We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
Ranked #23 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Clarkston, United States
1 review
“Great Location, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have stayed at this Best Western before. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The location is within walking distance to historical St Augustine. The rooms have been updated and look great. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for being a repeat guest! It's always appreciated when someone comes back and notices what we've done!
We've replaced nearly everything in nearly every room! All rooms have new furniture, carpet, paint, and mattresses. Currently, we're working on updating our bathrooms and expanding them!
We hope you come back again soon and see what else we've done!
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    293
    126
    46
    28
See reviews for
215
318
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Lovely motel inside and out locate steps away from wonderful food and entertainment in Old World St. Augustine. Beautifully decorated rooms. Huge variety of breakfast items. Lovely pool and hot tub. Extra nice reception sent us to nearby Celtic fest as we arrived early. Fast friendly service. Planning our trip for next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Joye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for coming and for writing such a great review! You came through at a great time! The Celtic Festival, like many other gatherings, are held right across the street from us!
We're so glad to hear that you had a great time and we helped that! When you come back again next year you'll find even more improvements!
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I will not stay here again because of the General Manager. I made reservations for my 20th anniversary on line utilizing my government rate. At check in I discovered I had left my DoD identification at home. I tried unsuccessfully to get the GM to give me some options on proving I was a government employee. I even suggested we call my boss. He was completely inflexible without the card. They don’t even make a copy of it, so I ask if I could fax it to him when I got home, the answer was no, no flexibility. He had to see the card. So he offered to give a different rate for the other two nights stay which would have added $160 to the remainder of our stay. The Saturday and Sunday night rate went from $168 per night to over two hundred plus the additional $160. I refused and he lost the business completely for the weekend. He also made it so I won’t be back. I understand I should have brought my ID, but to be completely inflexible about needing to see it. I find this to be a very poor business decision on his part.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank HappyinRuskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
I'm sorry to hear that you feel that way.
All businesses have ways to protect their business. Having the discount card with you to prove you qualify for the rate is one of them. Sending us the card after you leave or having someone else defeats the purpose.
We did offer you a rate that was lower than what others were paying for the weekend that you were here. I'm sorry that we couldn't come to a resolution.
I hope the rest of your weekend was enjoyable.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel was a great value for its location in St. Augustine. We were able to walk to the historic parts easily. It's also right across the street from where several of the bus tour operators are located.

We had a room with double beds, it was pretty small, but good enough since we spent a majority of our time out and about. The room was clean, it seems as though they had recently done some upgrades to fixtures and the linens. We appreciated that there was directv since it was football season when we went.

The hotel could really benefit from taking more time to increase their options for breakfast, as well as the quality. The breakfast was a disappointment, after the first morning we ventured to Denny's for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShalatrvlDRMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in St. Augustine! We are adjacent to the historic district and close enough to walk to just about anything that you want to see!
You're correct. We have done a lot of work on the hotel lately. Thank you for noticing! Almost everything in the rooms are brand new! We're currently working on our bathrooms.
We do offer the standard Best Western continental breakfast. We've brought in additional items recently including the flavored syrups for the waffles! On the weekends we include hot items!
We hope you come back soon and have an even better stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Reserved this room because of location. NEVER again. Barely made it through the first night with allergies because of dirty air conditioner and interior. Next day I spoke with management and someone came into the room while we were out and sprayed Febreeze into the a/c unit and all around room. We could hardly breathe to get our belongings and check out to go find somewhere else to stay....absolutely nothing good to say about this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for coming and staying with us. We apologize that the room wasn't as clean as it could have been. We do preventative maintenance on all of our rooms on a regular basis and that includes cleaning out the A/Cs so there is no buildup of any allergens.
We are saddened to hear you state that there is nothing good to say about us except our location. We are continuing our renovation project and making our hotel better on a daily basis.
I would recommend that any time you have allergies, contact the hotel a day prior to arrival. We have ozone machines that we can put into your room to help break up anything that you may be sensitive to. This takes about an hour and easily done.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

As Best Westerns go, this one is in an excellent location for walking Historic St. Augustine, reasonably priced, but below average when it comes to cleanliness. There are a couple of BWs in Old St.Augustine. This one is about half a block from the entrance to Ripley's. You'll pass another on the short walk to Castillo San Marco, the historic old town, Bridge of Lions, etc.

We've been to St. Augustine before, but this time just passing by when it was dinner time and time to call it a day. Front desk lady was very accommodating when we arrived un-announced and asked for a room. Check-in was quick. Shortly after we settled in to our room, she phoned to make sure all was OK.

It was OK, generally, but we were a little put off by the abundance of cigarette butts scattered on the grounds and a little more "grunge" than we're accustomed to seeing in the corners of the room, which seemed somewhat awkwardly arranged.

Bedding was clean and comfortable. The area is quiet, and we got a good night's sleep.

The breakfast area was rather small and very crowded next morning, so we took a 5 minute walk to the other end of the block and sat down for a full breakfast at a local place comparable to a Denny's.

Tab for the room ran 109.00.

We'd have no qualms about doing the same again next time we pass that way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for coming and giving us your feedback on your stay.
I apologize that we didn't present ourselves as clean as we should be and normally are. We chase down cigarette butts twice daily but they keep coming back!
We are a 50 year old property and our rooms and breakfast room are tight. Hotels just didn't offer as much space back then that we expect now! But, we do our best with what we have. Anything you touch in the guest room is brand new! Less than a year old!
When you do come back, let us know and I'll personally select a room for you and be sure that you have one that is COMPLETELY renovated, including an enlarged bathroom!
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
290 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

WI-fi is open i.e. no password required but eventually you come to screen that requires you to ACCEPT their terms of service. If you let your computer go to sleep you have to do something to restore internet access even though the software reports CONNECTED with “Internet Access”. I keep Internet Explorer open to Accept the terms of service and then use Chrome to surf. There was a large BW advertising mat on the table that made a dandy mouse pad. Another caution is don't point the remote at the TV set, point lower down on the cabinet where there is a sensor for the Direct TV...BTW talk about channels, there are many including HBO and high definition. No newspapers evident, breakkie featured hard-boiled eggs and waffles.
Room 108, small room with two queen beds, very comfortable, recently remodeled, fridge, micro, coffee maker, Kleenex but no safe. Good lighting and plenty of 120v outlets, four outlets by the bed. Great location. The BW Bayfront is more on the water but really not on the water anyway. Both are centrally located. Park the car ($5 per day which is unusual for a motel) and walk to all sorts of restaurants, shops etc. Stay here, you will like it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for coming and for telling us about your stay! We're glad you got to stay in one of the most completed rooms in the hotel! Your room has a new pocket door that better divides the bathroom and vanity from the sleeping area. We're almost done with the renovations! Please come back again and you'll have an even better stay!
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#46 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.4 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
Address: 6 W Castillo Dr, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the newly renovated Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn! We're in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We have comfortable, petite rooms and breakfast is included. You can even enjoy complimentary room service! We are walking distance to St. George Street, Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum, the Lightner Museum and the Castillo de San Marcos. We provide leisure travelers with affordable and comfortable accommodations. Sightseeing trains conveniently stop right in front or our property. Nestled in downtown St. Augustine, the Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn offers all the conveniences you need for a pleasant vacation. You can also relax in our refreshing pool or stare at the stars in our whirlpool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spanish Quarter Hotel Saint Augustine
Best Western Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing