We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace, Quiet and Charm all in one place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mission of Nombre de Dios

Mission of Nombre de Dios
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.86*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
Ranked #11 of 178 things to do in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Peace, Quiet and Charm all in one place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

The mission grounds will provide you with a calm not found so easily in this busy world. It is a great place to just sit and meditate and find your peace within. Little squirrels scamper about the many shade trees and the breeze from the bay is refreshing and soothing. Ancient grave stones are scattered throughout the area and the most charming little church on earth is a central focal point, all covered in ivy with a very unique altar to a mother Mary nursing her child. You will not leave this place without feeling some sense of serenity and gratitude.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RishaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    699
    180
    49
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
391 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“A beautiful and peaceful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

On this site settlers landed to found St. Augustine. There is free parking at the site and entrance is also free with a donation box avaiable. Get a small brochure when you first enter the trail through the site which will explain the order in which to walk and the markers you will come to. At the end of there is a nice gift shop. I so enjoyed my early morning walk....so serene and quiet.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank tlynn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

When I do tours I usually spend a couple of hours here enjoying the shade under the trees and huge Cross signifying where the first seeds of Christianity took root in a permanent settlement in North America. There is a great museum on site that shows a video recreation of the landing and has some church artifacts dating back to the late 1500s. Even if you are not Catholic or religious it really is something to see and experience for the sheer historic magnitude of the place. This is a trolly stop for those riding the trolleys and trains in town. JFK called this place Americas Holiest Half Acre.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaFunShuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Sacred Place to Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is one of my favorite places in St. Augustine because the grounds are so serene. My husband and I sat in a wooden swing overlooking the water watching the Egrets and it was so peaceful and quiet. A wonderful place to meditate, reflect and take a break from the busy and touristy downtown streets. The little chapel devoted to Mary was the most special little sacred place I've ever been. I could feel the love inside. And I also loved the St. Francis statue and prayer on the grounds. The outdoor meditation space is beautiful. Inside, the exhibit was small but there was a sister who was very patient and educated and answered our questions. The gift shop has some unique and affordable gifts. I picked up a few medals, prayer cards, a pretty rosary for $8.95 and angel devotion books. I'm interested in traveling to peaceful sacred sites around the world. So far, Glastonbury and Mission of Nombre de Dios are on my favorites list.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrs K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
space coast, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Walking in the shadow of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We visit the Mission every time we are in St. Augustine. It is truly some of the most historic ground in America, and beautifully maintained. The museum on the grounds is well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank conquistador1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission of Nombre de Dios also viewed

 

Been to Mission of Nombre de Dios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing