We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“laid back lunch”

The Reef Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Reef Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #42 of 583 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Eat and drink like a local! Come enjoy St. Augustine's most spectacular Happy Hour. Discounted drinks and appetizers right on the ocean!
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“laid back lunch”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Always stop in for lunch when driving on A1A back home to central Florida after seeing friends at Jacksonville Beach. Great ocean front view and they have an outdoor deck if you are so inclined to use. I just sit back enjoy the view and have a great meal. This is one of the few places I have dessert with a cup of coffee to watch the waves break on the shore. Mostly adults and not too many kids to spoil the ambiance. Still a little bit of old Florida like in the 1950's when you had many restaurants on the beach front.The scenic drive is also worth the trip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Greetings,
Always a pleasure to hear of a guest sharing in our little slice of heaven.

Always,
Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    227
    109
    70
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
baton rouge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very nice outdoor seating, excellent waitstaff. They efficiently moved us indoors during shower.
Food was pretty good , just not excellent or superb. We would go back for the overall experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Good afternoon,
The view from inside during a storm is just as nice as outside with the sun shining sometimes.
Would love to hear your thoughts as there is always room to improve.

Warmly,

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEVERLY HILLS
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stop at the Reef Restaurant… Friendly service, great appetizers and a really great view overlooking the Atlantic Ocean; well worth a visit.
We tried their Fried Green Tomatoes, Tempura Battered Artichokes and Spinach and Artichoke dip. All delicious!
Would definitely come back if we are in the area!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DORIS R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello,
Glad you had an enjoyable visit.
Please let us know of your return as the artichokes are a special and we would love to prepare them for you again.

Warmly,

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch!!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed the weekend at Northbeach RV Resort Accross the street. We ended our fabulous 4 day weekend with Brunch at the Reef. Great quality and varity of food. Crab legs to omalets it was all great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firefozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Greetings,
Thank you for the kind words.
We take great pride in the quality of our food and service.

Hope to see you back soon.

Warmly,
Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Reef was a little out of the way, but worth the drive. We sat outside and had a nice view of the ocean. Our food was well prepared and tasty. Our server was very efficient and friendly. He helped us decide what to order and kept our drinks full. They have a Sunday brunch which I would like to try next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuckyIndyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy T, General Manager at The Reef Restaurant, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Good Afternoon,
Nice to hear you enjoyed your visit.
We are now taking reservations for our Thanksgiving Day brunch and would love to have you.

Warmly,

Jeremy Ticehurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reef Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to The Reef Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing