We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed August 12, 2010

When we arrived at the hotel, the first room we were given had sort of an odd smell about it, and the floor was somewhat damp. The deadbolt did not function either. We talked to the front desk and they had no problem giving us a different room. The second room was much better.

The staff at the hotel was absolutely wonderful. I could not have asked for a friendlier bunch of people to deal with. They had a great deal of accurate information about the area, and were patient with all of the questions that I had. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was quite clean. Location-wise, the hotel was great. It was about two blocks from one of the Sightseeing Tours (Red Train) ticket purchase locations. It is also within about 1.5 miles of downtown, which I consider walking distance. It was also just a few blocks from US-1, which was convenient. Breakfast, for being a standard continental breakfast, was sufficient. The lady who was working the breakfast shift was nice and on top of things.

ORBITZ had microwaves and refrigerators listed in the amenities, but this turned out to be true ONLY for the suites, but not for standard rooms. This meant that we were unable to keep any leftovers from restaurants, and we had to throw food away after every single meal. I spoke to an Ortibz rep after our stay and was told that they would clarify this in the list of amenities.

The hotel also was in the process of replacing the hallway and stairwell carpet while we were there. We saw maintenance personnel working on a variety of projects while we were there.

Overall, the hotel stay was good. I may stay there again, but I would prefer to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room that I am staying in, especially to keep cold drinks cold during the hot summer months.

While you're in St Augustine, try the gyros at Georgie's Diner. They were awesome. We visited the following places, and all were worth the visit with the exception of the Fountain of Youth, which was a waste of eighteen dollars. I'll review that separately.

- Ripley's Museum
- Ripley's Ghost Train
- Sightseeing Tours Red Train
- San Sebastian Winery
- Downtown St. Augustine
- Georgie's Diner
- Barnacle Bill's
- Fountain of Youth
- Der Pretzel Haus
- Our Lady of La Leche Mission
- Greek Orthodox Shrine
- The Old Drugstore
- The Old Spanish Hospital

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank six6trings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 908 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed here because we needed the extra couch/pull out bed. We have stayed at this chain before in Akron, Ohio and liked it. This hotel was fine for our needs. The beds and pillows were comforable. The bathroom was neat and clean. The A/C is loud, but we could sleep through the night without waking. It is like white noise. The breakfast is great with hard boiled eggs, cereals, fruits, juices, coffee and a waffle iron which our kids loved. There was no cream for the coffee though, just the powder. The location in St. Augustine is great. Close to historic district - but most important it is about 1/2 mile from the sightseeing train depot, or old town trolley station. (This is the best way to get around town). But head north on San Marco over to US 1 and you have a lot of chain restaurants to choose from which was great since dining everyday near St. George street can get expensive!

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
Thank Grace123Orlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed one night at this hotel so we could visit the Castillo de San Marcos. There was an absence of hotel staff. The limited number of staff seemed to be working extra hard to make things nice. Unfortunately we encountered several problems during our stay. Problem one: The faucet in the tub would not work properly. We had to fill the tub for the kids to take a bath using the shower head. Problem 2: The toilet was stopped up. Problem 3: The was no one to help the clerk at the front desk. We waited anxiously for someone to unstop the toilet. After a long wait, my husband went to the front desk, got a plunger, and plunged the toilet himself. The free breakfast had fruit that had seen better days, and it was not very appetizing. I'm glad we had only planned to stay one night.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

Hotel staff was very nice and helpful and really made the experience. One of the better hotels Ive stayed at. It is in downtown and not that far from all the attractions. The room was clean/comfortable and everything else was great. Free breakfast and free parking!! (which is extremely hard to find in downtown areas) In this economy, that definitely means a lot! If I ever come back to saint augustine, this is where I'll stay!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballerina22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

I think that the location is perfect. I have to agree with it being a little far from the historic area, but you are still close enough to walk. Also, there is a station for the Sightseeing trains about two blocks away or you can have the shuttle pick you up at the hotel. The rooms were nice and comfy. They look like they are going through renovations. There is new carpet in the halls since the last time I stayed. I will make this my first choice hotel when I visit St. Augustine from now on.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bird0025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We have always enjoyed staying at other Country Inn and Suites. This hotel was a huge let down. The overall cleanliness of the entire hotel was less than desireable. The only advantage to staying at this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malindacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

to start with all non amearican but 2 there are men that clean rooms there are no uniforms so you dont know who is cleaning your room my partner was not happy with amale cleaner especially one that speaks no english one lady inlaundry i believe been there long time always friendly and american always helps out if asked ask questions response dont understand ive been here before,seems like such a nice place would employ americans and females i no we will not be back until no men, uniforms and americans.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananaheadflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites St. Augustine
0.8 mi away
The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel
The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel
#65 of 78 in St. Augustine
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Victor, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Villa Victor, an Ascend Hotel Co...
#58 of 78 in St. Augustine
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
5.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#26 of 78 in St. Augustine
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District

Address: 231 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $92 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist Hotel Saint Augustine
Country Inn And Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist
Country Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing