private decks with water views and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Marin House Hotel Saint Augustine
Bayfront Marin House b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing