We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peace and Plenty Inn
Ranked #14 of 30 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay in St Augustine. We spent two nights here on our arrival in Florida on my birthday in April. As with other reviewers I always check out trip advisor when planning a holiday and this inn had good reviews. We have been now and can say it's rating is a definate 100% for us.
We received a warm welcome from Glenna on our arrival and she showed us around and to our room. The pictures we had seen of the room were good but when we walked through the door it was more like fantastic.
We stayed in Prosperity, beautiful furniture, enormous bed and very comfortable along with a spa bathtub.
Breakfasts were exceptional, not at all like we have in the UK and it made a lovely change. It was nice getting up earlier in the morning grabbing a cup of coffee and sitting the relaxing garden out back, so peaceful and a great way to start the day.
Returning to the Inn in the evening was made extra special with the homemade cakes laid out in the parlour along with complimentary sherry and port. This is a perfect spot to sit, relax and offers the chance to chat to some of the other guests.
Glenna has a wonderful eye for detail and it is clearly shown in the way this Inn is presented, lots of extra touches right down to Hershey chocolates at the door to your room.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here at Peace and Plenty and would definately choose this place if we ever get to St Augustine again.
Thank you to Glenna and her staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joolybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 704 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We use trip advisor a lot when booking accommodation and this particular properly stood out to use due to its phenomenal rating. Having stayed here ourselves now we can back its top rating by 100%.
Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the owner. We received a full orientation including a cozy area outside we could sit and light a gas heater, drawing room with complimentary beautiful homemade cakes (brownies and carrot cake were delicious) and a variety of sherries. Another lovely touch was a chilled water dispenser full of water from the Fountain Of Youth. The room was tastefully decorated. It was clean and well maintained. My only 2 little criticisms here were that the hairdryer was broken and I found the room quite cool (although my husband didn't) the air was centrally controlled so this could not be changed. Breakfast was lovely and provided a great choice. The majority of the offerings were homemade. Everything about this b&b was charming and well thought out with the customers needs in mind. Thank you all for a great stay. We will be recommending you to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mh8748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 1 year anniversary at our favorite Inn in St. Augustine, Peace & Plenty. Our suite was cozy, comfortable, and romantic. We also enjoyed the breakfast and morning chats with fellow guests. Glenna is the best hostess and helped recommend and set up dinner reservations at the restaurant at Old City House Inn (I also highly recommend). My husband and I enjoyed a glass of wine and dessert which was available each night in the Inns family sitting area by the fire place. Although we were in St. Augustine during an unusually cold and rainy April weekend, Peace and Plenty provided the history, charm, warmth and romance my husband and I were seeking on our 1st Anniversary. We didn't even need to leave the Inn! Without hesitation we plan to go back next year. Thank you to Glenna and staff for making our trip so special.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Happiness Spa Suite, I think it was called. Lovely room. We really enjoyed the room decor, the 2 person shower, and the jacuzzi tub to relax in after a few long days out and about. The B&B itself is in a wonderful location with easy accessibility to all of the sites in St Augustine that one would want to visit. Just park your car and get walking. Neither of us had breakfast during our stay as we were either out too early or slept in too late to enjoy. That would really be my only suggestion for improvement, to increase the length of time that breakfast is served. Currently breakfast is only offered from 9am-10am. At other B&B's that we have stayed at, breakfast would extend for a few hours so that guests could flow through at their leisure. That being said though, coffee was available by 6am and was quite tasty and the stocked fridge and nightly sweets until 10pm are very thoughtful inclusions, which we did enjoy. The B&B grounds are beautifully decorated and the in-keeper is very sweet and accommodating. We will certainly return the next time we're looking for a weekend get-away in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for our 10th anniversary. It was exactly what we were looking for! Soooo affordable for everything that was offered. We stayed in the Serenity Suite for two nights. It was large and comfortable. Wonderful breakfasts and snacks in the evening. Soda, beer, and wine available whenever you want it. Even had "Fountain of Youth" water to try! Beautiful, quiet garden areas. Everything is within walking distance. The inn really lived up to it's name for us!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenfer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I'm torn as to exactly how much praise I should give this place. Although worthy of the best review possible, I'm afraid they will be unavailable and booked up if everyone stumbles upon this review. I had done alot of research and read alot of reviews before choosing this B&B. Let's just say, I haven't stayed anywhere else since. Glenna is very attentive to your needs and very accomodating. The breakfast is always superb. The rooms.....perfect!! Prices....reasonable and very much worth it!! We live about 1 1/2 hours away and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else while visiting St. Augustine. The location is ideal as you can walk to just about anywhere in just a few minutes. We love the place so much, i intentionally leave a piece of my luggage each time so that I can return ;)'

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingDanTheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a cute victorian house on a small partially industrial street within walking distance of the major tourist area of St. Augustine. The "suite" was just a some what cramped room with a small extra space by the door that fit a small cast iron outdoor bistro set and was the only sitting space other than the toilet. This was the last night of a 7 day vacation in Savannah & Orlando where we encountered super friendly staff everywhere we went so we were very surprised to receive a very cold and non responsive interaction with the inn keeper here. At one point we could clearly hear her speaking to other staff in the kitchen about how much she hated people from California (where she had lived) and the way they were "in your face rude", then she walked out to greet a young caucasian couple with a huge smile on her face and kind words of greeting, we were stunned and could not believe what we were seeing! Not once did she smile or say one kind word to us, even while she recommended restaurants for Dinner (after we asked) or when she greeted us at the front door. The Cheese Crepes and Turkey Sausage in the morning was tasty but delivered in the same cold manner with no smile or morning greeting at all. We travel the world and have been exposed to people of all cultures and walks of life so we are comfortable and enjoy having conversations with just about anyone when we feel like it is welcome and appreciated, this woman was anything but welcoming or conversational. We would never stay here again or suggest this B&B to anyone we know.

Room Tip: the 2nd flr "Suite" is actually much smaller than it appears in pics and a cast iron outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peaceandplentyinn, Owner at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Context is everything in conversations. The topic of the overheard remarks was very narrow. It was the customer service techniques practiced by the Department of Motor Vehicles in the Bay Area of California in 1972. Car registration was very unpleasant.
Travel is a wonderful opportunity for growth. Rushes to judgement impede that opportunity.
The Peace and Plenty Inn is owned by a 9th generation California family. We crossed the plains by ox team in 1863, mined for silver, built the Oroville dam and restored Victorians in San Francisco. We love the State and its people and are proud of our contribution to both. (As an interesting aside, no one in the family worked for the car registration department of the Bay Area DMV in 1972)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#11 of 30 in St. Augustine
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Francis Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
44 Spanish Street Inn
44 Spanish Street Inn
#5 of 30 in St. Augustine
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Westcott House Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Penny Farthing Inn
Penny Farthing Inn
#13 of 30 in St. Augustine
668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
Casa de Suenos Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 30 in St. Augustine
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace and Plenty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Address: 87 Cedar Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range: $174 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is located in the very heart of the historic district and steps away from three of the most important landmarks in St. Augustine FL: the Alcazar Hotel, circa 1880 (now the Lightner Museum), the Ponce de Leon Hotel, circa 1888 (now Flagler College), and the Hotel Cordova, circa 1887 (now the Casa Monica Hotel). A two block stroll will take you to the Ancient City's center and Plaza de la Constitution. Retreat into our quiet neighborhood or walk downtown and bask in the city's vibrant nightlife. Guests enjoy the best of both worlds without sacrificing ease of access for quiet repose. Our lovely walled garden is the ultimate in romance. It features fountains and a cozy pergola with propane fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing