We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food & atmosphere - slow service”

Taberna del Caballo
Ranked #157 of 584 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful food & atmosphere - slow service”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

On a date night with my wife, we explored the streets of the historic Saint Augustine. We walked by the Taberna del Cabello and thought we would give it a try. The amostphere was inviting and the menu ecclectic. We saw the beer cheese fondue and had to try it. While moderately busy when we arrived, there were a few open tables. However, the hostess still took more than 10 minutes to seat us (no one else was waiting). Once seated, the waitress took more than 10 minutes to acknowledge us. We put our drink order in and it seemed like they forgot about us. Fortunately, the atmosphere was very nice and my wife and I could comfortably talk. Nearly 15 minutes later, our waitress returned with our beverages and appologized for the delay. She took our food order and left. Our food arrived more promptly, but she did not offer me another beverage or to fill my wife's. The food was delicous! The Garden Chop was a nicely appointed salad with a moderate dressing and a nice flavor. The fondue was excellent and we only stopped eating when the plate was clean. So, if you have time to wait, it was worth the visit. Could have been excellent with more prompt service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmaerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    102
    54
    32
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great sangria, horrendous service!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A few years ago we had a great time at this place. It was under different management and different name. Rooster? Looking forward to visiting this place again, I went with my wife. First we sat down and nobody came to us for awhile. Second the didn't have candles for their candlelight setting. How difficult is it to walk somewhere and buy more? Then we just ordered our fav sangria and enjoyed it and left. Service was so bad. No teamwork. Kids looked like they didn't care. What a shame. Sure hope new management knows what they are doing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rename it la taberna del burro”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Caballo means horse which is quick and burro means donkey which is slow just like the service in this place. All we had was one drink a piece and waited forever.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bananacane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“unique”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a very unique little place to stop for a beer. It is very old fashion and basically lit only with candles and lanterns. Food is very unique and good too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank StAugLocal10-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too bad, so very sad.”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

The taberna began as a fantastic, candle-lit beer, wine, and amazing sangria watering hole. Recently though, the service has gone severely downhill. The location and atmosphere are wonderful, but until major improveme are made, I would not recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank msjesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna del Caballo also viewed

 

Been to Taberna del Caballo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing