We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed every minute of my stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oceanview Lodge
Ranked #47 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyed every minute of my stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights the January 1 to the 3. The whole motel was very clean. We enjoyed the ocean view from the balcony, the beach was just a short walk across the dunes. This is a pet friendly beach so we enjoyed watching the dogs play in the surf. The location on Vilano Beach was quiet and away from the hassle of downtown St. Augustine but just a short drive across the bridge to enjoy all of St. Augustine.

The only negative was the continental breakfast in the office was not served until 9:00 which is a little late if you want to begin your day sightseeing before the crowds. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this motel. We will ge going back.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness, helpful staff.
  • Disliked — continental breakfast was not open until 9:00. There was a lot of construction around the motel a bit noisy during the day..
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank devotedsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    40
    19
    9
    16
See reviews for
42
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2006

We stayed here for 4 days in the first week in May. Here was a typical day: Get the coffee brewing (using the in room coffee pots) open the sliding glass doors to our balcony, and enjoy a cup while watching the waves crash on the beach and discussing our plans for the day. Then get our beachwear on and walk over to the beach, lounge, gather shells, and swim for a couple hours at this beautiful, un-crowded location. Head back to Ocean Blue before the lunch time sun got too hot, change and drive over the bridge into the Historic District of St. Augustine. This is a 10-15 minute trip at most including parking. And then spending the afternoon in the Historic District eating, sightseeing, and people watching. With the hotel so close by, returning in the afternoon for a nap or swim before going out again in the evening was easy.

I cannot imagine a better way to enjoy both the beautiful Florida beach and the lively St. Augustine area without spending a huge amount $$.

  • Liked — Proximity to the ocean
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nire878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sullivan, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2006

Just returned from this location and am happy to report trip advisor reviews were right on. Great location, clean hotel, pleasant employees, every room ocean view, reasonable rates, quiet area, good beach, good restaurant next door, and just 1-2 miles from fun stuff to do if you need it....
The only things we could complain about were the internet service was poor according to my husband and we thought the pool was way too small. But I still am ready to go back now...

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank lovesred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2006

My husband and I were excited to spend our honeymoon at Ocean Blue Motel II. We search all over St. Augustine to find the best rates and cozy rooms with jacuzzis. We actually reserved at two others, but when we continued driving and looked into a directory, we've found Ocean Blue Motel II at the convenient rate. It was worth it! The welcome center made us feel so special because our names appeared on their billboard. The staff was very friendly & courteous. We did not want to leave once we arrived because it was more than what we imagined. The couples suite was dynamite and we enjoyed every minute in the jacuzzi. The view from the tub to the room to watch tv was superior. The minikitchen was awesome. We just love Ocean Blue Motel II and plan to visit again on our next anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2006

My husband and I spent the weekend here for an in-town getaway and loved it! Our room had a king sized bed and a whirlpool tub big enough to hold the two of us and a bottle of wine. The ocean view with the full moon shining over the water was wonderful and the fridge and microwave came in handy for heating up leftovers from the great local restaurants. Our favorite was The Reef, which is just up A1A right on the beach. The motel is on Vilano Beach which, while quiet and removed from the heavy traffic and noise in St Augustine, is just a short ride across the bridge to all of the tourist attractions. We'll be going back this summer with my 12 year old stepson to enjoy the beach!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank waytn4alottowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2006

I booked a night prior to looking at this hotel. I spent 234 dollars after taxes. When i showed up i was shocked. The hotel charges 4 star prices but only offers 1 star service. Please check this hotel out first before you spend your money. Hotel front desk seemed bothered that i was there. The main reason why I gave this hotel such a low rating was quality compared to cost of room.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJANDJAKE, Terry Jenkins, Property Manager at Oceanview Lodge, responded to this review, October 24, 2006
I am sorry that our guest felt that our hotel was not worth the price that they paid for a one night stay, but Ocean Blue Motel II's rates were not that high in May and have never been that high even for a Jacuzzi room or a Suite on a holiday weekend. We offer a very good value, our rooms are all ocean view rooms with private balconies and they are exceptionally clean, and our staff is very accomodating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2006

Stayed 3 nights, great, relaxing, has beach and historic location. Wonderful experience, staff is outstanding. They are pet friendly. Great place to go to get away from it all. We can't say enough about our experience at the Ocean Blue 11. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank J T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
0.3 mi away
Vilano Beach Garden Inn
Vilano Beach Garden Inn
#5 of 5 in Vilano Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
5.7 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
5.8 mi away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#49 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magic Beach Motel
Magic Beach Motel
#3 of 5 in Vilano Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview Lodge

Property: Oceanview Lodge
Address: 2701 Anahma Dr, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Oceanview Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Oceanview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanview Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel Ii
Ocean Blue Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing