We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Crows Nest in Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Conch House Restaurant

The Conch House Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 571 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our full service award winning casual Restaurant features the finest seafood, steaks, salads, and Caribbean style cuisine. Take a little trip to the Caribbean, we're just a short drive away. Sit down under a palm tree on the outside deck or dine in one of the unique Jamaican styled grass huts out over the water.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Crows Nest in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our last night in St. Augustine we went to the Conch House, recommended for its ambience. Our "booth" was a crow's nest suspended over the water, where we enjoyed the twilight, sea birds and twinkling lights as the sun went down. The service and the food matched the atmosphere, as we enjoyed fish blackened to perfection and other various well prepared seafood. Go off your diet to enjoy the home made potato chips in blue cheese sauce (one order's more than enough for four people) and the calamari with banana peppers (another generous portion). I would definitely come back to this restaurant, and this time try to hold back on apps so I'll have room for dessert! One note - they were closed and turning people away at 9:15 pm, just when a restaurant in Miami would be filling up!! Like everywhere in St, Augustine, go before nine or risk missing out!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DenMark2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    340
    144
    58
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food was pretty average and it was overpriced for the taste; however, in the interest of fun, we ventured out there Friday night to watch the Polynesian dancers and it was awesome! Kids were having fun, hubby was having fun, and the girls were drinking.

All in all, cover charge was pretty decent ($5), food was bearable but unimpressive, and drinks were good, too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lexv160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok food - Awesome views!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is more of a bar than restaurant in my opinion. The food is ok, in fact, above average for bar food but I came here for the view. And what a view! Located by the ocean with little huts almost hanging out over the water overlooking the marina, this is one of the greatest restaurant views I've seen!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogart, Georgia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Absolutely over-rated, will never go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place has a reputation for the atmosphere, proximity to the water and outdoor seating but I go to a restaurant to eat, not sit in the breeze and stare at a marina. First off, service is slow. I always considered a baked potato as pretty much a standard with seafood but not here, they don't even have them. A $3 house salad, extra with your order, is a puny amount of Romain lettuce, some raisins and mandarin orange slices and a piece of tomato. My wife had fried shrimp (which I tried) and I paid extra for broiled yellow-tail snapper (catch of the day). Neither the shrimp nor my fish had any seasoning whatsoever...very plain. On top of that, my broiled fish had been cooked dry and I had to use some of their chunky/congealed cocktail sauce just to get it down. I have no idea why this place is rated highly except a lot of tourists must like to sit at a table of bad food and take in the scenery which, by the way, is mostly marsh mud and private boats.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank texdawg89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“What a great time and great food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We docked here and had lunch and it was a great lunch!! Each of our meals was very good and tasty, the server was wonderful, and the atmosphere couldn't be beat. We want to go back just so we can try something else. The portions are huge and probably should have shared, but it was all so good, we're glad we didn't!! Then the walk around the marina to walk it off was very nice!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingDanTheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Conch House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Conch House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing