We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere else ... ANYWHERE else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Let's be brief here:

no hot water in the room. Called the front desk and was told "oh, just run the hot water for 5 minutes and it will get to your room." So we wasted water for five minutes and, yes, it did eventually get there.

poorly cleaned room. If you're missing a 38C blue bra from Victoria's Secrets, I know where it was -- on the floor of our room.

You know what really worries me the most? They'll figure out who I am and tell me to come back for a complimentary night!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArmchairA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are sorry that you had to wait 5 minutes for the hot water. We have the new tankless water heaters and you have to wait a few minutes for the hot water to come on. I have been visiting a couple hotels in this area and they have the same water heaters as our hotel and they have to wait a few minutes for the hot water as well. I addressed the cleanliness issue with my housekeeping staff to assure we do not have this situation occur again in the future.
Sincerely,
Silvie Mcdowell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 893 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have no complaints! Well - the parking is a bit funny - would have been nice to know I had to go back out on the road to get into the parking lot - Other then that - everything was wonderful - clean room, comfy bed, great library in the lobby, well lit parking lot, friendly & helpful staff, entertaining breakfast fixer!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knitpurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stay at Carlson hotels frequently. This trip we were in a 1 BR king suite with our 2 Children. The man who works in the dining area is terrific. I wish I had caught his name. He was friendly and funny and kept the very busy breakfast area well stocked, clean and running smoothly. We were allowed to check in about 2 hours early which was very nice, but the previous occupants left overs were still in the refrigerator. I expected to have fresh towels placed in our room at some point during our stay but they never were replaced. Good location, with great little Mexican place right across the street.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misty1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel, and loved every minute of it. The staff was extremely helpful. Debbie at the front desk helped plan our whole trip-she even called and had a van come and pick us up to take us to our trolley tours. She gave great recommendations for sites nearby and restaurants. Otto works in the dining area where the complimentary breakfast is served, and he goes WAY beyond expectations. He made sure to ask every table how they were doing and how their food was, as well as collecting our dishes from the table as soon as we put them to the side! The only bad things about this hotel are: it is a bit farther from downtown than we thought when we booked; the elevator is a bit loud and scary; the pillows are very small. Other than that, we will be back every time we visit St. Augustine!

Room Tip: First and second story rooms are accessible by staircase as well as elevator, whereas the third floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed at the Country Inn & suites and was very disappointed! The sheets had what looked like pink lipstick. Blankets were DIRTY! One of the towels had tape with long black hair stuck to it! Breakfast was mediocre. Half the staff was nice and helpful, while some were just down right rude! I've stayed at other CI&S and enjoyed the stay, but was disappointed with this one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachbumwant2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Date 04/02/13

Country Inns & Suites
231 San Marco Ave
St Augustine, FL.32084

To Whom It May Concern,

I am sorry that you have concerns about your experience at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine hotel. Although it is never pleasant to hear when a guest is not satisfied with his or her experience, we do need to be aware of these situations.

Our goal is to make the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine hotel the choice for our guests while away from home. I will be sharing your comments with the hotel staff during our upcoming meeting as a learning tool to help us improve our performance and provide exceptional service to our guests. We want to be able to provide our guests with the best service possible, and feedback from our guests helps us to achieve that goal.

I want to thank you for taking the time to contact us because your input is valuable to us. We hope we will have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Silvie Mcdowell
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine, FL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had a great experience at this hotel. Originally accidentally booked two night at a flop house down the block (Knights Inn) refused to stay here so was in a jam without reservations elsewhere on a busy Spring Break weekend. We popped in desparate for a room and Debi at the front fesk was the sweetest person ever, she booked us a one stay room at a reasonable rate. There were not any rooms avaialable for Saturday night though. She took my cell # and promised to do what she could, thankfully someone cancelled at the last minute and she called to let me know, we were so grateful. Recommend this hotel, also nice complimentary breakfast - Otto did a wonderful job replentishing everything was was coureous and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 150Travelinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night and actually cut our stay short because the room was dirty. Upon arrival to our room, The mirror still had spots on it. The towels were dingy. The countertop had dried toothpaste on it. I grabbed a washcloth to clean up only to find a black hair on the washcloth (eew). The carpet was dirty and an empty bag from crackers was in our room. Had it not been late and us exhausted we would not have stayed even 1 night. I notified the front desk of our findings.


As previously mentioned by others, this is about 1.5-2 miles away from the historic downtown area.


I will not stay here again and quite possibly will not stay with any country inn and suites either.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kendra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Date 03/29/13

Country Inns & Suites
231 San Marco Ave
St Augustine, FL.32084

To Whom It May Concern,

I am sorry that you have concerns about your experience at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine hotel. Although it is never pleasant to hear when a guest is not satisfied with his or her experience, we do need to be aware of these situations.
I wish you could contact the front desk immediately, so we would have chance to correct.

We want to be able to provide our guests with the best service possible, and feedback from our guests helps us to achieve that goal.

I will be sharing your comments with the hotel staff during our upcoming meeting as a learning tool to help us improve our performance and provide exceptional service to our guests.
I want to thank you for taking the time to contact us because your input is valuable to us. We hope we will have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Silvie Mcdowell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#22 of 78 in St. Augustine
641 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Victor, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Villa Victor, an Ascend Hotel Co...
#56 of 78 in St. Augustine
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District

Address: 231 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range: $92 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist Hotel Saint Augustine
Country Inn And Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist
Country Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing