We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Ranked #25 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I wouldn't say that the hotel is remarkable, but it struck a perfect balance of affordable, comfortable, and convenient. The staff were all very nice and accommodating. The breakfast is included and they have a variety of things to choose from, though not the eggs, bacon, and sausage that some of the similar chains offer. However, those other chains that do offer a more attractive breakfast were all about $20-30 more so it was understandable. The location was great since it's just an easy 2 block walk to the historic section of St. Augustine, which is where we planned to spend most of our time. The pool is just about right for a quick dip after the hot and humid Florida weather, though it's not really the type of pool that you'd go to hang out for very long. In any event, the accommodations were right for us on this stay and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you so much for coming and for giving us your feedback! We thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family here!
No, we're not the biggest hotel in the area, but we do take care of guests like family! We're all glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again! Who knows? Maybe you'll see eggs and bacon the next time you're here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 803 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently stayed here for the 4th of July weekend and I can't say enough good things about the service at this hotel. The staff is wonderful and they all have such great attitudes.

The hotel is less than a 10 minute walk to all of the action on St George street.

Each morning there is breakfast available. It's a bit better than your standard continental breakfast. There is free wifi. And the rooms are on par with what you would expect from best western but each day the cleaning staff did added little extra touches to make us feel like we were in a top notch hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay because enjoyed having you!
We do what we can to ensure a great stay for all guests. We have many that have been coming here for years! The upgraded, remodeled rooms are welcoming and comfortable. The beds and linens are brand new. Complimentary room service for breakfast is an option we ask everyone to take advantage of!
We hope you'll come back to see us again and again!
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was small and old but nice. It had two queens (real size queens - not doubles). The beds were super comfortable and the staff was nice. The location was great. It was a few blocks walk from Old Town and the trolley was right across the street. Compared to other hotels that were that close the price was right. It was very quiet at night. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your staying with us and telling us how we did! So good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Those beds are brand new as is most everything else in our rooms!
We have many more upgrades in store! When you are ready to come back, please call us and we'll be glad to tell you about what else we've done to ensure you have a great stay!
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We decided on this hotel for a few reasons: proximity to the Castillo de San Marcos and the city center, the 3.5 out of 5 on this site, and price. For $110 per night we were expecting more than we got. Every hotel has its share of good and bad. Let's start with the bad, shall we?

No way this hotel rates a 3.5. Do not let the photos on the web site fool you. First off the rooms look like they were decorated by students from Clown College. Great googly moogly. Blue-tinged floor tiles with peach walls and beige cultured marble in the bathroom, green carpet with beige and mauve polka-dots, and a totally out of place granite counter top in the sink area. Our room overlooked the back parking lot and dumpsters for the seafood restaurant next door. Scenic, I tell you.

The room was tiny. Two queen beds stuffed into a small room with a dresser and TV. The bathroom is a broom closet with a toilet wedged against a tub. My son, who is 5' 10" and weighs 210 could barely fit in the bathroom. He's handicapped and needs assistance so putting another adult in there to assist him was a challenge to say the least.

There is a table and two chairs in the room as well, in between a bed and the A/C. It was noted that the room sleeps 4 adults. It does: two queen beds for 2 adults each. Be prepared to step all over one another, though. We had 3 adults and it was a challenge.

The fridge worked, but barely. Microwave sort-of worked, but functioned well enough for our 2 day stay.

The outside of the hotel was dirty. Cigarette butts everywhere. Our first vision upon pulling into the parking lot was some dude standing outside his room smoking a cigarette and drinking a beer without his shirt on. Awesome. Not the hotel's fault, of course, but still...

The ice machine is in a breezeway on the 1st floor. We didn't really get a good look at it until our 2nd day, and if I had seen it the 1st day I would have went to the gas station across the street and bought a bag of ice. That thing has seen better days. No telling when that thing was last cleaned.

The continental breakfast? Make your own waffles and toast. My wife brought me some toast and grape jelly. It was tasteless. I'm not trying to pile on here, but it literally had no taste. I don't expect grape jelly to taste like grapes (it doesn't) but I expect it to at least taste like grape jelly.

This blew my mind: to park in the parking lot...the HOTEL'S parking lot...was $5.00 per day. I've never stayed in a hotel where I had to pay to park in their parking lot. Am I behind the times on this? Unbelievable.

OK...that's enough bad. Now for some good:

The hotel staff is great. Very polite and helpful. The staff is the saving grace of this hotel. I absolutely cannot say enough good things about the front desk staff. Kristina is a peach. The location is fantastic. Five minute walk from the Castillo de San Marcos and St. George Street. Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum is right across the street. We only used our vehicle once during our stay and that was to get to the grocery store for some meds. The beds are comfortable. Probably one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in while on the road. Did I mention the staff is excellent?

Bottom line: this hotel has seen better days. I would really classify it more of a motel than a hotel. If you want a hotel with a great location and don't mind a cramped, stale room then this is your place. If you're looking for something more upscale then this isn't it. We were expecting a little more than we got for the money we spent. Quality staff, however.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your thoughts.
We can certainly agree that the hotel has it's flaws and still needs some updates. The bathroom tile is one of the upcoming projects. We do have all new paint, carpet, furniture and beds.
We don't boast about the size of our hotel or make any claims that are false. All photos on the website are accurate portrayals as they are recent photos. We don't boast about any views from the room either. We are what we are: an older property in downtown St. Augustine that's newly renovated. We maintain the property as best possible and are on top of all issues as quickly as we can.
Being that we are in an older city, we have limitations and can not change how we're setup. We don't have larger guest rooms or larger bathrooms as more modern properties do.
But, we do our best to provide every guest with the best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

This is in a great location within walking distance to the fort and shopping. Rooms clean and nice. The only thing is the bathroom is quite small and parking is tight. Other than that it was a good place and service was good.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chch88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thanks for such a great review!
We are right in the heart of the historic district of St. Augustine. Close enough to walk to just about everything!
We are an older property and therefore the physical nature of our property has smaller attributes. However, we have done an extensive update to the hotel to give everyone a fresh, new feeling! Everything in the guest rooms are new including furniture, carpet and mattresses!
Please let us know when you're coming back and we'll take good care of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is right behind the visitor's center, in front of Ripleys Museum and the Old Town trolley tours. The Castillo of St Marcos is two blocks away! the old town square in front of that have the trolley take you everywhere like a taxi and when you are super tired just get dropped off and walk one block to the hotel...cool. One drawback, the hotel doesn't have an elevator so pack light! My mom and I took everything and it was tough going up and down the stairs. The seafood restaurant Barnacle Bills is right behind the hotel, very good. The Raintree restaurant was the best, upscale place 4 blocks from the hotel. Skip the breakfast at the hotel...too small dining area and go the the village inn, 3 blocks from the hotel is like a Dennys or Waffle House/IHOP real good.

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioner is on Cool and not on Fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for posting your enjoyable stay with us! We are certainly right next to the historic features of St. Augustine. We have the Old Jail and Fountain of Youth to the North, the Castillo and St. George St to our South. You can't get any closer to being in the center of it all!
We do have a small breakfast area and currently only offer a continental breakfast with make your own waffles. I am working on an upgraded breakfast option. To help our small breakfast room, we do offer complimentary room service! Call the desk the night before, they'll take the order, and we'll have it delivered to your door the next morning!
We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very good expieriance, check in went smoothly, rooms newly revonated, carpets, beds pillows furniture, TV, microwave, fridge all working and comfortable. Continental breakfast was exactly what it is and met the mark. Each staff member was very friendly and made it a point of saying hello and sometimes more. Location and pricing can't be beat, walking distance to everything in each direction. Yes, theres a $5.00 parking fee but well worth it.
Will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Transairjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artie S, General Manager at Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! And excited to have you come back!
We are still pushing ahead with our renovations project and nearly at the end of it. By the time you come back, we will be like a brand new hotel compared to what we were just a year ago!
Thank you and we look forward to taking care of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#12 of 78 in St. Augustine
683 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
1.3 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn

Address: 6 W Castillo Dr, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range: $95 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the newly renovated Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn! We're in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We have comfortable, petite rooms and breakfast is included. You can even enjoy complimentary room service! We are walking distance to St. George Street, Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum, the Lightner Museum and the Castillo de San Marcos. We provide leisure travelers with affordable and comfortable accommodations. Sightseeing trains conveniently stop right in front or our property. Nestled in downtown St. Augustine, the Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn offers all the conveniences you need for a pleasant vacation. You can also relax in our refreshing pool or stare at the stars in our whirlpool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spanish Quarter Hotel Saint Augustine
Best Western Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing