We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Ranked #41 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“There are better places”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed in one bedroom suite. The rooms are old, dark and not very clean. Furniture was chipped, bedspread was worn. Not a good example of Country Inns and Suite. Location was ok after the first night I wanted to,check our and move to Hampton Suites or Comfort Suite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Date 2/14/13

Country Inns & Suites
231 San Marco Ave
St Augustine, FL.32084

To Whom It May Concern,

I am sorry that you have concerns about your experience at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine hotel. Although it is never pleasant to hear when a guest is not satisfied with his or her experience, we do need to be aware of these situations.

Our goal is to make the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine hotel the choice for our guests while away from home. I will be sharing your comments with the hotel staff during our upcoming meeting as a learning tool to help us improve our performance and provide exceptional service to our guests. We want to be able to provide our guests with the best service possible, and feedback from our guests helps us to achieve that goal.

I want to thank you for taking the time to contact us because your input is valuable to us. We hope we will have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Silvie Mcdowell
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine, FL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    211
    167
    100
    70
See reviews for
346
280
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our two-day getaway. We wanted to see everything we could in St. Augustine without being too far away and having to travel a great distance. The hotel is in the perfect location. At the edge of downtown where you can catch a trolley, shuttle or even walk to some of the attractions. The staff was very helpful in helping us arrange transportation and very knowledgeable about the sites, tours and food in the area . The room was clean, comfortable, quiet and very reasonably priced. We will definitely make our reservations there when we go back this summer.

Room Tip: I would not book a room at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennrae916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised. Room was clean and very spacious. Especially appreciated since we had two large suitcases we were living out of. Breakfast was good. Staff was excellent. Spent two nights with a tour group. Heard nothing but favorable comments from our other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raytvl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
126 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel was much better than the other reviews led us to believe. The rooms were up to the usual CI&S standard - clean, spacious and in good decorative order. Breakfast was also good with hot food and a range of cereals etc. We had to wait for a table since the hotel was busy but it was only a few minutes. They could have done with more than one man to service the breakfast room - he seemed to be run off his feet. The location was reasonable but too far to walk to the historic district without wasting part of our time in St Augustine with a boring 25 minute walk. Downtown parking is moderately expensive. Some hotel reviews in St Augustine complain about nearby railway noise - this hotel does not suffer from this, it was very quiet overnight. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank probinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our first room was so musty we couldn't stand the smell, the sheets were dirty, had body hair on the sheets. You could tell that the sheets had not been changed. My husband went down to the front desk and her answer was to upgrade us to a suite. That's ok with us!
Second room the sheets were clean and the room smelled much better. The next morning when i was in the bathroom cleaning up I noticed the air vent in the bathroom was filthy, full of old lint and dirt, the walls looked like they had pulled the wallpaper off and painted and parts were buckling, there were rust marks on the wall and the bathtub was dirty from not being scrubbed. The also was pink soap scum built up in the corners of the tub.
We stay in lots of hotels and this rate up there with one of the worst we have stayed in.

I emailed corporate and they passed my concerns to the hotel management, I got the same form response that you see here on this site. I will be sending my picture to the corporate office so they can see for themselves what we paid for. This is not your typical Country Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Appraisalgirl527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
To Whom It May Concern,

I am sorry that you have concerns about your experience at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine hotel. Although it is never pleasant to hear when a guest is not satisfied with his or her experience, we do need to be aware of these situations.

Our goal is to make the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine hotel the choice for our guests while away from home. I will be sharing your comments with the hotel staff during our upcoming meeting as a learning tool to help us improve our performance and provide exceptional service to our guests. We want to be able to provide our guests with the best service possible, and feedback from our guests helps us to achieve that goal.

I want to thank you for taking the time to contact us because your input is valuable to us. We hope we will have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Silvie Mcdowell
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine, FL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Newcastle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

For the price I believe this to be a decent value for money hotel.
We could have stayed further into town - but at what price!
Found the general housekeeping generally good.
The receptionist was more than helpful as we looked at 3 rooms before deciding on what room was good for us.
Very good breakfast choice - and excellent server, Otto who was very attentive, welcoming and friendly to guests.
Only observation we had was that at times the small breakfasting area could not cope and some guests had to wait a while until a table became available.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor room at rear of hotel if a light sleeper like me
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed one night at this hotel. The room was clean and quiet. The hotel was a bit far from the old city to walk there, but it was a short drive. Breakfast in the morning was great, but we had to wait for a table.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Augustine/Historical District
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#46 of 79 in St. Augustine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
BEST WESTERN Spanish Quarter Inn
#23 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Augustine-Historic District
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Saint Augustine North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Address: 231 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 79 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist Hotel Saint Augustine
Country Inn And Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist
Country Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing