We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time or money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I would not recommend this place at all. We walked into the room and walked right back out. Very small hotel and the rooms were small for the price. Would not go back and to this hotel or even recommend it to anyone. My husband and I travel alot and were very surprised at the quality of this hotel. Don't waste your money. Pay to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Creampuff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
To Whom It May Concern,
On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. Our hotel has standard rooms and suites. When guest is making reservation they have a choice to reserved standard room or suites. We would be happy to move you to a suite if you would let us know. There are a lot of big hotels in our area that have s smaller rooms and they are charging more money. Again we are sorry your visit with us was not as expected. We hope you enjoyed beautiful St.Augustine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    226
    189
    108
    75
See reviews for
383
302
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
panama city
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Country Inn and Suites in St Augustine before a cruise. I was reluctant because of the bad reviews. I think everyone is complaining because the hallways do not have air conditioning. It was 84 degrees outside and it felt even hotter in the halls. My room had great air conditioning. It was clean and the breakfast was good. I do not think I could stay here in the summer because I would pass out in the hall putting my key in the door. I think they are just trying to save money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Pros...close to downtown but not right in the hub bub. Quiet. Staff was extremely friendly. Check in & out was a breeze.

Cons....The room was HOT. The A/C would not cool the room off to where you could sleep comfortably. The 3rd floor hall corridor was also HOT. Complained to front desk, they sent maintenence to look at it, the poor guy was Ukranian and could hardly speak English, said there "was nothing to be done". We looked at a 2nd floor room and it was hot also. Decided to stick it out instead of moving down 1 floor. Complimentary breakfast was horrible! Would highly recommend going to Mary's or Shmagel's for breakfast.

Will not stay here again. Period.

Room Tip: If you want a good deal without noise, this is your place. Need to bring a fan to blow on you all ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria4986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvie M, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Date.10/08/12

Country Inns & Suites
231 San Marco Ave
St Augustine, FL.32084

To Whom It May Concern,

I am sorry that you have concerns about your experience at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine hotel. Although it is never pleasant to hear when a guest is not satisfied with his or her experience, we do need to be aware of these situations.

Our goal is to make the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, St. Augustine hotel the choice for our guests while away from home. I will be sharing your comments with the hotel staff during our upcoming meeting as a learning tool to help us improve our performance and provide exceptional service to our guests. We want to be able to provide our guests with the best service possible, and feedback from our guests helps us to achieve that goal.

I want to thank you for taking the time to contact us because your input is valuable to us. We hope we will have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,


Silvie Mcdowell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Augustine hotels

Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I'd rather not stay here again.

The linen isn't changed when requested and I question whether they actually change it for each new arrival.

The AC works well and keeps the whole suite cool which was a welcome surprise. The in-room amenities were of an OK quality and where replenished daily.

On our floor, there was an ice-machine, drink machine and vending machine...very convenient!

We left a sentimental, valuable item behind and when we called back, front desk was kind enough to follow up and we got it back with no hassle at all. Honesty and integrity of the staff is above and beyond.

Cleanliness is top priority in my book and this hotel fell short.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BimChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Country Inn and suites are one of our favorite stays and this did not disappoint. Clean, very friendly staff, and good breakfast. Easy, short ride into town and attractions, at a fraction of the cost. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpd1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night passing through. It was $100 for a king bed room. It was clean. Free parking, close to downtown. Across the street.from a convenience store and good mexican restaurant. The best part was the free breakfast. Hot breakfast in the morning is always a treat. Would return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Country Inn in downtown St augustine is an awesome place to stay. Clean and neat...great accomadations. Rooms are very comfortable and CLEAN. Best yet the staff is awesome. Angie at the front desk and Otto serving breakfast daily are 2 reasons you feel very relaxed and pampered. I would really recommend everyone stay here. Convenient downtown location. Wonderful and best buy for the money! Thank you.

Jay

Room Tip: all rooms appeared very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fanomatic2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Augustine hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Augustine - Historic
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#49 of 78 in St. Augustine
422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Spanish Quarters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#26 of 78 in St. Augustine
615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Historic ST. Augustine FL
0.2 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District
Address: 231 San Marco Ave, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Augustine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in St. Augustine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, St. Augustine Downtown Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist Hotel Saint Augustine
Country Inn And Suites St. Augustine Downtown Dist
Country Inn Saint Augustine
Saint Augustine Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing