We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast of champs”
Review of Manatee Cafe

Manatee Cafe
Ranked #113 of 589 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Quaint cafe located within westgate plaza, just miles from downtown st. augustine. AC, comfortable table dining/seating, Manatee motif, modest grocery area.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast of champs”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have eaten here twice on a suggestion from friends and both times were breakfast the food is hot fresh and delicious veggie omelet and tofu scramble was our choice. Coffee was equally tasty the orange juice is only served in one size though, non the less a great experience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tpstech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    37
    7
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice for breakfast”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were in St. Augustine last week for a few days and had breakfast at Manatee Cafe on two mornings. Both experiences were very nice. Lots of options for vegetarians but also options for breakfast such as eggs and toast (no bacon available but was still good). My wife had the breakfast burrito with tofu and daughter had scrambled tofu-both were very happy with their meals. Service was friendly and personable-not particularly fast but the food was cooked to order and served hot and fresh. Small staff worked well together.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank getaway00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Our favorite meal in St. Augustine and we're carnivores!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I don't award 5 stars often... An establishment must be not only good, but memorable, and (in the case of restaurants) crave-able. Don't let the vegetarian talk dissuade you, there are ample meat and meatless options to choose from and the portions are hearty. I wish we had tried Manatee Cafe before our last day because it could have saved us a lot of money and disappointments at other "highly-rated" restaurants.
Manatee is a small restaurant in a strip mall just a few miles from the historic district and the food is fresh, delicious, and affordable. The menu descriptions just don't do it justice because the food that was served was so much more than what we had expected. We had the Tofu Reuben (highly recommended, but skip the tabouli option), the Breakfast Burrito (so stuffed with deliciousness that it cannot be wrapped shut! "hash browns" were divine) and the spelt pancakes (extraordinary but a little pricey, $8.25).
They are open 8am til 4pm (sun. 3p) and can get very busy since its a small, and popular place. Manatee has free wi-fi and breakfast is served all day.

P.S.
Thumbs up on the GT's Kombucha!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LuvMCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville, fl
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian food”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a great place for vegetarian food and great food overall. Dont go if your in a hurry as the service is great but the food is made mostly on the spot. This is one of my favorite places to eat!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank shunkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Great healthy food for an even better price. Great to eat in and takeout. The location is an easy find and never had to wait to long for a table. Wish they had dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank budlightsucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manatee Cafe also viewed

St. Augustine, FL
St. Augustine, FL
 

Been to Manatee Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing