We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the Inexpensive Motels on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regency Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Regency Inn & Suites
Ranked #48 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best of the Inexpensive Motels on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I live in Saint Augustine and my husband and I frequently get a room on the beach for a little vacation from our kids/house/pets. I always forget about this place as it is set back from the road. Super glad I remembered it this time!
The day female clerk was awesome. We arrived REALLY early at the beach, and she let us check in right away without batting an eyelash (unlike OTHER motels in that very area that will make you wait until 4, even if they have clean vacant rooms). She even went out of her way to go back, back, back in the computer to find my husband's name from visit about 7 years ago in order to give us a better rate as a previous guest (almost $15 less than the rate she quoted us on the phone that morning - and I didn't even ask her about a discount! Isn't that wonderful?)
The rooms are extremely clean, towels were whiter than white, bed was comfortable. TV, microwave, mini fridge, hair dryer, coffeemaker all supplied. Bathroom was HUGE! And clean! I checked, specifically for this review, every nook and cranny of the bathroom and it was spotless.
Indoor pool was great. Plenty of chairs and tables around, the water was the perfect temp (not too hot, not too cold). The ocean was pretty rough that day and it was high tide, so every hour or so of sunbathing we would run across the street and jump in the pool for ten minutes. Yes, the motel is across the street from the beach, but it takes but one minute to get across the street. The motel is set back from the road which is actually a plus - there is a bar/restaurant on one side (Panama Hatties), a Kangaroo convenience store in front, and they are building a new bar (Salt Life) on the other side of this motel, but being as it is set back it was pretty quiet all night long. Definitely convenient to have a convenience store steps away for a late night pint of Ben&Jerry's.
Night female clerk was not so nice, our key card didn't work at one point and she made a pretty unwarranted snippy comment to us as she re-keyed it on the computer. Oh well, we all have bad days, maybe? She was certainly no daytime female clerk! Property was extremely clean all around (walkways, parking lot, landscaping).
All in all this is definitely the best of the lower priced motels on the beach, I've been at them all. EVERY single other one I have seen bugs, but NOT THIS ONE - this was by far the cleanest and most well kept. We have a new spot for our stay-cations, it seems!

Room Tip: Stairs are located central to the building - if you have difficulty walking or a lot of luggage, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hppiefrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    145
    73
    26
    24
See reviews for
128
140
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Nothing bad can be said when considering locaton, cleanliness, & price, staff young Indian male, extremely, rude, mean. Everone else oK. The breakfast bar is very good. Indoor pool was fantastic on rainy day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry Hall, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

My 14 year old son and I traveled here June 6-9. I booked online, sight unseen. Was very excited when we saw the location. Short walk to St. Augustine Beach. Convenience store next door and plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. Staff was friendly and helpful, asked for and received extra pillows. First thing noticed when we entered the room was the outdated bedspread. Then the moldy smell. I realize that this is a coastal hotel and I am told by friends that is to be expected. The beds were adequate taking away the bedspreads. Overall the cleanliness was ok considering the age of the hotel. An effort had been made to update and refresh the exteriors and fixtures looked nice. We would consider coming back here only because of its location. Average rating based on location, location, location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegarygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you want to be close to the beach and aren't expecting luxury, then this hotel is perfect. It is located just across the road from the beach, within walking distance of a service station and several restaurants, and just a couple miles from historic St. Augustine.

True, the beds are hard, pillows suck, breakfast is sparse, and the indoor bathtub (woops, "pool") is a joke. But it's clean, well-maintained, the staff is helpful and pleasant, and it has everything you need: microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, tv, table, and hairdryer.

For the excellent price, you really couldn't ask for much more. So bring your own pillows & blankets and enjoy St. Augustine.

We were there 4 nights and were happy with our stay, and we'll stay there next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Fl
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We took 10 children to St. Augustine for an overnight trip. We loved this place because it has rooms with three double beds in it, which was perfect for our needs. The rooms were very clean, if a bit old. The location was awesome. Walk right across to the beach access and pier. But the best part was the staff - they went out of their way to accommodate our every need! The kids loved the indoor pool and we were happy to have the light breakfast provided so as not to have to drag them all to a restaurant for another meal. The price can't be beat for being so close to the ocean. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Principal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this hotel on line and saw that it was a two star hotel. I truly believe that this hotel is not two stars, the room had a moldy smell, bed was hard and the pillows cheap, the staff were less than pleasant. Anyway, I will stay at one of the other hotels in the area when I return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had booked the room here because of a lack of other choices when I was going here. I only needed one night before checking in at our bed and breakfast the next day. It was a surprise trip and staying here for the first night definately made her appreciate the rest of our stay. There was what looked like blood on the carpet and she still jokes about the crime scene room we stayed in. The location was nice as we did walk to a restaurant and met some nice locals at the beach we ended up swimming with and had a good time. I would be hard pressed to stay here again, but would in a pinch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingDanTheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.1 mi away
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
Super 8 St. Augustine Beach
#10 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.6 mi away
St Augustine Island Inn
St Augustine Island Inn
#47 of 79 in Saint Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach Inn
BEST WESTERN St. Augustine Beach...
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hampton Inn St. Augustine Beach
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn & Suites

Property: Regency Inn & Suites
Address: 331 A1A Beach Blvd, Saint Augustine, FL 32080 (Formerly the Wellesley Inn And Suites)
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 79 Hotels in Saint Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Regency Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Inn And Suites
Regency Saint Augustine
Regency Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing