We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise!”

The Reef Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Reef Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 583 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Eat and drink like a local! Come enjoy St. Augustine's most spectacular Happy Hour. Discounted drinks and appetizers right on the ocean!
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I'll be honest, after reading the reviews, I was prepared for a terrible meal that was under portioned and over priced. Instead, we were seated at a window table with a beautiful view of the ocean and our waiter was attentive and friendly. We arrived prior to 7pm so we received happy hour prices for apps and drinks. We ordered Calamari & fried green tomatoes, both apps were perfectly cooked. All 3 of us ordered the prime rib each of us requested different temps. We ordered medium, medium well and medium rare. All came out perfect and delicious. We ended the evening by sitting on their deck which has direct access to the beach. Yes the prices are high but its a beautiful, romantic setting with good food so I will go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel' s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Good afternoon,
Great to hear you had given us a try regardless of your expectations.
We look forward to a return visit.

Always,

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    228
    109
    70
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Overpriced for amount of food. They should not put an s on item when they only serve one. Combo had four small shrimp, 1 scallop and 1 piece of fish for $24.

Helpful?
1 Thank kaci d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Greetings,
This troubles me to hear you did not enjoy your dinner with us here at The Reef as we are always looking for our guests to leave feeling satisfied.
I assure you if something was supposed to be more than one on our menu we will absolutely fix this as I am sure this was a misprint.

In hopes of another chance,

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogart, Georgia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and view, good service and flavorful food.”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This place was recommended to us by a local. It's a little far out but is located right on the beach with a lot of window seating for great views. The atmosphere inside is quiet, white tablecloth type but the prices are very reasonable. My wife had fried shrimp, good sized and not full of fried batter, just a light crust. I had the Portuguese Mahi-Mahi which has the fish covered with a tomato-based sauce that had olives, onion and bell pepper in it and it was quite good. Sides were green beans and rice pilaf but they have potatoes/French fries too. Servers were helpful and efficient. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank texdawg89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed your visit.
Please join us again soon.

Warmly,.
Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I Don't Get It!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

How many restaurants on the water in Florida are capable of serving crappy seafood. Many, including Reef Restaurant.

Get the steak and avoid the seafood. The view might make it worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello,
I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your seafood as we do take this type of review seriously.
We would love to hear the details as this is always a learning experience.

Always,
Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful views beautiful Sunday brunch!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We visited here on a Sunday after church for Brunch. We came early and were seated promptly. We were immediately greeted by out waiter with Mimosas which were consistently refilled. They offered everything one could ask for fresh seafood prime rib and pastries. It was beautifully done and pristine. We ate out every night on our vacation and didn't have a single bad experience but this place was by far the best of them all!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniewest72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for visiting us while in St Augustine.
We are in hopes of seeing you again soon.

Warmly,
Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reef Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to The Reef Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing