We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute House, Comfy Bed, Clean Bathroom, COLD STAFF.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peace and Plenty Inn
Ranked #14 of 31 St. Augustine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cute House, Comfy Bed, Clean Bathroom, COLD STAFF.”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a cute victorian house on a small partially industrial street within walking distance of the major tourist area of St. Augustine. The "suite" was just a some what cramped room with a small extra space by the door that fit a small cast iron outdoor bistro set and was the only sitting space other than the toilet. This was the last night of a 7 day vacation in Savannah & Orlando where we encountered super friendly staff everywhere we went so we were very surprised to receive a very cold and non responsive interaction with the inn keeper here. At one point we could clearly hear her speaking to other staff in the kitchen about how much she hated people from California (where she had lived) and the way they were "in your face rude", then she walked out to greet a young caucasian couple with a huge smile on her face and kind words of greeting, we were stunned and could not believe what we were seeing! Not once did she smile or say one kind word to us, even while she recommended restaurants for Dinner (after we asked) or when she greeted us at the front door. The Cheese Crepes and Turkey Sausage in the morning was tasty but delivered in the same cold manner with no smile or morning greeting at all. We travel the world and have been exposed to people of all cultures and walks of life so we are comfortable and enjoy having conversations with just about anyone when we feel like it is welcome and appreciated, this woman was anything but welcoming or conversational. We would never stay here again or suggest this B&B to anyone we know.

Room Tip: the 2nd flr "Suite" is actually much smaller than it appears in pics and a cast iron outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peaceandplentyinn, Owner at Peace and Plenty Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Context is everything in conversations. The topic of the overheard remarks was very narrow. It was the customer service techniques practiced by the Department of Motor Vehicles in the Bay Area of California in 1972. Car registration was very unpleasant.
Travel is a wonderful opportunity for growth. Rushes to judgement impede that opportunity.
The Peace and Plenty Inn is owned by a 9th generation California family. We crossed the plains by ox team in 1863, mined for silver, built the Oroville dam and restored Victorians in San Francisco. We love the State and its people and are proud of our contribution to both. (As an interesting aside, no one in the family worked for the car registration department of the Bay Area DMV in 1972)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    88
    18
    9
    7
See reviews for
46
514
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

There are not enough good words to say about this charming bed and breakfast. Our inn keeper Glenna went out of her in so many little ways to make it a special two days. We went for our 53 anniversary and my husband's 77 birthday. The first morning at breakfast she had a little cordial glass filled with Hershey Kisses and a candle and everyone in the room sang Happy Birthday to him that was just the start of a great stay. The weather did not co-operate with us and a few things had to be canceled but, she found us the local movie house and printed us up directions so it was not a complete rain out. She told us of several great places to eat at. The Inn is in walking distance of the heart of St. Augustine. The breakfast are to die for. Love having free wine beer and pop to drink nice added touch. Will Return soon. We had the room with a private entrance to the gardens. Sorry it rained would have loved to sit out there.

Room Tip: Loved our room with the private entrance to the gardens. Learn to save room for the wonderful evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We only stay at bnb's that serve breakfast... not a continental breakfast. No matter what the reviews, we do not stay if they do not serve a breakfast. This breakfast was cheesecake crepes with turkey sausage....very nice. Also, plenty of cereal, coffee cake, etc. Coffee was ready at 6:30 am...this is a plus because we are early risers. I wish breakfast would have been served earlier than 9 am...no other time was offered.. The innkeeper was very informative of the area, and made excellent dinner recommendations...collage restaurant (see my review). The room was nice, plenty of amenities. I just wish the bed would have been better....maybe just add a topper. If I were running a bnb, I would concentrate my efforts on having a great bed and a gourmet breakfast...hence bnb.

Room Tip: Location was perfect...walking distance to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grayceey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent stay. A beautiful inn, inside and out. Very kind & helpful staff. I really hate that the weather did not cooperate so we could take advantage of the outdoor space. Love having available beer, wine, and soft drinks. The carrot cake served in the afternoon was some of the best I've ever had. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttercreamHahira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 days, upstairs in a large suite. This is our third time staying here. We have been vacationing in St Augustine for 10 years. Glenna is a gracious hostess. What we love about this place: parking on site, clean room, nice house, great breakfast, dessert. port. sherry at night, within walking distance of everything, a few minutes to the water, quiet street, children are welcomed in the Carriage House, ice machine, free coke products, wine, bottled water, and beer all day, There is not one bad thing I can say about this place, the prices are Excellent for St Augustine...We will be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

When I first arrived at this B&B, I almost panicked, thinking it could not possibly cost as little as I was paying ($109.). We arrived around 9 p.m. and found our bedroom to be lovely; the decor was charming and included an electric fireplace, a four-poster bed, and a small entrance area with a table and chairs. Having had no dinner, I was so grateful for the cakes set out in the front room for guests: three cakes, plus port, sherry, and (in the fridge) wine, beer, and soda! All delicious! The whirlpool tub in the bathroom was also much appreciated after a long day of riding in the car from NOLA. The bed was very comfortable, and the location was fantastic for visiting historic St. Augustine. Our breakfast was cream cheese crepes with blueberry sauce, accompanied by some fresh fruit, all very nicely presented in a quiet dining room, with great coffee and juice available, also. Anyone who does not appreciate this place must be impossible to please.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon through Sunday through Thursday for our honeymoon in March 2013. The innkeeper, Glenna, was very nice and showed us around as soon as we arrived. We had a beautiful room on the second floor with a balcony overlooking Cedar Street. It really was very peaceful. Within walking distance of the historic district but far enough away we didn't have to worry about crowds or noise. Delicious breakfasts in the morning and cakes, other sweets, port and sherry in the evening. We already are planning our next trip to St. Augustine and hope to stay here again!

Room Tip: For a great balcony chose the "Tranquility" Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmberLynnRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#11 of 78 in St. Augustine
613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victorian House
Victorian House
#12 of 31 in St. Augustine
500 reviews
0.0 mi away
At Journey's End Bed & Breakfast
At Journey's End Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 31 in St. Augustine
960 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agustin Inn
Agustin Inn
#10 of 31 in St. Augustine
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace and Plenty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Property: Peace and Plenty Inn
Address: 87 Cedar Street, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is located in the very heart of the historic district and steps away from three of the most important landmarks in St. Augustine FL: the Alcazar Hotel, circa 1880 (now the Lightner Museum), the Ponce de Leon Hotel, circa 1888 (now Flagler College), and the Hotel Cordova, circa 1887 (now the Casa Monica Hotel). A two block stroll will take you to the Ancient City's center and Plaza de la Constitution. Retreat into our quiet neighborhood or walk downtown and bask in the city's vibrant nightlife. Guests enjoy the best of both worlds without sacrificing ease of access for quiet repose. Our lovely walled garden is the ultimate in romance. It features fountains and a cozy pergola with propane fire pit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing