We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
Ranked #22 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Merritt Island, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a pretty nice hotel with a great location in St. Augustine. The best thing it has going for it is the staff- especially the front desk clerk by the name of Peter. We’ve been to St. Augustine several times and have stayed at both hotels and bed and breakfasts in the area so we are familiar with the area. We had an opportunity to stay at this hotel for at a good price, so we decided to go for a night. I made our reservation about a month in advance and the young man who helped me told me his name was Peter. He was extremely friendly and helpful. When we checked in, Peter happened to be on duty and acted delighted to see me. My husband and I checked into our room, only to discover the TV wasn’t working. Peter came right up and fixed it for us. We asked him to recommend a good restaurant for dinner and he went downstairs and brought us up a map of the area and gave us his recommendations while showing us where they were on the map. He did all of this for us while making us feel like it was a pleasure to help us. Truly, this is a remarkable thing to find in this day and age. As far as the hotel itself, it was not the worst place we’ve stayed in, but not the best either. The room, while on the small side, was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was extremely small and smelled like urine; we’ve had a bigger bathroom at a Motel 6. There was some mold in the corner of the tub. Parking was crowded and awkward. The wireless didn’t work and they were waiting for someone to come fix it, which didn’t happen while we were there. The complimentary breakfast was pretty sub-standard and the dining area was tight. In fact, the whole hotel felt rather crowded but since we were only there for one night, it was do-able. The location was great and as I said the staff (specifically Peter) made up for the areas it was lacking in. Would I stay there again? If Peter wasn’t working there – probably not, especially if I had to pay full price. I would have been pretty disappointed in it if that was the case. If you can catch it on a special deal, this isn’t a bad place to stay because it’s close to everything and it’s fairly clean. Other than that – you might want to shop around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbird227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks a lot, for writing a great comment. I am Siddharth Dua , general manager of The Best Western Spanish Quarter, in Saint Augustine Florida. Me and my staff are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and also visit to the oldest city. It’s our pleasure to offer you great service, and I’m so glad you chose our hotel for your lodging needs. Thanks again for staying with us... And see you next time.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    284
    123
    44
    28
See reviews for
206
312
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located within walking distance to everything. The rooms were nice but nothing special. Clean, quiet but nothing special. Safe neighborhood and nice staff. Skip the breakfast though. Plenty of parking. The reception staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks a lot, for writing a great comment. I am Siddharth Dua , general manager of The Best Western Spanish Quarter, in Saint Augustine Florida. Me and my staff are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and also visit to the oldest city. It’s our pleasure to offer you great service, and I’m so glad you chose our hotel for your lodging needs. Thanks again for staying with us... And see you next time.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. You could tell that it was an older hotel- the rooms were small for instance, but the room we had did have two queens and a flat screen TV with DirecTv. The hotel appeared to have been recently remodeled- for as small as the room was it was nicely updated. It had the standard continental breakfast which was welcome. There was a pool and hot tub that we didn't get to use but they seemed to be clean and well-maintained. The location of the hotel was perfectly situated so that you could walk to various historical sites and there were several restaurants within walking distance- including a nicely priced pizza joint. The best part of our stay was how extremely accommodating and friendly the staff was. We had driven all night and were exhausted when we arrived at noon- several hours before check in. They had a room that was just cleaned that they let us have and it was so appreciated. It was very clean and smelled very clean- it was fantastic to be able to get in there early and grab a nap before sightseeing. Would definitely stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: parking was very tight-be careful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendielee971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks a lot Wendielee for writing a great comment. I am Siddharth Dua , general manager of The Best Western Spanish Quarter, in Saint Augustine Florida. Me and my staff are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and also visit to the oldest city. It’s our pleasure to offer you great service, and I’m so glad you chose our hotel for your lodging needs. Thanks again for staying with us... And see you next time.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was our second time visiting this Best Western. One major change even though not too major was the breakfast area. They must have cleared out a storage room and fixed it up into a place for guests to eat instead of out in the lobby area like last year. So the space went from two tables to four tables...that was fine. The one annoying thing was I felt bad for whoever was sitting by a door on the back wall. Every time someone would open the door it would hit the persons chair by the door. Seriously, that door should be locked and guests on the back side of the hotel should just walk in by the lobby like everyone else. The water pressure was still bad and still smelled horrible, but otherwise we still like staying here for the price and convenience.

Room Tip: Don't get the room with the king size bed....they are much smaller. The rooms with two queen bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmcraig67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hello Sir, thank you for your comment,as we like to know what changes and upgrade we should be doing to make our customer happy. I am glad that you like our new breakfast sitting, and now we will be concentrating on water pressure and rooms too. Once again we are happy to have you here.
Thank you
Siddharth Dua
Best Western Spanish Quarter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My nephew and I stayed here this weekend and were more than satisfied with our room and the hotel in general. I had expected issues mentioned here (see older reviews) but we had good water pressure, nice bath towels and both of us slept well in the comfy beds with lots of pillows.

There are toiletries and a hair dryer, fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The included breakfast was adequate and as expected when advertised as "continental". All of the staff members whom we encountered were helpful and friendly. There was no noise from adjacent rooms.

The hotel is in EASY walking distance to the sights or to transportation. Free wifi...Great access.

My only issue was the additional $5/day for parking...cummon. That's crazy when you are paying a fair amount for lodgings......but, the pros of this hotel FAR outweigh the cons.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancyb926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank's a lot Nancy, for taking your time to write the review. We are glad to know thta you had a wonderful time, and I will make sure that on your next visit there will be no parking fee for you.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Located walking distance to everything downtown in the historic district and if you are like me and don't spend much time in the room other than sleeping than this is perfect for the price. Much closer than any of the other discount hotels. You can just walk out your door and through the historic city gates.

Room Tip: Downstairs and away from the pool! it gets loud sometime and the dumpster is there too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks a lot Calvin, for writing an amazing review. Your review help us in making our hotel and service more better.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

we found this Best Western to be handy, good value, and in a very convenient location, breakfasts are reasonable, the pool was nice, the room was ready on time, and was clean and comfortable...it's not 5 star,and as will ALL budget type lodgings, you get what you pay for, but, this hotel was what we needed, and the staff was down to earth folks....we LIKE that! IF you needed help, they found an answer.....we'll go back anytime!

Room Tip: it's nothing fancy, but, it's comfortable......IF you want fancy, this is NOT the place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeyflowerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siddharth D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks a lot Mike for taking your time to write the review. Me and my staff are glad to know thta you enjoyed your stay, and will hope to see you soon.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#44 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
0.7 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#9 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.4 mi away
Days Inn St Augustine/Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
Address: 6 W Castillo Dr, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at the newly renovated Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn! We're in the heart of the nation's oldest city. We have comfortable, petite rooms and breakfast is included. You can even enjoy complimentary room service! We are walking distance to St. George Street, Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum, the Lightner Museum and the Castillo de San Marcos. We provide leisure travelers with affordable and comfortable accommodations. Sightseeing trains conveniently stop right in front or our property. Nestled in downtown St. Augustine, the Best Western Spanish Quarter Inn offers all the conveniences you need for a pleasant vacation. You can also relax in our refreshing pool or stare at the stars in our whirlpool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Best Western and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spanish Quarter Hotel Saint Augustine
Best Western Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing