We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little suite”
Review of The Cozy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cozy Inn
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little suite”
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We stayed at one of the suites at the Cozy Inn. The layout was very nice -- good sized full kitchen, small living room and nice bedroom with a queen. We also had an old-fashioned, southern-looking front porch with wicker rocking chairs and a table.

The fold-out bed in the couch was not good, however. On the second night I took the mattress out completely and put it on the floor.

Two other pitfalls were the on-street parking for this particular suite, which we did not like, and the very busy San Marco Avenue.

Overall, it was priced right and I would still recommend it because of its charm, cleanliness and coziness.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Suite faced a very busy street
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcp523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    179
    40
    10
    6
See reviews for
182
615
34
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2008

the location was Great, the size was good, the kitchen was very nice--BUT the furniture was sooo BAD the couch was so bad we sat on the floor and even got folding chairs. the beds squeaked a lot, the price was also good, the place was clean and well cared for, the people were very nice also,if they would put decent furniture (mattress and couch ) this place would be an a+

  • Liked — kitchen
  • Disliked — furniture
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Deanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,899 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,875 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2008

We stayed at the Cozy Inn over Christmas for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. We were in the motel section (room 15) which was the end unit. The room was not large but spacious enough for 2 adults and included a small frig and microwave, queen sized bed, table and chairs. Parking was in front of the unit. The room was far enough back from the road that we were not bothered by street noise. Our only problem was that we felt the pillows were too soft and therefore requested and got additional pillows the second night. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The rate was a very reasonable $79/night, but did not include breakfast.

Cozy Inn is located on San Marcos St., the main north/south street going through the historic part of the city. The inn is north of downtown, about a mile north of Castillo de San Marcos and the visitor center. You could walk to the visitors center and take a shuttle into town or take a tour bus which is near that area. Parking is very tight at times in downtown St. Augustine--parking at the visitors center is $7.00 all day (no hourly rates).

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2007

My husband and I spent 10 days here and it was perfect. Like a home away from home. Staff was friendly and efficient. Apartment cleanliness was outstanding and location was within walking distance to the Historic Town sightseeing trolleys. Nearby Villano Beach was very nice.

  • Liked — cleanliness and homey atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LongIslandbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

My husband and I recently had the opportunity to stay in St. Augustine at 'The Cozy Inn', and we had an amazing experience at this wonderfully quaint motel. We found this establishment to be beautifully decorated, incredibly clean and well-maintained, the service impeccable and the management delightful! We definitely recommend staying at 'The Cozy Inn' to any traveler, whether it be an individual, couple, or family - they have accommodations to suit all needs. Simply said: "'The Cozy Inn' is the perfect home away from home!" -Rhonda in Connecticut

  • Liked — The friendly staff and beautiful clean rooms - with a fully equipped kitchen!
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect for us; no regrets.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TX-CTGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA state
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

The Cozy Inn was very clean, but the standard unit was very small. When we booked, the staff told us that it'd be no problem accomodating us (2 adults and a 12 year old boy). They said they'd give us a cot to go with our queen bed. If it were a regular sized hotel room, this would have worked out just fine for us. (The rest of the hotels we stayed at had either 2 fulls or 2 queens, which worked out in both cases) The room was barely big enough for 2 adults WITHOUT the cot, let alone a 3rd body. Even if we had a baby or toddler, it would have been too small. (definitely no room for a travel crib). After our first night of 3, we asked the management about cancelling our other 2 nights. Though she (Dolley) was nice about it, she said we could upgrade (nearly doubling the price), but she could not cancel our following 2 nights. In addition to the room being very small, the bathroom was as well. The shower had no light, so it was somewhat dark in there. There was no fan in the bathroom; in the close quarters we were in, we had to open the window for ventilation at the "appropriate times", bringing heat in from the asphalt right in front of the window. There was nowhere to put our toiletries besides a very small shelf built over the toilet tank. Also, the only place to store luggage was the open "closet" that was about 3 feet wide and 2 feet deep. Because we moved furniture around to accomodate our son's cot, and his cot lined up right against the "closet", we did not use the closet to store the luggage. In other words, if you are travelling to other places besides St. Augustine, and have 3 regular sized suitcases, plan to keep your luggage in your trunk if you plan to stay here. Not something we'd normally do, as break-ins can occur. One last thing: not having been to St. Augustine previously, I had no idea how far places are apart from each other in this town. We did do the Red Train, but the nearby stops were a little too far to walk if you are staying at the Cozy Inn in the summer. It was dreadfully hot, so we drove to the Red Train parking lot. Next time, we will stay at the Best Western in the Spanish Quarter, or St. George's Inn.

  • Liked — It was clean.
  • Disliked — It was too small.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Puyallup83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Stayed here based on the many positive reviews I read. I stayed in one of the motel rooms. I'll just list the pros/cons since that's how I usually make decisions about where to stay. That way you can base your decision by what's most important to you.

Pro's
- Very clean rooms. Even though they are older, spotless.
- Parking right outside the door to your room. We loved this when it came time to pack up the car. Made it very convenient.
- Quiet. Did not hear noise from neighboring rooms. Felt like we were alone.
- Free wireless internet (be sure to ask for the code. we tried to use it late at night and could not because we didn't get it and the office was closed).
- Fridge in room.

Con's
- Small room. Not a lot of room to move around. There is a small table with two chairs and the bed. Also, dresser with a TV on it. TV was a little low to be viewed by both people laying on bed. Hard to see over the person lying in front.
- If you are an early riser, or stay out late, and need something such as extra pillows, towels, or the internet code you have to do it during office hours. Probably the same with all small hotels though.
- Uncomfortable bed.
- AC unit is right next to bed. We found ourselves either too cold because it blew right on us, or too hot if we turned it off.

Overall, I had a neutral experience here. Nothing really impressed me or turned me off about it. However, I think next time I'll try somewhere else. Maybe somewhere with a pool since it was very hot. Also, would probably stay closer to town so I could walk to the attractions. We had to drive, but it was never really an issue.

  • Liked — Free wireless internet
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank KMonnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
1.7 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
5.9 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cozy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cozy Inn

Property: The Cozy Inn
Address: 202 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. Augustine
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
#13 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cozy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cozy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cozy Hotel Saint Augustine
Cozy Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing