We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but expected more”

Murray Brothers Caddyshack
Ranked #131 of 593 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: As co-founder and co-chairman Andy is intimately involved with the restaurant's operations, while his brothers, all partners, make appearances as well as offer their wit and experience as consultants. With more than 8,000 square feet of dining space, the flagship restaurant includes the Bunker Bar, with two, 150-inch quad television screens plus additional TVs to cover multiple sporting events and the Looper's Lounge, which doubles as a game room with another wide-screen TV and an area to accommodate large groups. The Shed sells Murray Bros. Caddyshack merchandise such as t-shirts, hats, souvenirs, and fun golf stuff. While there is a wall displaying pictures and a script from the movie Caddyshack and diners might spot random gophers, the décor and memorabilia of Murray Bros. Caddyshack focus on the brothers, the sport of caddying and the classic Murray humor. Lawn mowers, rakes, pails and kegs all have a place in the restaurant and sight gags abound.
St. Johns, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good, but expected more”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I enjoy the atmosphere and the view from the restaurant, but our meals were just so-so. The French Onion soup tasted as if it was from a can. Too sweet, and didn't have that bold taste it should have. The Chicago Blues Burger is served on Windy City Black Bread which was good, but dry and the burger didn't fit the bread.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    167
    125
    34
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bellaire, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The food is excellent and the Key Lime Pie the best in the area! We spent Tuesday night there for the Karaoke and were entertained by the best singers ever! And that includes Andy Murray! Thank you so much for this great experience. We will return next year!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food/Service”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Neat place to experience, UNLESS..they are busy. Our party of 5 was seated in a timely manner but from there it was easy to see the wait staff was overwhelmed. Both our drink and food orders took way to long and for 3 in our party the food when finally served(, mainly burgers and fries )was cold and not prepared as advertised in the menu. Staff did correct the situation with the menu and were polite in doing so but when we were re served, the food was still cold. This seemed simply a management problem in not having sufficient server and cook staff on hand. In all fairness will probably give them another shot when we are back in town as the place does have a good 19th hole/sports bar atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesapeake
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A burger and fries place with photos of the Murray Brothers on the walls”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We toured the World Golf Hall of Fame, the flagship attraction at World Golf Village. Enjoyed that, and then, where for lunch?

Dining options are limited--the WGV is located at an I-95 interchange in rural St Johns County--over 17 miles from downtown St. Augustine. The vast WGV is poorly marked and easy to get bewildered in.

So... we walked over to Caddyshack - follow the lake, it's a nice stroll - anticipating a fun, memorable experience, like viewing the movie most of us loved. The beer was good. Otherwise, unfortunately, it smacks of just another commercial-strip chain eatery. The fare seems right off the Sysco truck, plated up, served brusquely, to get another table seated and invoiced.

Take some time to view the photos and replica artifacts from the movie and the namesake family. Of course, there is a ready and waiting gift shop.

Meal completed, we headed back to the Hall of Fame.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helios5356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Attentive and quick service”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We arrived fairly late on a Monday night, but were seated quickly. Our order was taking quickly and service faster then I expected.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JLDailey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murray Brothers Caddyshack also viewed

 
St. Augustine, FL
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Murray Brothers Caddyshack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing