We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice seletion of wines”

Vino Del Grotto Winery
Ranked #83 of 186 things to do in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Southern Illinois
Level Contributor
166 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice seletion of wines”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This shop carries wines from small wineries. They have a nice selection and some very different wines. We tried several different kinds of wines and bought a green apple Riesling wine. The staff was very informative and friendly. We would stop here again next year when we go to St Augustine to see what new wines they might have.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank macska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I finally understand why wine is so interesting!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

While on a food tour in the area we stopped for a brief wine tasting here. There were all types and flavors but I had chocolate wine made into a smoothie, the same for the orange wine, and plan sample of both. It was unlike any wine I've ever had and will be more adventurous with my new experience/education.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun and Interesting”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited this shop on a whim during a recent weekend, attracted by the idea of frozen wine smoothies. Instead, we opted for a wine tasting, which we enjoyed immensely. There was a selection of 10 wines available for tasting, ranging from Australian whites to Columbian reds, Italian sparkling and dessert wines, Florida citrus wines and more. We each sampled 5, and purchased three of our selection. Our hostess was very knowledgeable and helpful, without being overbearing or wine-snooty. We also enjoyed browsing the interesting wine accessories, from bottle pumps and cords to the very interesting assortment of wine bottle holders. By the way, we did finally sample a mango wine smoothie -- which was refreshing, tasty and a great mid-afternoon treat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank deland22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice little shop!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely little shop this was! The person working was overly chatty so it made it hard to just browse and look but she was very informative. We bought two bottles, a raspberry and one called Hurricane. The Hurricane is absolutely phenomenal!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vino Del Grotto Winery also viewed

 

Been to Vino Del Grotto Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing