We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Ranked #43 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed two nights whilst visiting St Augustine from Orlando. Our room on the ground floor overlooking the pool was clean and well maintained. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and helped us book the trolley bus tour which picked us up from the hotel. Otti the breakfast man was lovely and a credit to the hotel, very hard working and Hungarian like my father. All in all had a lovely stay and if ever in the area would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

780 - 786 of 938 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

I booked this hotel via Hotels.com and the rate was $138.49 before taxes which for the Labor Day weekend didn't seem too bad. It's not actually downtown but North of downtown. The check in was good, but the room smelled of some kind of freshener when we entered and was COLD with the A/C set at 70. The carpet seemed intially to be damp, but it may have just been that it was so COLD. The room was OK, bedding was good, and it was nice that an extra cotton blanket was provided as the comforter/duvet was way too heavy. The problem for me was in the bathfoom. The sink had a major crack in it, and the tub needs to be completely replaced as it tips outward and no matter how we positioned the fabric shower curtain, it leaked water out onto the floor - a lot - at the front end, and at the back. And, the refinishing has pealed in places, there's a nickel sized chip in the enamel, and the front end under the overflow outlet was very rusty. It was clean, but just not right.

Room Tip: The hotel may be in the process of being upgraded, give it some time before you book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked this Country Inn because we always stay at Country Inns when we travel and got a 30% off deal. The room had a musty odor (since I was forewarned on this website, I brought my Fabreze deodorizer), the A/C had to be turned down to 66/68 at night to cool the room to sleep, hot water in the shower only if it ran for 4/5 minutes first. We talked to the front desk about that and she said that they have a tankless hot water heater and it couldn't be helped. The overhead light in the bathroom was intermittent, the light over the sink was only partially on. The faucet and shower head stuck out from the wall. There was new gold paint on only one wall and new drapes, refrigerator and microwave. The rest was pale pink paint and didn't match. I think the desk said they're getting new furniture. The bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly, especially Otto in the breakfast room. We were disappointed in this Country Inn and wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: We were not given a choice of floors or rooms, even though I asked if I had a choice. The front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjab2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The price was very reasonable. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We stayed two nights. Complimentary breakfast was acceptable and very clean. The staff were really helpful and we had a very good stay at this hotel. The Mexican restaurant across the street was also wonderful!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel because I have always known country inn to be nice and clean. This location is old and they tried to renovate it some maybe when it became a country inn but it could have been any other brand because it felt cheep and dingy. Staff was friendly but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trekasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the room condition. We will definitely speak with our owner about your stay. Again we are sorry your visit with us was not as expected. We hope you enjoyed beautiful St. Augustine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

There is no hot water at this hotel for a shower. The front desk would not let me use another room to take a shower. They wanted to switch rooms. That's just no convenient. 2 adults, 2 kids and all our things, I just needed a hot shower.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahanlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the room hot water. We will definitely speak with our staff and make sure they will handle situation like that better way Again we are sorry your visit with us was not as expected. We hope you enjoyed beautiful St. Augustine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed july 5th. Tub was rusty. Bathroom trim needs cleaning. Bed was an absolute rock. Room smelled moldy. Air conditioner leaked. Left before breakfast. Worst ci&s experience I have ever had. Also, location, Not centrally located as described. Far north of the center. Not walking distance, maybe bike distance.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clarke1192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the bathroom cleanliness and the room condition with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel
The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel
#58 of 79 in St. Augustine
54 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
5.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
Wingate by Wyndham St Augustine
#29 of 79 in St. Augustine
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites St. Augustine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District

Address: 231 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $92 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist
Country Inn & Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist Hotel Saint Augustine
Country Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing