We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A FUN PLACE TO WALK THROUGH!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old City Remedies - CLOSED

Old City Remedies
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nation's Oldest Drugstore as we knew it no longer exists. It is with great sorrow the chapter on this building's history has now been changed once again. The building still exists but is being changed from the charm it once was. The building was sold and will now be Potter's Wax Museum. I feel deeply honored that we got to be a part of it's history and dwell in this space for 5 years. It was a time of new beginnings for us and it enabled us to grow in so many ways. So now we move on to a new chapter and other new beginnings. We here at Old City Remedies still exist, just not at that location. We will use this time to expand and market ourselves and products in a way that we can reach more people. We do thank you for all the friendships we have developed and smiling faces that would come back again and again to give us their love and support. Visit us on Sat. or Sun. and you'll find us at the St. Augustine Flea Market. We still have all our great products like: loose leaf herbs, tea and natural skin care products created in our warehouse. Come on in and say hey, you'll be glad you did. It may not look like much on the outside but on the inside there is magic everywhere. Many Blessings to you.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A FUN PLACE TO WALK THROUGH!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

A great place to visit and see all the old products that were actually a part of the original drug stores inventory! A def must if you enjoy history or medical history!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoveBug41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    29
    18
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were there in Sept of 2010. After walking most of the area visiting the shops, cafes & bars, we happened to walk by this place & decided to stop in. It turned out to be the most pleasant & enjoyable stop of the entire day. We bought several items that you don't find most anywhere else. It took a year to drink the teas we purchased & we still have some of the shea butter left. The staff was enjoyable & entertaining, as well as very knowledgable of the products they sold. We didn't stop here to eat, park or anything else but with an open mind to look! Any naysayers in these reviews probably wouldn't be happy anywhere, anytime, anyhow!!! This November we're going back for three days-guess what??-this will be the first place we go to, along with all the other places, including the factory & prime outlets!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rellim49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weird shop good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

This place is kinda neat to look around. It's a weird little shop, but there is a cafe in the back with some of the best lunch food at the best price. I worked downtown and this was my lunch several times a month. Definitely a locals place.

Helpful?
Thank dthrldsn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
191 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A pleasantly unexpected find.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I could've spent hours in this little cluster of stores. The drug store was fascinating and literally like stepping back in time. Creaky wooden floors, old cash tills... I almost wished for a tour or a guide that could explain all the old bottles, devices, and displays that covered the walls.

Anyone with an interest in natural remedies, jewelry, teas, herbs, skin care products, or unique gifts should make a point to explore this little gem. Allow yourself at least 30-45 minutes if you can. Samples abound and the staff is very friendly. We will certainly be returning here the next time we're in St. Augustine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LuvMCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit to the Authentic Old Drug Store was delightful.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I found this store to be very entertaining. The store personnel were very knowledgeable and quite helpful to us. We'll definitely go back to the Drug Sore when we come back to St. Augustine.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank VTtravman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old City Remedies also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing