We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Outdoor Lunch”

Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille
Ranked #28 of 584 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Harry's Seafood Bar & Grille is known for Good Food and Good Times and All the Flavor of New Orleans. You will experience a "Taste of New Orleans" from the time you walk in the door until the time you leave. Harry's Seafood Bar & Grille has the finest authentic New Orleans-style seafood, grilled steaks, chicken, pasta and more.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Lunch”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I had an excellent relaxing lunch outdoors in the patio/garden. Our seafood was cooked to perfection with excellent Cajun seasonings. We will definately go back on our next trip St. Augustine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissMuffet63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,513
    1,145
    402
    151
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Redfish with a New Orleans twist”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

It was a chilly evening, so we opted not to eat in the courtyard, but upstairs with a great view. Our waiter, Alex, was friendly, professional, knowledgable and attentive to our table. We started with the gumbo- which was great, and moved on to the crab crusted redfish royale. We live in Fla., but don't often find redfish on the menu. The redfish sat atop mashed potatoes and a corn/veg mixture topped with a spicy creole sauce. On top of the redfish was a large crab cake! Wonderful, and cooked perfectly While we dined, we felt as if we were back in New Orleans with the jazz playing in the background. It was my husband's birthday so we finished the meal with the chocolate bread pudding with lit candles. Truely a memorable evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rlumenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
248 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Wonderful entertainment and menu.”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The music, the night we were there, was outstanding. One person, a guitar, nice voice and lyrics everyone could hum to. Had the Red Fish special which was interesting to say the least, the fondue appetizer was almost to much to eat. The other dish we had was the trout special which was glorious. All in all, a very nice evening on a beautiful night.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank undertaker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This May Be a Chain, But the Food is GREAT”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was the second time we dined at Harry's, and we were wowed by the food both times. Hard to believe this is a chain. Excellent seafood - New Orleans style. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
190 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“They need a better system”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We wanted to have an early dinner outside while it was nice out. We were told it was a 35 minute wait. An hour later we still hadn’t been seated. As our table was finally ready, the clouds were rolling in. They don’t have a contingency plan & if it rains you can get wet or wait to get a table inside. They already had a ½ hour wait for inside & explained that we’d be at the back of the line. At my disapproving scowl, the hostess offered us an immediate high-top upstairs which we presumably could have had upon entering because that section was never full while we were at the upstairs bar. Shortly after we were seated, the skies opened up so we made the better choice.

However it took over an hour to get our food after we were seated. Honestly that’s ridiculous. Given the number of empty tables, the tables with the previous diners’ meal on them which just sat there, it was abundantly clear to me they need more staff or at least more bus people. Empty tables lose the house money & engender annoyance in the face of a wait at the door. On a Tuesday, maybe I can understand if the restaurant gets an unexpected rush but this was Saturday night dinner.

Fortunately the food was worth the wait. Everything was cooked to order & delicious. My jambalaya portion was so large that when I added some of a companion’s plain white rise to soften the spices, I ended up with lunch for 2 more days. I really loved the herb butter served with the bread but the bread itself was too soft for my liking; I prefer something a bit crustier but if you are eating something with a sauce, it’s probably the perfect “mop”.

Fair warning, although the upstairs’ ladies room is large & genteel, there’s too much wasted space, with only two stalls. The fact that one was out of order and taped shut didn’t help. Perhaps if they could get more efficient at turning over the tables they could afford to fix the bathroom.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dalm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing