We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Ranked #23 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Location”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night 22/23 November. Newly done out room with very comfortable King Size bed. The lady on reception was excellent and very happy to pass on her local knowledge. A good free breakfast in the morning checked out by the general manager with no problems whatsoever. Allowed us to leave our car a couple of hours after check out while we had a walk round the town.

For the price and rating it was excellent value and I would use again

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ronnie195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for coming to stay with us! It was a great pleasure to host you during your travels!
We appreciate your open, honest feedback on how well we took care of you.
You are correct. We are close enough and not overpriced to enjoy what St. Augustine offers. The downtown area is right outside of our door. The trolleys stop right across from us.
We do offer a good breakfast and I'm looking at other options to make it even better!
We hope it isn't long before you make a return trip. We would love to show you what else we do while we continue updating our little hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    307
    134
    46
    28
See reviews for
228
332
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This newly updated hotel was nice with the exception that it does not have an exercise area and the breakfast area was extremely small. Another hotel in the local area had better facilities and was the same price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I do wish we had a larger breakfast area and a fitness room would be nice.
The best exercise here is walking around the historic district, which is right outside our door. We just don't get much demand for an exercise room. In order to do that, we'd have to convert a guest room for that space.
A larger breakfast area would be great too, but again, there's just no room in the space we have. That's why we have complimentary room service! it's a great way to enjoy your breakfast in your room!
We hope you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Best Western Spanish Quarters. The rooms are comfortable with quality furnishings and bedding. The hotel has renovated to keep this older hotel in tip top condition. The room was clean and inviting. But the best part was the hotel staff and the location. We parked when we arrived and didn't need the car after that. The professional and pleasant staff recommended places to eat and things to do all within walking distance. We even received some coupons to use at a couple of the restaurants. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
What good news! Thank you for the kind words! It makes our day when we see that we treated a guest the way they should be treated!
Glad to hear that you like what we've done with the hotel. We want to make sure every guest enjoys their stay in St. Augustine. We are close enough to walk and enjoy the area and the rooms are relaxing enough to enjoy your night.
Please let us know when you're coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

If you want to walk everywhere in just a few minutes-stay here. We caught the trolley across the street, St. George Street is a 3 minute walk as well as many amazing restaurants. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was execptional for a continental breakfasr. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was the only downfall as it was barely big enough to undress and shower in-but then you are not there to spend time in the bathroom. This hotel was reasonably priced considering how convenient it is to everything worth seeing in St. Augustine.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor as I am not sure there is an elevator to the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We're glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable time with us! We appreciate the good feedback!
We certainly are close enough that you can walk to all major highlights of the area.
As far as our rooms, we have done a lot of work on renovating our property so our guests can have a more enjoyable night! We do wish we could have larger rest rooms, but unfortunately, we're stuck with what we have.
We hope you come back again so you can see what other updates we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The accommodations were good the room was a little narrow and the bath/ toilet area a little small however the location and service more than made up for this. I will be going back to St Augustine every year and will take rooms at this particular hotel every time. It is also very close to all the attractions and sights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for coming and writing to let us know about your stay!
Our hotel is indeed close enough to the downtown district where most guests will park when they arrive and not get into their cars again until ready to leave! Everything is in walking distance.
I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the updated rooms. We've worked hard on our renovations and have more to come! Wait until you see on your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

As small as this Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn was, their service was as good as other good hotels my wife and I stayed in the past year, and better than others as well. The location in the Historic District of St. Augustine, Florida, confines them to this area, so somebody is doing good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Khaled G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for coming and thank you for telling us about your stay!
We are adjacent to the downtown and are as convenient as can be hoped for to have an enjoyable stay!
We're so glad that you enjoyed yourself and I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our staff! We certainly enjoyed having you and hope you will come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swpring park, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were very impressed with the entire staff and their enthusiastic willingness to assist us in our needs. The unit was clean and well appointed. The location was perfect and close to everthing we wanted to do while at St. Augustine. The only down side we had was the wifi did not work well during our stay. The gentleman at the front desk did all he could do to remedy the situation, but it was out of his control.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay! We love hearing from our guests! We do make every effort to do our best for everyone and want you to feel at home! You're here to enjoy yourselves, so we will go out of our way to ensure your stay goes well!
We apologize for the WiFi problem. It has frustrated us and we think we have it resolved.
Let us know when you're coming back and we'll try to wow you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#50 of 78 in St. Augustine
420 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 78 in St. Augustine
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn

Property: Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Address: 6 W Castillo Dr, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the newly renovated Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn! We're in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We have comfortable, petite rooms and breakfast is included. You can even enjoy complimentary room service! We are walking distance to St. George Street, Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum, the Lightner Museum and the Castillo de San Marcos. We provide leisure travelers with affordable and comfortable accommodations. Sightseeing trains conveniently stop right in front or our property. Nestled in downtown St. Augustine, the Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn offers all the conveniences you need for a pleasant vacation. You can also relax in our refreshing pool or stare at the stars in our whirlpool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spanish Quarter Hotel Saint Augustine
Best Western Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing