We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic”

Faver-Dykes State Park
Ranked #69 of 186 things to do in St. Augustine
Attraction details
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Scenic”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This should be ranked higher but it's because of historic downtown outranking this. This is a hidden gem. Lots of paths through the woods, really scenic. Hopefully you won't see a bobcat like the website says, we didn't see any. Can park there and rent a canoe/kayak (we didn't because we got to that area too late). If you forgot to bring a drink there's a gas station right before you enter. Bathrooms are ok and a nice main area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    8
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This place is tucked way back in the woods. It is very natural looking and if you want peace and quiet this is the place to be. You can still have your power and water. Restroom and showers are ok. Internet and TV is a hit n miss. This place is for canoeing, kayaking, nature trails and all out relaxing. But if you want the city and attractions there are about 45 mins away.

Helpful?
Thank Kellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
space coast, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful, friendly”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Not quite as pristine as many Florida State Parks, Faver-Dykes makes up for it be being quiet and serene, even on a busy holiday weekend. Campsites are shady and well-screened, so that even with a capacity crowd it seemed secluded. Convenient to St. Augustine, but far enough away to seem like another world.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank conquistador1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Rural Florida”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is truly rural Florida. To really enjoy and understand the park you must visit during the Florida Days in February. It is entertaining and lots of fun to experience how "old Florida" really existed. Fun for entire family.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great wildernss parK”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This park is quite convenient in that it is just several miles off Route 1, Immediately after entering park you are surrounded by palmetto and scrub pine. It is several miles to the campground but the road is relatively smooth even though it is a dirt road. There are signs encouraging you that you are on the way to the campground. We camped in our rv for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. Our lot was fully shaded. We went away to find a laundry and found one in St. Augustine called The Laundry Room on A1A. While we were gone the park called us to tell us that the electric was off in the park and wondered if we had any pets in our rv. We did. We got back as soon as we could and on the way back to the park the ranger called again to tell us the electric was back on. Very unusual level of service for a park. We would recommend it wholeheartedly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank joyfromabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faver-Dykes State Park also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to Faver-Dykes State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing