We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place and Cozy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cozy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cozy Inn
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Mary1357
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place and Cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2007

The Cozy Inn is the best! My husband and I stayed in one of their deluxe suites. They are georgeous and spotless. These suites have a beautiful bedroom and livingroom along with a dining area. The online pictures look great, but do not do the suites justice. At The Cozy Inn you do not have the hotel/motel feel of being cooped up in a room. It rained on one of our vacation days and it was great having some space. It was also great parking right infront of the suite. There was no dragging luggage all over the place. I wish there were more places like The Cozy Inn. This is a rare find. Their manager, Dollie along with the housekeepers were exceptionally helpful and knowledgable about the area. They gave us some wonderful restaurants that were not tourist traps.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    173
    38
    10
    6
See reviews for
175
593
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2007

We just returned from almost a full week at the Cozy Inn. We loved it! It was VERY clean and the people there are VERY friendly! It was also VERY quiet! The cost was, in my opinion, a bit high - even with the AAA discount. However, it was almost like having a small apartment.

We were in one of the townhouses and appreciated having the full kitchen and separate upstairs. The sofa bed in the living room was not comfortable at all, but a cot was provided to help with that situation. The living room was rather small, and when the sofa bed was pulled out, it was hard to move around. The bedroom upstairs was good sized though. Daily maintenance was thorough and nicely done!

It was only a walk of about ten blocks or so to the Old City, and it was good to get out and do some walking every day.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2007

We love, love, The Cozy Inn. My fiance and I stay here often when we want a weekend getaway. We live 30 miles outside of St. Augustine and love to visit for a day or two. The Cozy Inn offers extremely clean, well furnished, and adequately equipped rooms, (microwave, refrigerator & coffee makers) for an excellent price. The standard rooms are small (with the amenities mentioned) but perfect if spending most of your time sight seeing. They also offer suites & townhouses for longer stays. The staff is very friendly and the rooms/bathrooms are immaculate. The location is good (for the price great). We would recommend walking to a trolley stop or driving into the historic district.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, amenities, staff
  • Disliked — water pressure
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fairydst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2007

My husband and I called the Cozy directly and found that they offered a deal for a 7 night stay which allowed us to stay longer than we would have otherwise.

We like to walk and the Cozy location was just right for us to walk along the sidewalk to the Castillo, the Nombre De Dias, and the Spanish Quarter. We almost took our bicycles, which would have been great to goto Vilano Beach. (Lots of folks pay the fee and take 4WD right on the beach there.) The sand is finer at St. Aug. beach, though.

The room was smaller than the "3 star suites" we had been staying at but in camparison to a sleeping car on a Norwegian train it was luxurious. The furnishings were more than adequate. The bathroom had a shower, toilet, and sink. This was fine since we take showers. The sink faucet was pretty. There were clean attractive towels, washclothes, handtowels, tub mat towel, soaps, shampoo and drinking cups for us each day. Also the supply of Maxwell House coffee, cups and comdements were restocked for the coffee maker in our room. The wireless internet worked great and we used it often with our laptop. We also made use of the compact refrigerator and the microwave in the room. Both were clean and worked great. Bring your own plates, dishes, utensils. The bed was remade each day. The air conditioning heat and cooling worked fine. There were deadbolt locks on the door. The TV had many cable channels and good audio/video. The curtains were light proof and the blinds worked well. We did not hear our neighbors.

There were only two pillows on the queen sized bed in our room. My husband and I are used to using two each.

We did not bring a dog with us, but the Cozy does accept some and asked if we were traveling with one. The room was clean and gave no noticable evidence that a dog had stayed there.

There is a vet across the street from the Cozy and the city seems very accomodating to dogs on leashes. There were lots of dogs on leashes along the historic district. There is a shop on St. George that even serves dog treats and water to dogs.

We grocery shopped at nearby Winn-Dixie and Walmart (across from the hospital). We ate out at several nearby places. The only place we did not like was Mi Casa (a German food bar place in the old Spanish District). We did not like the food. Likely the place is fine for beers but pass on the food.

We recommend other places we ate. Cortesses Bistro is a short walk from Cozy, very classy. We had an attentive German waiter. Very good salads and coffee. The Palm Cafe on St. George was where we had a delicious light supper of scallops, potatoes and salad. The rice from the Columbia reminded my husband of his mother's. The creme de Catalona and flan were tasty. The salad and chicken were not so good. About half the dishes on the menu are South American instead of Spanish. The Columbia is beautiful though.

We wished we could have sampled Cafe Spain, only a short walk from the Cozy. We talked to one young lady who said she drove in from Jacksonville for the food there. Also we wished we had gotten to the Raintree. It looked very pretty from the road with the tableclothes and waterfalls. Scarlett O'Haras looked like the place for young adults on Friday night for a beer and fried fish. We would have liked to eat at the Athena, a Greek cafe as well.

We had good luck with pizza from Hungry Howies. We ate at the IHOP for breakfast a few mornings and at McDonalds a few mornings. Other reasonably priced restaurant values are nearby the Cozy (Subway, Mexican buffet, etc.).

There was also a CVS, a walk-in medical office, an ABC store and several auto repair shops in walking distance of the Cozy should you need it.

There is a public library and children's playground close by, too.

The innkeepers, Marilyn and Neil were very kind, helpful, attentive, and accomodating.

  • Liked — Cozy was economical, quiet, park at your door, good location for walking, had internet, frig/microwave/coffee, & queen bed.
  • Disliked — There was a temporary problem with lack of hot water in the morning a couple of days.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank visitorfromvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2007

I had a girls weekend here in April 06. We stayed in one of the condo's across the street from the main place. The condo was very nice and clean, well decorated and full kitchen.
The things I didn't like was the stairs to the bedroom were steep and the parking lot was small and difficult to get out of when traffic was heavy. The staff were very nice, made sure we had a good stay, recommended places to see and where to eat. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — It was close to all attractions, clean and friendly staff
  • Disliked — traffic
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunny4834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2007

my husband and I stayed here are few years ago. Super clean rooms and nice staff. Will stay here again.

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Tips/Secrets — take the train in to old town
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
244 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2006

We stayed at the Cozy Inn for four nights right after Thanksgiving. We had a lovely stay. The people were very accommodating. The room was small but had everything that we needed. Since we were staying a while, we wanted a refrig which we had.

The location is excellent. It's just far enough away from the historical district that you aren't dealing with crowds. Yet it's within a couple of blocks of the green trolley which we used constantly while we were there.

We had a wonderful trip to St. Augustine and the Cozy Inn was a good part of that.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — no ice available when we left
  • Tips/Secrets — The smaller rooms are fine, no need to go to the townhouses.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kglen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.6 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
5.9 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#11 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cozy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cozy Inn

Property: The Cozy Inn
Address: 202 San Marco Ave, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint Augustine
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Augustine
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint Augustine
#13 Business Hotel in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cozy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cozy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cozy Hotel Saint Augustine
Cozy Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing