We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Downtown

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #44 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location, clean rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

My family stayed at the Comfort Suites Downtown on our first visit to St. Augustine. Check in was easy, the rooms were very clean, and the staff was friendly. It was a very short walk to Ripley's Museum, Castillo de San Marcos and the historic area.

My only complaint would be that the pool area was very small (but the pool was clean and warm), and there was a patio umbrella strewn about. There also weren't any towels in the towel bin, but we were given some from the front desk upon request.

Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ymanes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    155
    83
    40
    32
See reviews for
114
177
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

The hotel is pretty close to most things. Next time I would probably stay at a bed and breakfast in the historic district, though. My only real complaint about the hotel is the balcony. There are very few balcony rooms and most of them overlook the parking lot or the roof of the downstairs below. I would have rather saved the extra money. Other than that, the hotel is very clean and has an adequate breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grlbrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, September 4, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

Room smelled like stinky feet. Room was cold and damp. I could have swown the rug was damp but when I felt with hand it was not. I have heard that over capacity of AC can create dampness.
Pictures online do not reveal that both pools are together and in front of the parking lot.
Staff was great though. And the breakfast was pretty OK. Would recommend only if smells and damp feeling sheets do not bother you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Sarasota,FL
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

My sister and I stayed over 4th of July weekend, which was very busy. Even though all rooms were booked, the staff was very friendly & helpfull. The rooms were very clean and even though there were kids in the room next to us, we did not hear any noise from them. I don't know why one reviewer said the walls were paper thin. The air conditioner was not noisy either. Our room included a very comfortable bed and a couch that converted into a bed, which my sister said was comfotable also. It was great to have the convenience of a mini fridge,microwave & coffee maker. There was also a desk for my laptop and the internet very fast. The lobby breakfast room was very clean with an attendant cleaning up after every person and making sure there was plenty of coffee & tea. The breakfast bar was bountyful,toast,muffins,donuts,cereal,waffles,eggs,sausage,juices,tea,coffee, etc. There was free parking & if you ever been to Old Town, this is a great premium. Close walking distance to Old Town, Trolley and right next to bike & scooter rental. We had a excellent stay there and within a few minutes walking distance to the Fort, we enjoyed the fireworks. This is definately the place to stay in Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margarittaville_Todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed 3 nights. Staff very helpful. Room was large, clean. micro, fridge, coffee maker, TV has many channels. Easy walk to downtown. Free Parking.
Free hot breakfast.

We ate at many restaurants. Two of our favorites were
1. Hurricane Patty's-Friendly staff, laid back atmosphere, good happy hour, good food specials including a bucket of oysters. Good food at good prices. www.HurricanePattys.com
2. JP Henley's-right downtown - 50 beers on tap, many more bottled beers, 24 wines on tap and many more bottles of wine. Food is eclectic - appetizers, salads, hot and cold sandwiches. Staff is friendly and informative. www.jphenleys.com

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowenfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

The walls are unbelievably thin, to the point you can see light from the other room where the wall meets the ceiling. The halls aren't air conditioned. The Internet service is pathetic. None of the rooms are suites. There is no room divider. Thus, the hotel name itself is a lie.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank fruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay.

Since 2009 we have upgraded the internet service and we have new a/c units. We hope you give us another try.

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate,FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

I was a first time visitor to St. Augustine, FL, traveling with my son. We found the location of the hotel to historical sites and trams/trolleys excellent. During the day you could catch the tram right outside the hotel-very short walk. In the evening, close enough to walk to Ripley's or restaurants downtown or St.George street. The staff was excellent, helping us with information on good restaurants etc..-giving us directions and maps. The room was large and clean with in room coffee, refrig, and microwave. The morning breakfast was great-hot full breakfast, ceral,milk, fruit, yogurt etc...staff willing to get you anything you needed. I would definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh7e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, September 3, 2016
Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#21 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
0.4 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Historic St. Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Property: Comfort Suites Downtown
Address: 42 San Marco Avenue, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Hotel Saint Augustine
Downtown Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing