We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't invite the server to dinner”

The Reef Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Reef Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 584 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Eat and drink like a local! Come enjoy St. Augustine's most spectacular Happy Hour. Discounted drinks and appetizers right on the ocean!
st augustine, fl
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We didn't invite the server to dinner”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Good food, great atmosphere... But for the price, a brunch buffet better have sparkling clean dishes... Instead this place have dirt on every other plate. This place is expensive, and for that cost, I do not want to even know the servers are there. Pick up the dirty plate, but don't interrupts family discussion, it's just plain rude.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rob96912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
I apologize for the server being a bit consistent.
We will be a more careful with the plates, I do appreciate the business and will address these issues.

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    231
    111
    72
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermette
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent meal with a beautiful view !”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

If you live on the Prairies, this is the place to experience if you want a view of the Atlantic Ocean!
The service and food was excellent. Fresh seafood along with a view of the Ocean from the inside was great. Threats of a rain storm made sitting outside not possible. Yes , I would recommend this restaurant to others. Beautiful drive along the Coastal Rd (A1A) from St.Augustine or from Jacksonville.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Hello,
The beach is an added treat...The food and service we do our best.

Thank you
Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for lunch and dinner”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I take out-of-town friends and family to this restaurant frequently. It's one of the few restaurants where you can sit and enjoy a quiet beach view. If money is an issue, I suggest going at lunch. The dinner menu can be a little more pricey. But the food is great and the atmosphere is even better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Thank you for the continued support it is guests like you that keep us going.

Always
Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic Restaurant”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Superb place for a romantic diner.
Excellent food, ocean view, right to the beach.
I AM COMING AGAIN :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
We look forward to it.

See you again soon

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“too much attitude”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stopped in on a very unbusy July 4 for a glass of wine, yet the bartender seemed to treat us as if she had a lot to do before she got to us. We did sample some white wine, but by the time we chose one, frankly, I was not in the mood to drink. I felt we were just to much trouble for this lady. We left.
In all fairness, the manager on duty was very lovely when I told her we were leaving. I hope she imparted her sense of professionalism in customer service to the bartender on duty. Because had we felt like valued customers we might have stayed despite the overvalued chardonnay.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stella518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
So sorry to hear of this mishap...I assure you we do not operate in this manner and hope for a return visit and a second chance.

Sincerely

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reef Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to The Reef Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing