We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Could be so much more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great location, quiet off the Busier streets. Nice big room, ours had a door separating the living room from sleep area & microwave & fridge. Interior is going to be renovated soon, and it is clearly long overdue. The price we paid is only justifiable if it had already been renovated, as I felt like we were living in a dungeon for the weekend! Staff at front desk & in breakfast area, the Hungarian guy Otto especially, very friendly & helpful. Sad state of interiors in room & halls, felt like I was back in my poorer days of graduate school, not reflective of the price of the room! Sagging sofa, peeling wallpaper & all the lampshades disgusting & broken. Seriously? Owners should be ashamed of themselves. It'll be awhile before I will want to use this chain again for travel. Quality of the breakfast on the low side for the price. Could be great place with renovation & better food.

Room Tip: Space is great but very dreary & tired, worn looking interiors, ask if they have any renovated r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PitaLem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. We are planning to remodel our hotel in 4 month. We hope you enjoyed beautiful St. Augustine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    212
    167
    101
    72
See reviews for
348
283
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had always wanted to visit St Augustine so stayed here for 2 nights on our last trip to the US. The trip was planned from the UK and all the hotels booked on the internet in advance. Arriving at the hotel early, 12:30, we found the reception rather busy and it was slightly chaotic with lots of walk-in customers trying to find a room. We asked if our room was ready and if not could we leave the car, visit the old town and come back later to check-in. The receptionist told us that we had been upgraded, Carlson Gold, and our room had not been serviced but we could leave the car and check-in later.
Talking to the receptionist about the old town she recommended the Red train tour and offered to get someone to pick us up and take us to the Trolley office where we could buy the tickets. We took her up on the offer and parked the car round the back in the car park, we went back to the reception desk only to be told the driver and been and gone because we were not there. She called the company again and very quickly a driver arrived and she told him she still could not find the customers, we said is this for us? and she said no it is for a much older couple. I even went looking for this other couple and told the driver I could not find them, only after talking to this guy we discovered we were the couple he had come for, how surreal!
Arriving back at the hotel at about 5pm it seems there had been some lack of communication between colleagues and the room was still not ready, 20 minutes later we were in the room. The room was Ok; it was what we expected of a Country Inn, freshly cleaned and like all the other hotels in the chain.
While we were waiting for the room to be serviced we talked to the receptionist, a different one from earlier, about places to eat in the area, she recommended the Raintree, she called them up and arranged for them to collect us from the hotel, a good choice.
Breakfast was the usual Country Inn standard and the Hungarian kitchen staff worked well to make sure we had everything we needed.
All in all a good couple of days stay in a very interesting city; we should have stayed longer to see everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highgreave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Their best attribute is their location, near the historic district and Vilano Beach but away from the main noisy road. I think they are trying to get better. Their breakfast was so so, with the kitchen staff being very friendly and helpful.
The room was ok, but for the price you would do better at other similar hotel chains. The bathroom had a problem with the shower faucet coming off while scalding water was pouring!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The room was ok clean but I did notice alot of paint chipping on the walls and on the ac unit. I was a little disappointed that there was no mini fridge or microwave in the room. The parking lot is more like an obstacle course which is weird but not a big issue. What was so great about the hotel was the location literally minutes from everything! Could not beat the location. Sheena was very nice at check in. The breakfast was good as well. I would say the hotel rooms need an update. All in all it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krispy1488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

First, let me start with saying this was our favorite place to stay when visiting St. Augustine.
It's located on the outskirts of the town away from the traffic and noise but close enough to get there fast, either by your own car or provided transportation.
Now for the rest of the story. We just stayed here again and we were very disappointed.
We had read the trip advisor reviews and were a bit concerned but decided to go ahead anyway, believing many exaggerate their experiences.
I think now they were accurate.
The first thing I noticed was the condition of the lobby, including a spinning post on the lobby staircase. Next was the smell in the Inn, not sure what it was but it was not pleasant , also present in the room.
Next was the room, the first thing noticed was the smell, next the door stop on the wall was smashed through the wall.
The bathroom mirror paint was missing on a large section and the bathroom was not clean.
There were obvious fingerprints and dust on the chrome toilet paper holders for example.
The furniture is now dated with some edges worn off.
The beds are as far from pillow top beds as you can get, felt like plywood.

I read responses from Silvie M, Manager of the inn before booking and thought they are taking these comments seriously, I see now that is not true.

On the staff, it was 50/50 the check in was nice and friendly the check out was not, ignored and finally gr-umped at.

Before staying here again I will be reading future reviews carefully to see if they deserve another chance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lvinginparadise18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Country Inn. If you had come and reported these issues to use, we would have gladly taken care of the situation immediately. We are taking these comments very seriously. We are sharing them on our weekly meetings. Please feel free to call me at any time if you need anything further.
Sincerely,
Silvie Mcdowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Let's be brief here:

no hot water in the room. Called the front desk and was told "oh, just run the hot water for 5 minutes and it will get to your room." So we wasted water for five minutes and, yes, it did eventually get there.

poorly cleaned room. If you're missing a 38C blue bra from Victoria's Secrets, I know where it was -- on the floor of our room.

You know what really worries me the most? They'll figure out who I am and tell me to come back for a complimentary night!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmchairA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are sorry that you had to wait 5 minutes for the hot water. We have the new tankless water heaters and you have to wait a few minutes for the hot water to come on. I have been visiting a couple hotels in this area and they have the same water heaters as our hotel and they have to wait a few minutes for the hot water as well. I addressed the cleanliness issue with my housekeeping staff to assure we do not have this situation occur again in the future.
Sincerely,
Silvie Mcdowell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have no complaints! Well - the parking is a bit funny - would have been nice to know I had to go back out on the road to get into the parking lot - Other then that - everything was wonderful - clean room, comfy bed, great library in the lobby, well lit parking lot, friendly & helpful staff, entertaining breakfast fixer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knitpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#46 of 78 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#23 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 78 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Address: 231 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist Hotel Saint Augustine
Country Inn And Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist
Country Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing