We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE place to stay in St. Augustine!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THE place to stay in St. Augustine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was our second visit to this fabulous B&B and we can't wait to come back! We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and made a spur-of-the-moment, same-day reservation. Availability was limited, so we stayed in two different rooms--the Forrester Suite and the Lyndsay Michelle. Both were beautiful accommodations with gorgeous water views! My husband was on crutches and Mike was so kind as to personally help us get our luggage up the stairs. Breakfasts and Happy Hours were fantastic. The entire Marin House staff (more like Marin House family) were incredibly kind and helpful. Thank you Mike & Sandy for a wonderful anniversary weekend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We're so glad that we could be a part of your anniversary celebration!! Thank you for taking the time to write a review--we really appreciate it. Looking forward to your next visit!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    97
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
144
874
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terrytown, Louisiana
Level Contributor
152 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Where do I begin to tell you about this amazing bed and breakfast. We had the opportunity to spend three nights at this place and had a marvelous stay. Our hosts, Mike and Sandy, went out of their way to make each guest feel at home. Sandy works hard to take care of the beautiful gardens, and Mike takes the time to speak to each guest and make them feel welcome. Brian, Emory, Jane and the other members of the staff are there to make sure that every need is taken care of and they treat you not like guests, but as members of a large extended family. Mary, the cook, prepares wonderful breakfasts each morning such as banana pancakes with sausage, eggs benedict, and breakfast casserole. We joked with her that I don't like grits, but I ate hers and they were delicious. We were even offered seconds. The food was served in the courtyard where you could enjoy the beautiful views of the bay and marina, but could also be served in the dining room, gazebo or even in your suite. The happy hour each evening is a lot of fun, The other guests were friendly, and the staff mingled with us making sure each was having a good time and wanted for nothing. When my husband couldn't drink the punch because it had grapefruit in it, they offered to make him lemonade instead. The snacks were delicious and were served with wines, sangrias, assorted beers, and lemonade or fruit punch. The desserts were also wonderful. You wanted to linger there and enjoy the company of the staff and other guests before going on to dinner.
The bed and breakfast itself was beautiful and extremely clean. We stayed in the Coquina Suite which was tastefully furnished with antiques, Lovely, but not overdone. The bed was comfortable and the jacuzzi was divine. What made this place even better was that it was pet friendly. Our large golden retriever, Lady Emma, was made to feel welcome and treated as if she belonged to every member of the staff, and I must say she was loving every minute of it. When we return to St. Augustine we will definitely stay at the Bayfront Marin House, but it will be more like returning to visit family and friends. We're looking forward to it already!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the whole bed and breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerchild48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Well, we're right back at you with the WOW...what a wonderful review!! Thank you so much for writing it, and for noticing so many details at the inn. We'll be sure to tell Mary that she has converted another person to liking grits...she will be happy to hear it! We're glad that you all--including the Lady Emma--had a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you all back on your next trip!!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful, clean rooms. Fantastic staff. Mike, Emory, Brian & Suzie couldn't have been more accommodating, friendly and helpful during our 3 day getaway to St. Augustine. The breakfasts were well prepared, various choices, flavorful and service was awesome plus, you had the option of eating in the dining room, outside on the garden patio or the in the gazebo. The outside amenities where varied where you can sit, relax, watch the sun rise, make new friends, sip on some wine and watch the boats cruise the bay. The Inn is within walking distance of all the old town attractions and several fine restaurants. We parked our car on Monday in their parking lot and never used it for 3 days. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Due to circumstances beyond the Inns control, we had an opportunity to stay in 2 different rooms, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for writing such a glowing review--we really appreciate it, and it definitely makes our day!! Hope to see you again soon!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I celebrated my birthday here. I made the reservation about two months ago, and the lady at the front remembered and greeted me by saying happy birthday. We absolutely LOVED this place!! The staff was personable and friendly. The food was delicious. The happy hour with the sangrias and great appetizers were awesome. Breakfast was better here than at any restaurant. It was such a special place with great people. Our room, the Robinson Lewis, was beautifully decorated and very clean. We will definitely be back. Thank you Bayfront Marin.

Room Tip: Robinson Lewis room was great. Even though it was next to the dining room, it was surprisingly very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We are so glad that we could help make your birthday a special memory!! Thank you so much for writing such a nice review--we really do love hearing that you enjoyed yourself! Look forward to seeing you again soon!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Beautifully decorated and spotless rooms. The staff was first class. The property is on the bay and away from the noise of city center (just a short walk!). Wine reception is a great touch! Outdoor porches make breakfast (included) a joy! Would return in an instant!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review--we really appreciate it!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just returned from our stay at Bayfront Marin House, and I couldn't be more pleased. The location is beautiful--facing the bay and within walking distance of everything in beautiful St. Augustine. If you don't feel like walking, BMH provides bicycles, which we took advantage of. The food was wonderful. Everything is organized and orderly. The staff, including owners Mike and Sandy, are so friendly and welcoming. The rooms are gorgeous; beds are very comfortable--I haven't slept so soundly in a long while. I hope I can return someday. First time in St. Augustine, and I feel like I was treated like royalty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TreeHugger63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review--it makes our day! We are glad that we could be a part of your first visit to our city, and we hope that you can return soon too!!--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have tried many different bed & breakfast locations in St. Augustine, and found Bayfront Marin House to be lovely! The breakfast was yummy, the room was SPOTLESS...and the staff was so polite, and they really made it nice for our 11 year-old, who was celebrating his birthday. They decorated the room for him and made him feel special. We will definitely return (maybe next time without the kids!)!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayfrontMarin, Owner at Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!! We loved meeting your "kiddos" (I love that, because my mom used to call me "kiddo"!)--they were such polite and well behaved young men! And it was a lot of fun planning a little celebration in your room--we love being part of surprises, so thank you for giving us that opporutnity!! Thank you again for the review, and we hope you can come back again soon--Mike and Sandy and the Whole Bayfront Marin House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.6 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Ba...
#14 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autogr...
#15 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#9 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn

Property: Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
Address: 142 Avenida Menendez, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-5049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find romance on the waterfront in our tailored, elegant, laid-back inn located right in the historic district of St. Augustine. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning, a daily happy hour, and lots of other great amenities including free parking, free Wi-Fi, free bikes, beach chairs, umbrellas, and the best water views in town. Bayfront Marin House has the style of the past with the conveniences of today including double Jacuzzi tubs, body jet showers, flat screen televisions, fireplaces, private decks with water views and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayfront Marin House Hotel Saint Augustine
Bayfront Marin House b&b Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing