We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service”

The Reef Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Reef Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 589 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Eat and drink like a local! Come enjoy St. Augustine's most spectacular Happy Hour. Discounted drinks and appetizers right on the ocean!
Fleming Island, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Service”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had dinner on Jan 24, 2014. The view was awesome & food delicious. What really stood out for me was the service. We had Laura. She was polite, friendly & knowledgeable. I really appreciated how she paid attention to my 7 year old daughter & did little things to make her happy (brought a little cup of cheese for her pasta & chocolates at the end of the meal). Also loved the live music in the bar area. Will definitely return again, & request Laura!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Greetings,
So pleased to hear of another happy guest.
We take pleasure in serving guests of all ages..A happy child is a happy parent.

Always,

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    232
    111
    73
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

What can I say...We are staying across the street at North Beach Camp Resort and decided to check out Reef's. This place was excellent. We had appetizers ranging from fried green tomatoes, coconut shrimp, spinach artichoke dip and salad. All very good. The view was spectacular and Erin our bartender/server was pleasant,knowledgeable of local things to do and had an awesome personality..We definitely will return before we leave on Saturday.…Thank you Erin for making our hour there HAPPY..LOVE Reefs

Helpful?
1 Thank dmichael7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your kind words as this makes it all worth while.

Hope to see you back real soon.

Warmly,

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointing brunch”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

After having some wonderful Sunday brunch's at The Reef, Sunday Jan.27th will be my last .
The food was cold , they did not refill the stations. Some of the entrees were not edible. The Baked Salmon was not cooked properly .The roast beef was overcooked and therefore was tasteless and tough.
The salad bar looked like an elephant had run thru it .I was told to scrape the bottoms of the dressing containers so that I could get what was left at the bottoms.
The manager tried her best to see that things got better. The excuse to us was that they had parties of 60, 30, & 30, besides the regular customers,. They could not keep up with food consumption and because of this , most of the stations were empty and quite messy.
I had brought out of town guests and was very embarrassed as this was a special occasion for us.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank babalusisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Good Afternoon,
Sorry to hear of your less than pleasant experience with us.
I am terribly disappointed to hear you will not be returning for another visit in the future as you know this is not how we operate on the regular.

I am in hopes of another chance as we were caught off guard with excessive business.

Warmly,

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Reef and A1A north are great representations of northeast Florida”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Ocean view table perfectly complimented a generous portion of wonderfully prepared and delicious sword fish. The whole wheat bread with molasses is the best bread accompaniment ever! Waitress Laura took great care of us throughout the entire meal.

Cathy W of Saint Joseph, MI

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your kind review..Our staff and location make what we do possible.

Warmly,

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere deep in Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice View, Good Service”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Lunched here after seeing parking lot filled in the evening. Service was good. Nice views. Fried green tomato appetizer was very good - crisp, fresh, and tasty. Conch fritter appetizer was overcooked, sorta burned actually. Datil chicken sandwich was sorta interesting because of the datil pepper, grouper and mahi-mahi sandwiches were unremarkable in any way by the three who had them. Dinner may be a lot better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneRussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hello,
This troubles me that your dining experience was not up to par.
We aim for perfection and assure you this is out of the norm.

In hopes of a return visit in the near future

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reef Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to The Reef Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing