We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view!”

The Reef Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Reef Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 596 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Eat and drink like a local! Come enjoy St. Augustine's most spectacular Happy Hour. Discounted drinks and appetizers right on the ocean!
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

A bit on the expensive side for the portions served. Maybe the American expectations, but I am sure my husband and friend would have left hungry had we not ordered appetizers. Wonderful flavor to all the dishes. Stuffed mushrooms were wonderful. Fried green tomatoes a bit greasy. Seafood chowder was spicy with lots of seafood. Lobster and shrimp risotto, fantastic! Shrimp imperial, delicious. Scallops, extremely tasty. Brownie was OK, had to ask for ice cream. Orange cheese cake, tasted like a creamsicle. Only wish the weather was better, so we could have ate outside. Service was very nice, attentive, knowledgable and friendly. We will be back!

Thank Mags B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Thank you for your review...Please keep in mind we have an award winning all you can eat Sunday Brunch that I can assure you will not disappoint.

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
There are newer reviews for The Reef Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

535 - 539 of 977 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have eaten lunch and dinner here a few times over the years, but when we tried the Sunday Brunch, we were HOOKED!! We go to the Reef at least twice a year for special occasions. This year we are looking forward to spending our anniversary of 40 years on September 21st enjoying it again! The food is always fresh and to the temperature it should be. Eggs benedict are the best I have ever had and I could go on and on about the entrees, salads, eggs to order, soup, cheeses, seafood and desert and more. So if you ever get the opportunity to go to the Sunday Brunch, please do!!! I highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iluvdogsdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Thank you for your support and we look forward to seeing you on your anniversary.

Warmly,

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Good food, great atmosphere... But for the price, a brunch buffet better have sparkling clean dishes... Instead this place have dirt on every other plate. This place is expensive, and for that cost, I do not want to even know the servers are there. Pick up the dirty plate, but don't interrupts family discussion, it's just plain rude.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rob96912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

I apologize for the server being a bit consistent.
We will be a more careful with the plates, I do appreciate the business and will address these issues.

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

If you live on the Prairies, this is the place to experience if you want a view of the Atlantic Ocean!
The service and food was excellent. Fresh seafood along with a view of the Ocean from the inside was great. Threats of a rain storm made sitting outside not possible. Yes , I would recommend this restaurant to others. Beautiful drive along the Coastal Rd (A1A) from St.Augustine or from Jacksonville.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Hello,
The beach is an added treat...The food and service we do our best.

Thank you
Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I take out-of-town friends and family to this restaurant frequently. It's one of the few restaurants where you can sit and enjoy a quiet beach view. If money is an issue, I suggest going at lunch. The dinner menu can be a little more pricey. But the food is great and the atmosphere is even better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Thank you for the continued support it is guests like you that keep us going.

Always
Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reef Restaurant also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to The Reef Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing