We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a mid-day lunch”
Review of Acapulco Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

Acapulco Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice place for a mid-day lunch”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stopped here for mid-day Margaritas and appetizers. Can't say it was the best Mexican food I've ever had but it was fine and the pitcher of Margaritas was delicious. Our server, Mirabella, was a delight and took excellent care of us. The view from our table was beautiful. I'd visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Margo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    72
    54
    26
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“No Fiesta Here”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was told this place had the best Mexican food in town. We had a party of 9 and the place wasn't busy at all. Service was slow and it took over an hour to get our food. That was after we ask the server several times. Like I said, the place was not busy. We understood we had a large group and was fine with waiting but not when there were only 3 other tables. Food was average and we had to chase our server down for drinks. Wouldn't recommend the place to anyone especially with so many other restaurants in the area. I definitely was disappointed in our outting here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Floridatourist17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere, average service, ok food”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

All my friends said it's the best Mexican in town. So we went in. Nice looking place. Small menu.. traditional food ...but it took an hour to get our food. And i ordered the fiesta combo
3 items plus beans and rice. I had 2 enchiladas and a quesadilla. It was $11. I was expecting a feast. Not even close! Was the amount of food you get for $5 at taco bell. And it was okay Not fantastic. not worth an hour wait. Go somewhere else for Mexican in st Augustine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robertdeadguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Queso, Dip, Chips and Margaritas!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My party and I went to the Acapulco Mexican Restaurant where we sat on the patio upstairs. We wanted to relax, do some people watching and have a few drinks. Well, this is a great place for it. The margaritas, which they serve by the pitcher, were great as well as the fresh chips with queso and quacamole. The service was relaxed as well as the atmosphere. It is a great location overlooking the corner just across the street from the fort. We did not stay too long, but it was just the right place for relaxing after an afternoon of shopping and strolling.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Bad food, bad service”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is not good Mexican food. I guess that depends on where you are from, but not good according to TX standards. I had to send my food back. We had to ask several times for more water, etc. We were not pleased by the service. If you are wanting ok food, this is your place, but I assume there is a reason it's rated towards the bottom of the list for restaurants in S. Augustine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caroline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acapulco Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing