We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An easy walk to all of downtown St. Augustine.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay here. We booked a last minute King room for one night (Saturday). The room was very nice, big bed, refrigerator, microwave, iron, etc... We had a little "sitting" room with a couch and coffee table, great area to read ect.. Although we didn't use it, it had a nice pool. Easy walk to all of downtown attractions and shopping. They do charge $5.00 a night to park, but the garage... which is right across the street is a flat rate of $10.00. We arrived early, and they were able to let us check in at that time (approx an hour early). Free breakfast of sausage, eggs, toast, bagels, waffles, fruit ect... very nice variety. My only complaint was the TV. it is on dish, and we had some issues. Had to call the desk and they eventually had to come up and fix it for us..... not a big issue, but a bit inconvenient. I would stay here again. All staff was friendly and helpful, housekeeper was a sweetie. One more thing, the walls are VERY thin.... we could hear a little boy talking to his father in the next room... it actually woke me up, and they were not yelling.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 426 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2014

I tried to book my usual hotel, already booked, so I checked my fellow TripAdvisor reviewers, thank you again!!! Arrived early, before 4p check-in, easily registered and in our room quickly. The room was nice and cold (very hot and humid day), CLEAN and in order. I would say the only thing that was not perfect were the beds, a little to firm for my taste but slept fine. Better yet this hotel is about a block from the historic St Augustine, no need to drive leave your car, although they do charge $5 a day, I didn't check but it may be cheaper than parking in the historic district and feeding the meters. Breakfast was good served the usual fruit, cereal, yogurt, muffins, also served sausage patties and eggs or you could make a blueberry or regular waffle with coffee, milk and juice. Wi-Fi was not the best, but didn't use it that much. Close to everything, good place to sleep

Room Tip: Stay on higher floor south side, not sure but you may have a nice view towards the fort.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLB06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We have two kids. We drove from ft Lauderdale, Florida. We spent two days in St Augustine and stayed at this hotel. Within walking distance of the old city, we were close to everything. They charge you $5/day for parking but we paid $109 for a 2-bed room and it was well worth it. Room was clean, huge bathroom (and with 2 kids 9/10 it's important). We had a fridge, a microwave, and a sitting area in the room. Breakfast was great and free: waffles, toasts, HB eggs, and the usual cereal, yogurt, etc... Always saves us a bunch of time not to have to find a place to eat in the morning. Last thing, they have kids appropriate channels on TV. Believe me, this does not happen all the time. Had an emergency and had to fax a document. Staff was helpful and courteous. The reason why I don't put a 5 is that the AC broke and started spitting water in the middle of the night. We were leaving in the morning so we did not complain.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I have no idea why all the bad reviews. I loved this place! It was clean and perfectly located right in the middle of everything. The old towne trolley tour stop was pretty much across the street as was a cool resturaunt called La Pavillion. The pool was small but clean and we ate like pigs off the free breakfast every morning saving us a ton of money. My only complaintant would be this is a three story building with multiple rooms and they only had two luggage carts for the hotel so you may have to carry your bags up unless you want to fist fight someone for a cart. Oh, and one of them is falling apart so there may only be one cart now.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed-Holder1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I just stayed for three days and the location is great, within walking distance to downtown. Upon check in we went to our room, we noticed that the bathroom was handicap accessible but the tub had a huge crack in the bottom. My husband went to get the manager and he said they forgot to put down the rubber mat to cover the hole. I was shocked. Another thing, we had no shower curtain or doors or anything. Again we asked and were told that the room didn't have one because it too risky for people with handicaps, in case they fell and got caught in it. When we checked out after our three days, there was a $5 per day charge to park in the hotel lot! Not sure that I would stay there ever again. There was free breakfast everyday so that was good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

I am very sorry you did not enjoy stay with us. We are making changes and we hope that you consider us for a future stay.

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was great! Large and comfortable room (312), sofa bed, large flat screen TV, micro, refridgerator , coffee maker, and roomy bathroom. Some have noted it needs updating, but really it's fine. Very friendly staff too. Our room overlooked the street and some have balconies that lookout towards the fort. It does seem that some rooms on the second floor look out to a wall, but not positive. Breakfast was plentiful with egg patties, sausage, waffles, toast, muffins, yogurt, and cereal. Of course fruit, coffee, and juice. There is a small outdoor pool and small fitness room.
Very convenient to St. George Street shopping and Castillo de San Marcos Fort. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. We are so glad we took the chance and stayed here. We would definitely come here again.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Suetwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised at the size, cleanliness and comfort of our room. For the price, this can not be beat! It is very close to historical downtown and one of the trams is almost directly across the street. Several high quality restaurants are right nearby. So happy with everything here and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#39 of 78 in St. Augustine
712 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#23 of 78 in St. Augustine
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Address: 42 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $123 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full hotel renovation is now complete! Come enjoy our beautiful new rooms in our great location in the heart of downtown historic St. Augustine. Great summer rates are available, along with senior/AARP discounts. Walk to the many attractions St. Augustine offers, including Castillo de San Marcos. We're also a quick drive to Vilano Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Otel, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Hotel Saint Augustine
Downtown Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing