We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice experience with a few drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peace and Plenty Inn
Ranked #14 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at P&P over the 4th of July holiday weekend. This was our second time staying at a B&B, the first time being in Savannah in June, and perhaps that experience tainted this one a bit for us. It's hard to measure up to the B&B's in Savannah, GA.

Pros: Clean, comfortable room. Quiet atmosphere. Free Wi-Fi, soft drinks, wine & water. Nice location on an uncluttered street, yet still close enough to the historic part of town to walk comfortably. The Innkeeper, Glenna, was very pleasant and made us a reservation for dinner and recommendations for places to avoid and places not to be missed. We found the price to very fair for a B&B.

Cons: The bed could use replacing. The mattress sagged a bit in the middle and there was no headboard. With the bed being placed in front of a window the pillows tended to slide off the end. The air conditioning unit was located in the bathroom and aimed toward the shower, which meant that you froze to death while getting dressed if you wanted to keep the sleeping/tv watching part of the suite comfortable. The breakfast...sigh. Admittedly our stay in Savannah a month ago set the bar high for a B&B breakfast. At P&P we were served crepes with a cream cheese filling topped with whipped cream and a blueberry syrup. The side items were a small stack of fresh fruit and two rubbery turkey sausage that looked very unappealing on the plate. This was a VERY sweet breakfast, to say the least. Needless to say the next morning we opted to skip their offering and found the nearest Cracker Barrel.

Would we return? Maybe. Would I recommend? Yes, with the above caveats.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Southerngirlwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 704 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Amazing and beautiful inn, very cozy and relaxing rooms, wonderful breakfast service and amenities. Staff was pleasant and always helpful. I would deffinatley recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Szamlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I was very please that they accommodated our stay for one night when most inn wouldnt do it for one night. it was our 3 years anniversary, and we just want to take a nice long ride up to the coast and just take a break from everything and our busy work just spend some quite time and relax. Peace and Plenty was willing let us book for one night. We were very grateful that they let us when I was about to give up and getting frustrated. I was very please when we got there how quite it was when we stayed in the coach house and the garden was so relaxing. The food was so good. They was so good to us. Peace and Plenty was also clean, charming, and friendly. We will go back again this fall, and this time stay for the whole weekend.

Room Tip: Stay on the main floor in the coach house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stay a few days every year for our anniversary. Each room is unique. Always a memorable event. Friendly staff and owner. Friendly guests, mix very easily. Great food and service. Home cooked breakfast each morning. After dinner drinks and desserts. Water, beer, and soda available at all hours. Close to Historic District and eating establishments.

Room Tip: They are all great. Just pick floor or location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in the Peace & Plenty Inn as our first Bed & Breakfast experience.

We were warmly greeted at the front door upon arrival and given a quick tour of the common areas and then taken to our room where Glenna gave us a map of the area and explained a little about some of the places and offered to make any dinner reservations etc. should we need them!

We stayed in room 7, the Happiness Spa Suite which was located behind the main house in the Carriage House. We couldn't have been more pleased with the room! The pictures on the website of the room are lovely, but the room was SO much more beautiful in person! It is SO clean and modern and very quiet with it's own exterior entrance, which we found we liked the best since we tend to stay out a little later than most people do! But the entrance to the room was still inside the B&B's courtyard area, which was also beautiful and serene.

The courtyard area featured several seating areas, all equipped with very attractive outdoor furnishings that looked like they were brand new. There was also a gas fire pit under the pergola, there was an adorable little greenhouse and two huge fountains that were very so calming to sit and listen to!

Complimentary soda, beer and wine are available at all times, which we so appreciated! Then cakes, sherry and port are served every evening at 6pm. We couldn't get over how delicious all of the goodies were! The coconut and carrot cakes were our favorite. We also had never had port or sherry and were a little intimidated at first, but came to realize we love port!

Breakfast was also phenomenal each morning! We got to enjoy fresh fruit, quiche, strawberry waffles, eggs benedict and the most delicious turkey sausage we'd ever had. They also had some very unique fruit juice blends that were excellent!

The staff was very pleasant and did a great job of providing us with everything we needed! We even accidentally locked ourselves out one morning but were back in immediately after Glenna gave us a spare! Glenna, the innkeeper, was genuinely warm and pleasant. She made herself easily available but was not a nuisance. (We didn't expect her to come tuck us in at night, as I fear some other reviewers may have desired?) She greeted us by name each morning at breakfast and asked us how we were and we would pass by her a few other times throughout the day as we were coming and going. We enjoyed a nice conversation and a good farewell as we left at the end of our stay and were made to feel as though we were family.

Soon after leaving, I even received a call from Glenna that I had left a piece of jewelry and she mailed it back to me right away!

But most of all, the location of the Peace and Plenty Inn was perfect. It was located right in the historic district, just a few minutes walk from many of the sites and attractions and a block or so away from one of the Red Train stops, which was how we did most of our traveling in St. Augustine. The Peace and Plenty is right next door to a few other bed and breakfasts but I genuinely think the Peace and Plenty was the nicest looking (and had better parking!)

For the price, this place is unbeatable! We will probably never stay in a hotel again, we are now B&B fans!

Room Tip: Rooms in the carriage house are more modern, rooms in the main house are more traditional and histor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank unhipdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This B&B owner, Glenda, is a very gracious and courteous lady. She has thought of every amenity that anyone would possibly need. The room was very clean, very comfortable, and well appointed. From pewter wine goblets in the room and a fireplace, to a spa tub with dual shower heads, nothing was overlooked in terms of guest comfort. The parlor and it's late afternoon offerings was delightful with port and yummy desserts The location is perfect for a late night stroll to dinner ... or the chocolate factory !! Breakfast was delicious, ample, and well presented. For me, this was the best B&B I've stayed at in a very very long time and I would HIGHLY recommend it to St. Augustine travelers. Golfers -- don't miss the World of Golf Hall of Fame, just 26 easy to drive miles away .. When back in St. Augustine, I will definitely spend time at this B&B

Room Tip: The Tranquility Room has the pleasant use of the full balcony across the front of the B&B, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 674dianed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a wonderful mini-vacation for my son and I! Glenna was the perfect hostess, and I was shocked that our room (Rhapsody #6) was priced at such a reasonable rate. The room is very tastefully decorated, and the kitchen came complete with everything you could need to cook yourself a meal (minus the food). It even had a wonderful tea set! The dessert laid out for the evening was gorgeously displayed. They offered sherry and port alongside three assortments of cakes, and everything was pleasing to the eye and palate. I love the added touch of offering water from the Fountain of Youth throughout the day and sipped a glass while enjoying the wonderful garden area. The breakfast was fantastic, and the décor reminded me of an English tea room (beautiful). We were lucky to share breakfast space with some young and fun couples, and we all took turns sharing our plans for the day or where to go and what to see. Would highly recommend, can't say enough good about the place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank wherethereslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#11 of 30 in St. Augustine
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 30 in St. Augustine
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Penny Farthing Inn
Penny Farthing Inn
#12 of 30 in St. Augustine
668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 30 in St. Augustine
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace and Plenty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Address: 87 Cedar Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $174 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is located in the very heart of the historic district and steps away from three of the most important landmarks in St. Augustine FL: the Alcazar Hotel, circa 1880 (now the Lightner Museum), the Ponce de Leon Hotel, circa 1888 (now Flagler College), and the Hotel Cordova, circa 1887 (now the Casa Monica Hotel). A two block stroll will take you to the Ancient City's center and Plaza de la Constitution. Retreat into our quiet neighborhood or walk downtown and bask in the city's vibrant nightlife. Guests enjoy the best of both worlds without sacrificing ease of access for quiet repose. Our lovely walled garden is the ultimate in romance. It features fountains and a cozy pergola with propane fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing