We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a party!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Outback Crab Shack - CLOSED

Outback Crab Shack
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
142 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great for a party!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Went here for a wedding rehearsal dinner. Very relaxed setting on the patio out back. Food was served on big platters for a buffet-style meal at picnic tables. There are no vegetarian options beyond salad and fries, so keep that in mind!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    78
    44
    27
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
307 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Did not live up to the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This place was highly recommended, but I thought it was just a average at best! While the server was very friendly, the service was slow. The beer pitchers they use reduce the amount of beer per pitcher! The food was only average and a tad expensive for the quality and quantity! I would not return there!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“no gators”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I've been looking for gators in Florida that are not farm raised, on every vacation, for the past 5 years. The guide from a river cruise suggested this place. Said the gators were all over the dock. Guess what? no gators. What we did find was a slice of real Florida. Very cool. The service was good the food was good and the atmosphere was off the charts. This will be a memorable stop even without gators.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“slow service, no attention to details”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

My family went to the Crab Shack on a Wednesday afternoon, there were very few patrons in the restaurant. Service was slow, had to flag down waitress for refills and my debit card was not returned with my receipt. Waitress was making phone calls in the corner of the outside patio when we were attempting to get refills. Also very expensive compared to level of service and cleanliness. Food is pretty good, especially the fish - that's really the only positive thing I can say.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 60Mathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Call Before you Go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We've been going to the Outback Crab Shack for several winters and have always felt that we were dodging a bullet based on some of the very negative reviews we've seen of the restaurant. We went this year with all four of us planning to have the excellent oyster po' boys and margaritas that had become our favorites there.

After a 20 mile drive, we ordered only to learn that they were out of oysters. Instead, we ordered the shrimp po' boys which turned out to very good, but still weren't what we really wanted. It got worse. The margaritas were easily the worst any of us ever had, tasting like diluted Mountain Dew with the faintest hint of tequila.

We'll probably go back because the place is an iconic fish camp nestled along a beautiful stream and, usually, has good food and drinks and excellent service. But next time we'll call first. .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Crab Shack also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing