We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See it on the Ghost Tour”
Review of Old Jail

Old Jail
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.93*
and up
Haunted Trolley Tour of St Augustine
More Info
$25.86*
and up
St Augustine Hop-On Hop-Off Trolley Tour
More Info
$40.74*
and up
Discover St Augustine: Attractions Pass with Hop-On Hop-Off
Ranked #18 of 187 things to do in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“See it on the Ghost Tour”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Saw the old Jail on the Ghost Tour. It is better to see then it is spooky and more like the way it would have been when it was built.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GTOGirl1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    869
    459
    141
    31
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Guide made it come alive!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

In a town sprinkled with tacky offerings on top of authentic structures, the jail tour exceeded expectations due to the enthusiastic & authentic characterization by our guide. Great historical detail, audience interaction and a real love for his job was evident.

Thank you, deputy - wish I could recall your name (Clyde?) to give you personal credit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Diver4comm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Greatly improved. Worthwhile atttraction.”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our tour guide had taken on the role of a turn-of-the-century prisoner. He gave a fact-filled tour of the prison and its facilities. It was made interesting by his acting the role of a prisoner, including tongue-in-cheek humor about skirting the sheriff's rules. This is greatly improved from what they had 15 or so years ago when I last visited.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward_607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must do!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a MUST if you are in St. Augustine. My husband and I had so much fun here. Our tour guide was amazing and very knowledgeable. He made us feel like we were straight up prisoners which was scary, creepy and fun at the same time. He definitely takes you back to that time and makes you feel like you living back in the moment. Loved it. Totally worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Tour Guide can make a big difference”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Unfortunately the lengthy review I just prepared was lost and since this was not a knock-it-out-of-the-park review, I'll say that it was definitely worth it, but our tour guide was a bit self-absorbed and long-winded.

The facts were interesting and museum was full of interesting stuff.
Needed a few more days in St. Augustine to check out more of Flagler's gems

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank minnspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Jail also viewed

 

Been to Old Jail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing