We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in St. Augustine!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best place to stay in St. Augustine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Bayfront Marin House is the most amazing place to stay. Building is gorgeous, the grounds are immaculate, and there are tons of very comfortable places to sit outside and feel the ocean breeze on your face. The view in incredible! Room was spotless, very comfortable and supremely romantic. Bed was even comfortable! The staff was beyond incredible. Very friendly, genuine, knowledgable about the area, and eager to please you. The happy hour they offer is superb! Best Sangria you will ever drink! We loved our stay. They didn't rush us to check out and breakfast was a feast. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFranklin093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Woo-hoo!! Your review just made our day! We love hearing that we achieved our goal--of giving our guests an amazing getaway! Thank you especially for the shout out to our staff--we are so lucky to have awesome, committed people who have been with us for years...they really "make" the experience special for our guests. Thank you for the wonderful review--and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    97
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
145
876
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I can't say enough about the wonderful staff at Bayfront Marin House. I was there for a wedding and the staff was so attentive and friendly. The wedding planner was fun, easy going and did a marvelous job. The kitchen staff was great! and the Happy Hour with Sangria and yummy snacks was a hit everyday! I loved it there!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We love to hear that you loved it!! It really does make our day! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review--we really appreciate it! Come back and see us sometime--we'll save a glass of sangria for you!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

You just can't say enough about the Inn, the breakfast, or the staff at the Bayfront Marin. Our family took over the entire Inn for two days for my nephew's wedding. The mix of pet-friendly and no-pet rooms worked perfectly. Each room is individually furnished in antiques, queen or king beds, jacuzzi tubs, modern bathrooms and right across the street from the bay. Porches surround the building and the courtyard and gazebo provide perfect places for enjoying the bay breezes in the evening and breakfast in the morning. Due to rain, we had a tent erected over the bricked area of the courtyard which provided plenty of seating for dinner with dancing outside the tent. A very short walk from the actual ceremony venue, the Llambiasa House, and an even shorter walk to the many St. Augustine restaurants, bars and historic attractions met the needs of the wide range of ages present.
Then, the staff!!! EVERYONE was attentive and pleasant and worked so hard to please us and make our stay fabulous. Kudos to them all!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We're so glad that you enjoyed your nephew's special day! (And we really enjoyed getting to know him and his lovely bride!) Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review--we hope that you'll come back and visit us again in the future!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent 3 nights for a celebration and completely enjoyed the entire experience. The staff was very friendly. The location was great for walks, bike rides and car adventures. We stayed in the Capt Henry room and love it. Morning breakfast (included) served on the patio was a delicious way to start the day. Evening Happy Hour (also included) was a wonderful way to relax from the day and get ready to start the night! Highly recommend this inn and looking forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaside278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We're looking forward to your next visit too!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay...we really appreciate it! We're glad you liked the Captain Henry--it has such a great view of the bridge and bay. Thanks again for the kind words, and we hope to see you again soon!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just had an excellent stay at this perfect B&B in St. Augustine. Happy Hour with Emory was outstanding. The Sangria was amazing. We stayed in the beautiful King George room. The shower is fantastic. We cannot wait to return to our favorite place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmdiverniero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review!! And thanks for the shout out to Emery--we'll make sure he sees it (and we agree--we think he's pretty awesome too!) We look forward to your next visit--we'll have a glass of sangria waiting for you!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at approximately 20 different B&B's and although Marin House is beautiful I would qualify it as more of an inn than a B&B. In all past experiences, the B&B owners are extremely visible and make the B&B feel more like a home than a place to sleep. As well in most B&B's the owners do most of the work and are there to greet you when you arrive.

We never once met the owner as far as I can tell. When we checked in we were shown to our room by someone who never introduced them-self. At breakfast we were served by two wonderful ladies that were as polite as can be and at check out it was yet another employee. One of the wonders of a B&B is the interaction with the owners. We did miss the happy our and maybe we would have met them at this event but we were in town for a wedding so were unable to participate. There was someone that brought out a breakfast smoothie that I believe was the owner but she did not introduce herself.

Other endearing features of B&B's which the Marin House lacks is that in most B&B's it is like you are part of the house with rooms in the house. At the Marin, although rooms are part of the house there is nothing actually inside all rooms have exterior doors versus being in the house. Granted this does provide easier access it still feels like an inn versus a B&B.

As for the house and room they are absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Margaret room, which was very large and had a very modern and wonderful bathroom. If I could have packed the shower and tub in my suitcase I would have in a heartbeat. If I ever remodel this will be the basis for how I build. The bed was very nice and extremely comfortable. Although pillows were a bit soft for my taste.

Room was on second floor with a very nice deck from the deck with view of the intercostal waterway. Inn is about three blocks south of the city easy walking distance to king street and St. George street.

Parking is not on site but is within walking distance, about 5 blocks away. Only downfall is finding place to park to check in and drop off bags. As we were only there for a night we did not have much but I can see it being inconvenience if someone had several bags and there was street parking available at check in.

As I said we never officially met the owner and at check out it was very disappointing to not even be asked if we enjoyed our stay.

I definitely think Marin House is worth the stay but I wouldn't call it a B&B but more of an Inn. I realize there is a fine line between the two but just didn't have that B&B feel to me.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend Margaret room excellent room as I am sure all of them are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smontag212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
It’s true—we are a larger property (15 rooms), and so it probably doesn’t feel like staying in someone’s home, unless you grew up in a mansion, of course! :) We think that the benefit of staying with us is a degree of privacy (the exterior entrances defnitely add to that) and a larger staff to take care of you. We’re sorry you didn’t get a chance to “officially” meet us personally—but you did actually meet me (Sandy) at breakfast. I’m so sorry that I didn’t introduce myself as I was serving the smoothies! Definitely my fault—I need to make sure I do that every time I talk to someone. But I’m glad that you enjoyed your room—the Princess Margaret is just awesome! Maybe you’ll come back and stay with us when you start your own remodeling—we’ll make sure that we visit with you personally next time! (A note for your next stay: We have an unloading zone right in front of the inn, so you don’t have to park on the street. Also, make sure you ask us about the most direct route to the parking lot—it is less than two blocks away). :) —Mike and Sandy and the whole BMH Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This bed and breakfast is amazing. My husband and I went for our honeymoon, and couldn't have been happier. It is located within strolling distance of nearly everything. You can see the fort from several of the rooms. The staff is genuinely friendly and happy to help you with anything you need. They all seem to really love their jobs. It is very cozy and quiet, and located right on the bay. The rooms are incredibly nice. Our's was definitely geared toward a couple. 10 out of 10. We will definitely be staying there again, and will be recommending it to everybody.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We're so glad that you chose us for your honeymoon, and we're thrilled that we could make it a special and magical stay for you! Congratulations and best wishes (again!) on your new life together--and we look forward to seeing you again soon!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.6 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#9 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn

Property: Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Address: 142 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find romance on the waterfront in our tailored, elegant, laid-back inn located right in the historic district of St. Augustine. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning, a daily happy hour, and lots of other great amenities including free parking, free Wi-Fi, free bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the best water views in town. Bayfront Marin House has the style of the past with the conveniences of today including double Jacuzzi tubs, body jet showers, flat screen televisions, fireplaces, private decks with water views and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Marin House Hotel Saint Augustine
Bayfront Marin House b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing