We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An awesome experience for the whole family!”
Review of Colonial Quarter

Colonial Quarter
Ranked #20 of 182 things to do in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take an immersive journey through centuries of St. Augustine's rich history, brought to life at this revitalized two-acre attraction in the heart of the downtown historic district. Tour, dine, shop and enjoy an interactive Historic Adventure Tour or discover on your own from climbing a 35-foot watchtower to exploring the 270 year old Demesa House. Your history begins here!
1 review
“An awesome experience for the whole family!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Jake guided us through history in a very interactive and funny way. Our kids (7 and 4) liked it very much. Highly recommended!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Juan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    204
    74
    20
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth EVERY cent....most enjoyable outing!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were so fortune to have Grimm as our guide for this adventure. Our boys are 7 and 10 years old and loved every moment. It was a wonderfully informative as well as interactive and educational. My 7 year old told Grimm that he felt like he went in a time machine for the afternoon. Grimm was hilarious and made our time there feel as if each guest was important and greatly encouraged participation.
If you must chose were to spend your vacation dollars in St. Augustine, this is the place to spend your hard earned money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TiSoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland FL
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Major Disappointment”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I am not sure what I was expecting from the Colonial Quarter, but I didn't get it. We were very disappointed. There were virtually no employees throughout the park with explanations, demonstrations, and the like. Several exhibits were supposed to be interactive, but we saw no evidence of anything going on at them. Save your money for a better exhibit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jstancil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy S, General Manager at Colonial Quarter, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We're sorry you were disappointed in your visit to the Colonial Quarter. It appears you did not take advantage of our guided Historical Adventure Tours, offered hourly throughout the day. Historic artisans with take you through 3 centuries of colonial St. Augustine with many interactive stops and demonstrations along the way, including a musket drill, cannon firing, blacksmith demo and much more. Before or after the tour, guests may climb the 35 foot watchtower to see the magnificent view of the city and ocean, delve into even more of the history by reading over 50 informative text panels throughout the park, or just relax on a bench in the quiet shade.
I hope you give us another try on your next visit, and please take a tour with one of our fantastic guides.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historical learning & hands-on experience”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent about 2 hours at the Colonial Quarter on a chilly day in October. We arrived later in the day and were pleased to learn we were the only ones on our tour (2 adults, 2 elementary-aged children) with Jake, our tour guide. He gave us an excellent tour, very personalized and nearly twice as long as usual, due to our many questions. He was extremely knowledgeable about the history of the area, and he was able to answer all of our varied questions (from the adults to the 7-year-old's). Since the Castillo was closed during our visit to St. Augustine, this was definitely our best opportunity to learn the history of the region without feeling like we were at an amusement park or a tacky tourist site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, M
1 review
“If you see only one museum in St. Augustine, it should be the Colonial Quarter”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you see only one museum in St. Augustine, it should be the Colonial Quarter. The guided tour was one of the best I've ever had anywhere (and I've traveled in many countries over many years). You learn about the entire 500-year history of the town, its people, politics, and even crafts in a mere hour. the museum consists of over 2 acres of land in the heart of the historic district, with several old historic buildings, full-scale reconstructions of Spanish ships, early settlers' living quaters, shops, watchtowers, and even real ongoig archeaological dig on-site. The guide, Jake, is simple incredible. He managed to pack so much history and so many activities in the hour that I left feeling I had been there much longer (in a good way). As a local of St. Augustine and a young historian, he was extremely knowledgeable about many cool details of the town's and region's history, but he also did not overload with detail and left plenty of time for questions for those who wanted to probe a bit more. He was also extremely entertaining and encouraged a lot of participation from our group - he threw out questions to see if we could guess the uses of period objects which he demonstrated or historical events, and he even made us do a live bayonet shooting drill (with wooden, mock bayonets) with him commanding our 'squad' - in Spanish!
This is a truly fantastic museum both for the history nerds and for those looking to have a fun, relaxed, and really welcoming introduction to the town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank g0ttravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Quarter also viewed

 

Been to Colonial Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing