We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfort inn very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Indiantown, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“comfort inn very nice”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel was very nice. The beds were the softest hotel beds I have ever slept in. The hotel manager, Mac was nice, as were his staff. The "continental" breakfast was waffles, bagels, three different types of muffins, eggs, sausage, bananas, apples, oranges, yogurt, juice, coffee, milk, and cereal. WOW! The juice, coffee, and fruit are available 24 hours per day. The staff were knowledgeable about the tours and the shuttle and really helped guide us. The room temperature was just right-not too hot, not too cold. The hotel is right next to the outlet malls and within walking distance of a dunkin donuts, a diner, Dairy Queen, McDonald's, gas station, and several other eateries. When we go back to St. Augustine, we will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    179
    50
    18
    17
See reviews for
237
212
24
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We made reservations for this Comfort Inn based on our experience with others. It turned out to be a completely different experience from any other we've stayed at. The manager was very friendly upon check-in, so do want to acknowledge that. I consider us pretty flexible when it comes to hotel rooms. As long as things are working properly and the room is clean, then we're generally okay. With that said, here are some of the things we encountered:

1) This was either one of the early models of a Comfort Inn and Suites or one that was bought by the chain and converted. It was nothing like the ones we had stayed at previously. We expected the large room we'd always had, with a sitting area, but instead it was a very cramped room with no extra space. Another gentleman wrote of the challenge just accessing the place. He's right: You have to go through a gas station area via a massively pot-holed driveway. Not a good first impression...

2) There was an incredibly strong carpet cleaner smell in the second floor hallway when we got off the elevator. It may have been cleaned that day, but with the high humidity the smell was overwhelming. It smelled like canned cleaner you use yourself, not a professional steam cleaner. Truly eye-watering, though it was a little better the next morning.

3) The must have been smoked in before, as the smell was impregnated in the walls. The linens did not smell like it, but with the heavy humidity in the room it really came out. Speaking of the humidity...

4) ...the air conditioner did not work properly. It cooled, but did not dry and the thermostat was fairly non-functional. It seemed to be either on full cold or just blowing vent air. As a result, we froze in damp air all night, except in between a/c cycles when we roasted, and the room was just sticky the whole time. Not a good night's rest.

5) A lamp bulb was burned out upon arrival (a physically broken CFL, actually). The manager quickly exchanged it for a new one, but it turns out the lamp socket also did not work. Lighting was extremely low throughout the room, based on the use of energy-saving bulbs that were not bright.

6) The linens appeared clean, but were very old. We're really not picky about linens if they are clean, but these had been around a LONG time, based on how pilled-up the bedspread was.

7) Like other hotel room floors, the carpet was not clean. A few steps around the room and our daughters' socks were black.

8) Breakfast in the morning was like no other we had ever experienced at any hotel. Because the eating area was tiny and there were few tables, there literally was a line at the doorway that went into the lobby for those of us waiting for a place to sit down and eat. My wife and I ate bowls of cereal standing in line. We had just come from Walt Disney World the day before and felt we were back in the lines for the rides. Total chaos, and the staff member working the refresh of the food, though she was clearly working hard, was extremely harried and understandably so.

9) The rest of the staff was average to deal with. Probably if it hadn't been so chaotic they would have been in a better mood.

10) Finally, if I had not read it in another review online the night we were there I probably would have missed it: There are safes in each room for your small valuables. Whether you use those or not there is a $1.50 charge per day placed on your bill. I was NOT briefed about that upon check-in, nor would I have accepted it. We cut our 3-night stay short and left after the first night, staying in an excellent Holiday Inn Express further north. Upon check-out I was watching for that safe charge. Sure enough, it was there and I questioned it. The staff member (Tonia, I think) said it automatically goes on there, but she could remove it if we didn't use the safe. I had her do so, as we had checked in late and never used the thing before the next morning. Quite frankly, this is a bogus policy and one that borderlines illegal. Be forewarned.

I rated the hotel 2 out of 5 only because the manager (Mac) was friendly and accommodating when we checked in. Others have noted his friendliness, too, so I do want to give him credit. With that said, however, this hotel is in massive need of a renovation via a total gutting and we do not recommend it. Unfortunately, our experience turned us off to the Comfort Inn and Suites chain and we canceled reservations we had at another for our return home.

Room Tip: Recommend avoiding this one and going for a newer hotel in the area. There are several other choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObiMatt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort32084, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
First please accept my apologies for your inconvenience. We had total of 196 guest reviews and more than 98% of them well satisfied with our hotel. For 2013 year hotel received “Certificate of Excellence” from Tripadvisor based on other guest feedback of satisfaction. The hotel is 100% smoke free, and we extend our breakfast hours beyond our regular hours to make sure every guest is able to enjoy the breakfast. We do have suites if you need more space in room. We do our best efforts to make the place very clean, comfortable stay with our great staff. We are very sorry we weren't able to satisfy you.

Sincerely,
Mac Jerry
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaffney, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great location for all that we wanted to do while we were in Florida. All the "kids" fast food places were close. The sights of St. Augustine were only 4 or 5 miles from the hotel. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good. I needed paperwork faxed to me for a real estate transaction. Chellena at the front desk was great help. She made sure I got the papers and once they were signed, made sure they got back to Gaffney, SC. Chellena and all the staff we had contact with were extremely helpful and friendly. Next vacation to Florida will surely be at the Comfort Inn and Suites in St Augustine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTraelers52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

to start with they do not like truck drivers and the woman at the front desk instantly had a negative attitude when she saw me pull up. Then when they find out you are using a corporate lodging card they get even nastier, and they make you park your truck over 150 yards away from the entrance to the hotel where you can't keep an eye on it and they let you know they are not responsible for any loss or damage! And you get no points if using a Corp lodging card. The sleep inn across the street is nicer and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poorboy126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We will definitely stay here EVERY time we visit Saint Augustine from now on!!Our family just checked out today after a wonderful 3 day stay-cation to Saint Augustine (we live in Central Florida). We are so glad that we chose Comfort Inn & Suites. Chellena (nights) was super friendly and very helpful and Tonya (days) was also very nice and helpful. Even the housekeeping staff was incredibly friendly too. All around best hotel we have ever stayed at in Florida and at such a reasonable, budget-friendly price! Very clean, comfy beds, soft towels, and free coffee 24-7!! We give Comfort Inn & Suites 8 thumbs up! (We are a family of 4...Lol). Their free hot breakfast was good and our kids loved the waffles! We are recommending this hotel to everyone we know who is travelling in or around the area, as it is also very convenient to the attractions, beaches, and outlet mall. Our 4 year old is already asking when we get to go back to the hotel! Super awesome!!! Thanks Chellena and Tonya!!! You are awesome ladies!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaciosekPosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

After a long day of driving, we needed a great place crash. This Comfort Inn is just off I-95 and met the standards we are used to. Clean, comfortable and convenient and reasonably priced, we recommend it for a stop over or for visiting St. Augustine.

Room Tip: Near a huge outlet mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atlanta_GeorgiaTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stopped here to qualify for Choice Hotel rebate. The hotel had some unique pluses. At the guest laundry there were two upholstered chairs. The room seemed to be very clean. The hot water in the bathroom was great but there was almost no pressure in the shower. The large bathroom mirror was showing black along the bottom edge. The rooms are not sound proof. The sheets were scratchy. In the morning we could see dust coming from the air conditioner in the sunlight. The free breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott St. Augustine I-95
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#17 of 78 in St. Augustine
823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Augustine I-95
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 2367 State Road 16, St. Augustine, FL 32084-0819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in St. Augustine
#14 Family Hotel in St. Augustine
#16 Romantic Hotel in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Augustine Comfort Inn & Suites is a AAA approved Three Diamond rated, Indoor hotel with spacious Standard rooms and Suites. We offer Free HOT deluxe breakfast & Wi-Fi. Conveniently located off of I-95 & State Road 16 and Just minutes away to Outlet Malls, Historic downtown, Beaches, World Golf Village, Imax Theater, Flagler College, and St. Augustine Lighthouse & Museum. Friendly staff and very clean rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Saint Augustine
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Saint Augustine
Country Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing