We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly Good Take Out”
Review of Cap's on the Water

Cap's on the Water
Ranked #33 of 593 Restaurants in St. Augustine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Good Take Out”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Our family rented a beach house in Ponte Vedra for Thanksgiving week.  We came in from various parts of the country.  I had made dinner reservations at Caps on the Water but had not considered that airline delays would change our plans.  Instead of a sit down dinner at the restaurant we had to settle for take out.  Caps was very accommodating and boxed up a delicious meal for us.  Considering the circumstances, the food could not have been better.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DoctorPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,066
    469
    147
    71
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

At the rcommendation from the hotel we stayed at we decided to try Cap's on the Water. First of all I must say that the view was oustanding and being there at sunset was even better. The drinks were excellent, the service was very good but would say that the food was only average. We love peel and eat shrimp (cold) and was amazed when the waitress told us she had never heard of that and theirs only came hot. She was accomodating and at our request brought us ice so we could cool the shrimp. Food was tasty but not the best I have ever had. To each his own but will think twice about visiting there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laidback51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lunch with the family.”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Food and service really good. We had crab cake sandwiches, shrimp tacos, oysters, fish and chips. 5 adults 3 children. Good menu gir the kiddos. We ordered dessert and the best by far was the key lime pie. If you like Key West key lime pie you are in for a treat.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth the ride”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Was recommended by hotel staff and friend who we met there. Was as advertised. Food, service, location were fantastic. Overcast sky which prevented the sunset but still great experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noblehouse47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“GREAT FIRST EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We recently moved to St. Augustine and were entertaining a friend from Nashville. She asked us to take her to a seafood restaurant on the water.Several people recommended Caps and based on the reviews we decided to go. To say the least, we were totally happy with our decision. Atmosphere was fantastic - we watched the sunset and it was breathtaking. The service we received from Ashley was incredible. She intimately knew Caps menu and was very helpful as was were making our selections, expecially given we had never dined there. Her enthusiasm and over the top customer service was very appreciated...Caps should consider itself lucky to employ such a treasure. Food was very good...we all ordered something different but tasted each others dishes with great delight. We shared a coconut cake dessert that was to die for.

Were we impressed...you bet! We're returning this Saturday to celebrate a birthday and the following Saturday to celebrate my son's Thanksgiving visit. I'm sure Caps will be our destination for special occasions and out of town visitors.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barb1747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap's on the Water also viewed

 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to Cap's on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing