We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ximenez-Fatio House

The Ximenez-Fatio House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dating to the Spanish town plan of 1573, the property is a centerpiece of St. Augustine’s oldest settlement and is a feature along the city’s first platted thoroughfare, Aviles Street.“The Ximenez~Fatio House museum is one of the first to interpret 19th century women’s history”William Seale, Ph.D.; author, historian, and consultant for interpretation since the 1970’s.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Have taken many historical tours and this one was one of the best. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and told us great stories and information on the colorful history of the house. My husband, son and I had a great time. A MUST SEE!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    65
    11
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Made the history come alive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Cindy was excellent at giving us a rich vision of each room's use, how the artifacts were part of daily life, and the special role of this boardinghouse through St. Augustine's varied history. This was one of the most informative and entertaining historic house tours we've taken.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank varietyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“History with a personal perspective”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We just left the Ximenez-Fatio House. Irene masterfully guided us through the rooms of this historic boarding house, and what a glimpse into the St. Augustine of the 1800's! It was easy to imagine daily life there, the interesting people who operated the house and those who visited it. Through stories and artifacts, the period sprang to life.

The staff we encountered were extremely friendly, and clearly demonstrated their love for and pride in this wonderful historic house. Don't miss it!

Helpful?
2 Thank CapeOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jane F "A rich history lesson"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

A delightful guided tour was provided by Cindy who transported our group back in time to the elegantly appointed Ximenez-Fatio Boarding House. One could almost feel that we would catch a glimpse of an 1800's guest just departing their room. Our guide was extremely knowledgable about the history of the boarding house, it's owners and the surrounding area of St. Augustine. It is worth your time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This rates as a Don't Miss!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

A wonderful place to tour - the guides were very good - informative and very engaging - made you feel like you were imported back in time!! If your at all intrested in a little piece of the history - read the other reviews but don't miss this tour!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank krwatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ximenez-Fatio House also viewed

 

Been to The Ximenez-Fatio House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing