We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, funky and flavorful - lots of meatless options”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #72 of 593 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fun, funky and flavorful - lots of meatless options”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

After a few days of dragging my family to area restaurants that, in their words "looked like someone's garage," we finally made it to Mellow Mushroom. As we walked in, my Mom proclaimed, "now this looks like decent restaurant!" It's a very attractive building from the outside, and it's fun and funky inside (love the mini Castillo). I agree with others that parking is indeed terrible. We tried visiting two nights earlier but couldn't park.

Anyway, we enjoyed our experience. Our server was perky and friendly and told us she was a beer expert. She helped us select great beers, and even offered us a small taste of a few to help us decide. I had an e-club coupon for free appetizer, so we ordered the spinach artichoke dip. It came with "garlic toast points" and the whole thing was yummy. We each ordered a large pizza. Parents got half "Mighty Meat" and half "Thai Dye." Cucumber on pizza was definitely a departure for my Mom, but she loved it! And they allowed her to swap curry chicken for teriyaki chicken. Hubby and I had half "Kosmic Karma" (awesome) and half "Red Skin Potato." Crust was unusual and a little on the thick side, but it was still very good pizza.

We would most definitely return to this location when in town again. How happy for us that one is opening in our neck of the woods in Clearwater! Can't wait for them to open so we can sample more items on their creative menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdensMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    112
    45
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pizza heaven”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Brick oven pizza to die for. The crust is delicious enough to stand alone. Add portobello mushrooms on top of garlic and olive oil sauce with sausage and it ranks with the best we have had. They just opened in July and are already packed. Very, very modern, high energy place. Delicious.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fast food but good”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

New restaurant. Parking is awful! Spaces way too small for anything but a midsize or small car. Minimal handicap pking as well. Front stairs has NO railings.
Food: very unusual menu; numerous differnt pizza options with a thick type crust[not for me].
Apptzrs were ok. Drinks and service were good. Very noisy.
It aint NY pizza, here in Florida water is an issue in cooking dough.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Though a Noisy Environment, the Food is Excellent”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Mellow Mushroom is a vibrant, festive, LOUD restaurant. It's the sort of noisy that requires adjectives to describe. If you've been to a Rainforest Cafe, that's the sort of festive noise you can expect. But the staff is very friendly and the food is terrific. We've tried various appetizers, sandwiches, and pizzas, and we've loved everything without exception. The late night hours are a real bonus for what is otherwise a sleepy little town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic varieties of pizza and libations!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you are new to or visiting St.Augustine, FL, you must stop for lunch or dinner or late evening snacks at this newly opened Mellow Mushroom. TVs all around, their menu is wide, will cover everyone's desires. We had a two variety pizza with half one way for the children, and other half for the adults' tastes. Very unique and delicious. They frequently feature specials on drinks. The decor is open, a bit noisy, but so much to see in the wall decorations

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanafortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing