We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
“Fantastic Inn”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Everything about this Inn is fantastic...our room (The King George Room) was great,breakfast was great, and the staff had personality.

Mike & Sandy run a great Inn; everything was done well.

John & Bonnie Leahy, Canada

Room Tip: Room #1 is the way to go...you will definitely not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John33_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We really appreciate it, and we look forward to your next trip (we'll save the King George for you!)--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,129
    102
    24
    5
    5
See reviews for
155
919
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

To bad we could not give more than 5 stars because our stay was perfect. The staff, the food, the view, the rooms and the location were outstanding. Loved it!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!! CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JASK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the "bonus" stars! (And for the great review!) We look forward to welcoming you back!--Mike and Sandy and the whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently spent four days in gorgeous St Augustine and were so glad we had chosen the Bayside Marin House from the many B&Bs in the historic district. Everything was immaculate and nicely appointed without the "clutter" sometimes associated with historic B&Bs. The rooms were larger and brighter than they appeared on the website. We were able to view several others since we hope to come back again for another stay so we can widely attest to this. The ability to chose from the menu of breakfast offerings--and they were scrumptious--the night before and chose a dining time was a nice touch as well as eating venues in the dining area and outside on patios in the beautifully landscaped, large yard filled with color that made any Northerner fleeing recent blizzard conditions feel great. The staff was attentive, upbeat yet never overbearing. The view across to the river was magnificent and the location was just about as perfect as you could get for walking everywhere around town yet removed from any heavy traffic. The evening cocktail hour provided a relaxing getaway to mingle with other guests.

Room Tip: If you are allergic to pets, I suggest you mention that when booking a room since they do allow some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsproven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We're so glad that you chose us too! What a wonderful review--you have really made our day! Thank you for mentioning so many details: when someone notices so much of what we do, it really makes all of our efforts totally worth it. We look forward to your next stay!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my third visit to St Augustine and second overnight stay. The last time I stayed at the Hilton and have written a review for that. This time I decided to try a B&B to compare - I now won't stay in St Augustine any other way! I highly recommend the Bayfront Marin. Mike and Sandy were so helpful and very responsive, especially as I was organizing a vow renewal ceremony for my parents for their 40th wedding anniversary. The rest of their team are lovely too, including Brian (who helped with the vow renewal organization) and the very warm lady who cooked breakfast and would pop in to the dining room to chat! Breakfast was excellent, as was our room with the porch overlooking the water. And the vow renewal service was so memorable, my mum was so emotional with it all she couldn't get the words out at first! The people supplying the flowers and performing the ceremony were top notch, the cake tasted amazing - we ate it all over the next few days. They even helped out with us renting a heater as the temperatures dropped that weekend and there was an (unusual) chill in the air! A perfect visit, thanks so much Bayfront Marin!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We loved meeting you and being a part of such a special day for your family! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us--and thank you for mentioning so many details associated with your stay! Thank you also for choosing us to be part of your parents' renewal, and we look forward to seeing you all on your next trip to St. Augustine!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Despite the cold weather when we arrived, we were greeted warmly at this lovely "resort". The rooms are as described on their website. The bikes/helmets are complimentary, in good condition and very comfortable. The grounds are immaculate. Several plants and shrubs were covered to protect them from the cold blast but when they were unveiled as the temperatures rose the colors burst and lit up the property. You get a breakfast menu for each day when you check in, make your selections daily as well as designate where you would like your breakfast served. Due to weather we were inside for our trip. We had great conversations with other guests in the gazebo during "happy hour" . The staff makes you feel like family, bright smiles and occasional hugs. You are treated royally. Excellent variety for breakfast, delicious . They put out a very nice "spread" for happy hour too. The complementary parking is a plus, the lot is a short walk from the property. We tried to extend our stay but they were fully booked so we moved to another place in town for two nights, which was okay but Bayfront Marin House wins out and will be our go to place for any future visits to St. Augustine

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which has a fantastic bathroom. Walk in shower with jets as well as a whirlpool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillyswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for mentioning our staff--they bring the sunshine even on those rare Florida days when the sun doesn't cooperate!! And thank you for your comments about the gardens--Sandy does all the gardening, and she always makes sure they're protected during cold spells (but she likes them uncovered during the day so people can enjoy them like you did). We look forward to seeing you on your (hopefully warmer!) next trip to town!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here for a Feb. 2013 wedding. The whole inn was taken by the guests and this contributed to a festive and friendly environment. Rooms are just gorgeous- full of antiques, and luxurious furnishings. The breakfasts (and Mary, the happiest waitress ever- just ask for her)were wonderful. The location is very convenient to shops and restaurants but the parking (except for hard to get meters out front) is over a block away.The owners and staff were so gracious. Happy hour is wonderful. We did have isues with the wireless and their public computer is a little netbook that is as slow as molasses. Otherwise, this is a fabulous place.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so be sure to get a first floor room if this is an issue. Some beds are high a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we'll pass your shout out on to Mary (we agree--she's awesome!) On your next trip, if you have problems with the wifi, please ask to borrow our mifi (we have several). We know how important it is to have a strong connection (unless, of course, you want to disconnect!) so we keep them activated just in case there is a problem with one of our routers. We hope to see you again soon!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We found the Bayfront Marin House on Tripadvisor and were impressed with the reviews. We were certainly not disappointed! We chose the Marie Antoinette room for its wonderful view of the bay. The room was well decorated and impeccably clean. The happy hour was delightful. Someone recommended with try mixing the red and white homemade sangria...what a perfect combination. The location is wonderful; close to everything but quiet! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOBandMBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Well, we can't wait to welcome you back! :) Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review--we really appreciate it!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.6 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
594 reviews
4.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn

Property: Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Address: 142 Avenida Menendez, St. Augustine, FL 32084-5049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find romance on the waterfront in our tailored, elegant, laid-back inn located right in the historic district of St. Augustine. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning, a daily happy hour, and lots of other great amenities including free parking, free Wi-Fi, free bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the best water views in town. Bayfront Marin House has the style of the past with the conveniences of today including double Jacuzzi tubs, body jet showers, flat screen televisions, fireplaces, private decks with water views and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Marin House b&b Inn
Bayfront Marin House Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing