We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal and value for the $$$”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was very skeptical after reading other reviews. This place has been entirely refurnished. Everything was clean and new; rugs, furniture, etc. The hot breakfast was wonderful. The serving and eating were very clean and the food was freshened up frequently during breakfast time. The staff and service personnel were friendly with just a passing in the hallway. It was also just across the street from one of the trolley companies. I would definitely stay at this hotel again when visiting St. Augustine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Suites Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 426 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

After a greater than$200 night, my 92 year old mother suffered greatly at Comfort Suites Downtown St. Augustine. My mother was a wheelchair patient except for short distances. She couldn't fine the bathroom at night because the lights were out. We couldn't call the desk because the phones were dead. It was late when we finally were ready to go to bed after dinner, and my mother was too tired to get dressed and have me wheel her down to complain at the front desk. When we did complain the next day, the manager told us it was our fault for not coming to the lobby and asking for help the night before, couldn't help us with any partial refund or recognition of our problems, because it was our fault for not taking action sooner. Horrible experience.



  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Roxanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stay in historic St. Augustine pretty frequently, and have found a few hotels we prefer. This year, we had an improptu trip and had to go with Comfort Suites for availability purposes. The hotel is very average, and not terribly far from St. George( which is a definite perk). However, the traffic situation is less than desirable and makes the walk next to impossible with children or slower moving adults.
Cons:
Breakfast is a nightmare, too crowded, not enough food
Hair dryer in bathroom shocked
Toilet leaked
On our second night stay, an employee burnt toast and the fire alarm went off evacuating the entire hotel until the fire dept arrived (@ 5:58 a.m.) The hotel employees made no attempts to apologize, or even acknowledge the situation. When this issue or any other was brought up, the pat response was " thank you for letting us know".
There are so many other great places to stay in St. Augustine, we won't be making the same mistake twice!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merrevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed one night and walked to the Old Town area. The breakfast was good with hot choices. I did not like paying the $5.00 a night parking fee, but we did. I made a last minute reservation and was not aware of the parking fee till we checked in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryElizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located on a main route in and out of town. Staying here gets you close to the Old Town Trolley ticket office, tourist information center, and within walking distance to Old Town area. There are several restaurants and sandwich shops close also.
Suites are spacious but overall the rooms and furniture are starting to show signs of wear. Bathroom was large with an exhaust fan. For those of you that like a soft bed, this is the place for you. The mattress was a new pillow top variety. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked. Nothing out of the ordinary. The front desk folks were friendly and accommodating. Be prepared to pay $5.00 per night to park in their parking lot. Why can't they just add the parking fee into the over nite rate and be done with it? I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to a friend.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet on the back side of the hotel. The view is lacking but you wil not hear street noise...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Upgraded and newly renovated. Rooms are very spacious. Had a one room king suite that had a sitting area. Breakfast had hot choices. Walking distance of the historic area, approx 4-5 minute walk. Diagonally across from Old Town Trolley office. Small outdoor pool with hot tub and lounge chairs. No restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

As usual, this place was in the center of everything. Great value, great staff, superbly clean rooms, low noise! I always stay at a comfort and have yet to have a problem in probably 15 years! This one is especially close to resteraunts, shopping, etc. It is literally only a 2 minute drive to the shops at St. Augustine, and within walking distance to Ripleys, the Old jail, Etc. LOVE LOVE LOVE! Highly Recommend. Did I mention our king suite was only $99 a night! Can't beat that!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernbell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard32258, Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Comfort Suites.
We are currently changing our management team and we are making an effort to respond to all reviews.

We hope you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you stay with us in the future

Kind Regards

Comfort Suites Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
Casablanca Inn on the Bay
#38 of 78 in St. Augustine
712 reviews
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#24 of 78 in St. Augustine
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Address: 42 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-3275
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $120 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our full hotel renovation is now complete! Come enjoy our beautiful new rooms in our great location in the heart of downtown historic St. Augustine. Great summer rates are available, along with senior/AARP discounts. Walk to the many attractions St. Augustine offers, including Castillo de San Marcos. We're also a quick drive to Vilano Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Hotel Saint Augustine
Downtown Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing